Jackson County, GeorgiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go to Georgia go to Jackson County

Guide to Jackson County Georgia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Georgia
Online Records


Jackson County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Jackson County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded February 11, 1796
County Seat Jefferson
Courthouse
Address Jackson County Courthouse
67 Athens Street
PO Box 68
Jefferson, GA 30549-0068
Phone: 706.367.6360
Jackson County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Jackson County Georgia Courthouse.jpg

Jackson County Courthouse
67 Athens Street
PO Box 68
Jefferson, GA 30549-0068
Phone: 706.367.6360

Clerk Superior Court has land and probate records from 1796, marriage records from 1803, birth records from 1919, death records from 1927 and tax records from 1800.[1]

Beginning Dates for Jackson County, Georgia Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1919
1803
1927

1796
1796

History

Parent County

1796--Jackson County was created 11 February 1796 from Franklin County. County seat:  Jefferson [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Georgia counties see: Georgia Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Jackson County Cemeteries by Jeannette Holland Austin Georgia Pioneers

Census

Church Records

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Jackson County, Georgia. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

  • Hardman, Thomas Colquitt. History of Harmony Grove-Commerce, Jackson County, Georgia. Athens, Ga.: Printed by the McGregor Co., c1949. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Wilson, G. J. N. The Early History of Jackson County, Georgia: "The Writings of the Late G.J.N. Wilson, Embracing Some of the Early History of Jackson County": The First Settlers, 1784: Formation and Boundaries to the Present Time: Records of the Talasee Colony: Struggles of the Colonies of Yamacutah, Groaning Rock, Fort Yargo, Stonethrow and Thomocoggan. Jefferson, Ga.: W.E. White, c1914. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Maps

Gajackson.jpg
1885-1886 (from newspapers)

Military

Civil War
  • Ledford, Karen Ann Thompson. These Men Wore Grey Genealogical, Military, and Interment Records of Confederate Soldiers. (Toccoa, Georgia : K.T. Ledford, c1998-c2001), 7 Volumes. Each volume contains bibliographical references and full-name index. Contents: v. 1. Franklin County -- v. 2. Habersham County --v. 3. Stephens County -- v. 4. Rabun County --v. 5. White County -- v. 6. Banks County -- v. 7. Jackson County. Book found at FHL 975.8 V3L and Other Libraries.

Regiments. Service men in Jackson County, Georgia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Jackson County, Georgia:

- 16th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies B and G
- 18th Battalion, Georgia Infantry (Confederate)
- 18th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company C
- 34th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company E
- 43rd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies G and H
- 55th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate)
- 59th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate)

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Jackson County, Georgia newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

1.  Wills 1802-1860 (abstracted) Georgia Pioneers

2.  Wills 1802-1860 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers

3.  Index to Wills and Appraisements 1796-1814 Georgia Pioneers

4.  Index to Wills and Appraisements 1860-1888 Georgia Pioneers

5.  Inferior Court Minutes Georgia Pioneers

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
  • 1805 - Jackson County Birth Index 1805. Batch C713101 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriage
  • 1805-1869 - Jackson County Marriage Index 1805-1869. Batch M713101 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1869-1884 - Jackson County Marriage Index 1869-1884. Batch M713102 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1884-1895 - Jackson County Marriage Index 1884-1895. Batch M713103 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1895-1911 - Jackson County Marriage Index 1895-1911. Batch M713104 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Jackson County, Georgia. Page 156 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/57/Igigeorgiael.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 24 March 2014, at 17:44.
  • This page has been accessed 6,955 times.