Jackson County, IllinoisEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png IllinoisGotoarrow.png Jackson County

Guide to Jackson County Illinois genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Illinois
Online Records


Jackson County, Illinois
Map
Map of Illinois highlighting Jackson County
Location in the state of Illinois
Map of the U.S. highlighting Illinois
Location of Illinois in the U.S.
Facts
Founded: January 10, 1816
County Seat Murphysboro
Courthouse
IL-jackson-courthouse.jpg
Address Jackson County Courthouse
1001 Walnut Street
Murphysboro, Illinois 62966
618-687-7360
Jackson County Website

Contents

Jackson County Organization

Jackson County's civil records start the following years:

Beginning Dates for Jackson County Records

Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1877
1843
1877
1820
1814
1840

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Jackson County are kept, see the Jackson County Courthouse page.

Historical Facts

Andrew Jackson.JPG

The county is named after War of 1812 hero Andrew Jackson (1767-1845) who became Seventh President of the United States in 1829.[1]

Parent County

  • 1816--Jackson County was created 10 January 1816 from Randolph and Johnson Counties.
  • County seat: Murphysboro [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Illinois county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Illinois County Boundary Maps" (1790-1869) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Illinois counties see: Illinois Counties with Burned Courthouses

June 10, 1843 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.

For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:

Records and Resources

Biography

  • All of the Jackson County, Illinois family biographies from The Portrait and Biographical Record of Randolph, Jackson, Perry and Monroe Counties, Illinois (1894) published by Biographical Publishing Co. are available free online at My Genealogy Hound.

Cemeteries

The Illinois Cemeteries page provides general explanations of the following online Jackson County resources:

Bibliography Online Gravestone Transcriptions Cemetery Gazetteers
FamilySearch Catalog Find A Grave | national search | county list ePodunk
WorldCat USGenWeb Tombstone Transcription Project ILGenWeb
Illinois Cemeteries Cemetery Location Project
Interment.net
Cemeteries of Jackson County
Illinois Ancestors Tombstone Project
Jackson County, Illinois Cemeteries
Confederate Soldiers buried in Jackson County

The surname index to Jackson County Historical Society's publication Cemeteries of Jackson County, Illinois, Volume I, Makanda Township is available for free online, courtesy: Jackson County ILGenWeb Project.

Local Cemeteries

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
190033,871
191035,1433.8%
192037,0915.5%
193035,680−3.8%
194037,9206.3%
195038,1240.5%
196042,15110.6%
197055,00830.5%
198061,52211.8%
199061,067−0.7%
200064,6125.8%
IL Counties 1900-1990
For tips on accessing census records online, see Illinois Census.

1840 Pensioners

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. Washington, D.C., 1841. FHL 973 X2pc 1840; FHL 2321; digital version at Google Books. [See Illinois, Jackson County on page 187.]

Church Records

Copies of Original records

Catholic

FamilySearch has made parish records from more than five Belleville Diocese Catholic churches in Jackson County available for free online (free registration is required to view the images). The records include first communions, confirmations, marriages, and deaths:

Court Records

Jackson County Court records are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. For more information on court records see Illnois Court Records

The following copies of records may be accessed through the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Southern Illinois University (SIU) - search for Jackson County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the IRAD Wiki page.

The following abstracts are available at the Family History Library:

  • 1823–1841 Wright, John W. D. Jackson County, Illinois meetings of county court and jury lists, 1823- 1841. Murphysboro, Illinois: Jackson County Historical Society (TN), 1981. Other libraries (WorldCat) FHL book 977.3994 P2w
  • 1823–1835 Illinois. County Commissioner's Court (Jackson County) and Ruth L. Hutchcraft and Barbara Burr Hubbs. County commissioners court record, Jackson County, Illinois. Murphysboro, Illinois: Jackson County Historical Society (TN), c1993. Other libraries (WorldCat) FHL book 977.3994 P2i

Ethic Research

African American

The following have information concerning African American research.

Genealogy

History

  • Portrait and Biographical Record of Randolph, Jackson, Perry and Monroe Counties, Illinois: Containing Biographical Sketches of Prominent and Representative Citizens of the Counties: Together with Biographies and Portraits of All the Presidents of the United States, and the Governors of the State of Illinois. Chicago: Biographical Pub. Co., 1894. Digital versions at Ancestry ($); Internet Archive. FHL Film 825600 For additional access, see WeRelate.

Land and Property

Original land records are held in the office of the County Recorder. See Illinois Land and Property for more information about using land records.

The following abtracts and copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Southern Illinois University (SIU) - search for Jackson County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the IRAD Wiki page.

Copies of Original Records

Abstracts

  • 1814–1840 Wright, John W.D. Jackson County, Illinois formation and early settlement. Murphysboro, Illinois: Jackson County Historical Society (TN), 1983. Other libraries (WorldCat)
  • 1907 index of landowners; De Voe, Glenda. Index of landowners to the 1907 plat book of Jackson County, Illinois . Murphysboro, Illinois: Jackson County Historical Society (TN), [1986?]. Other libraries (WorldCat) FHL book 977.3994 R22d
  • 1907 R. Allyn and George Ogle, Elisabeth Pinkerton Leighty, and Glenda DeVoe. 1878 history and 1907 atlas of Jackson County, Illinois. Murphysboro, Illinois: Jackson County Historical Society (Illinois),[1908?]. Other libraries (WorldCat) FHL book 977.3994 H2h

Other Land Resources

  • Family Maps of Jackson County, Illinois (2007) plats the land of many nineteenth-century Jackson County residents. The publisher's bookstore includes a free online surname index. FHL Book 977.3994 E7b

Online Resources

Maps

Iljackson.jpg

Military Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Pike County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Pike County.

- 9th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company G.
- 15th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company E (Hutchens' Cavalry Company).
- 18th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, New Company C and Company K.
- 27th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company H.
- 31st Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company H.
- 73rd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company K.
- 81st Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies B, D and F.
-109th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company B.
- 145th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company F.

Naturalization

Original naturalization records are held in the office of the County Clerk. See Illinois Naturalization Records for more information about using naturalization records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Southern Illinois University (SIU) - search for Jackson County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the IRAD Wiki page.

Copies of Original Records

Extractions

Newspapers and Obituaries

Probate Records

Original estates and wills are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Probate Records for more information about using probate records.

The following copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Southern Illinois University (SIU) - search for Jackson County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the IRAD Wiki page.

Repositories

See also a List of Illinois Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

County Courthouse

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Jackson County are kept, see the Jackson County Courthouse page.

Family History Centers

Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)

IRAD is a system of Illinois Regional Archives Depositories managed by the Illinois State Archives, housing the archival records of local Illinois counties, townships, municipalities and school districts. The seven Regional Depositories are housed on state university campuses scattered throughout Illinois. Southern Illinois University houses the records for Jackson County.

Public Libraries

Carbondale Public Library
405 West Main Street
Carbondale, IL 62901
(618)457-0354 Has HeritageQuest and Ancestry and other Genealogical tools available for use.

Grand Tower Public Library
516 Front Street
Grand Tower, IL 62942
(618)565-2181

Rick Warren Memorial Public Library
Fourth And Board
Elkville, IL 62932
(618)568-1843 Has area historical information and newspapers

Sallie Logan Public Library
1808 Walnut
Murphysboro, IL 62966
(618)684-3271 Has Genealogical resources (HeritageQuest, America's Genealogy Bank)

Social Groups Online

Societies

Genealogical Society of Southern Illinois has a page with details about its' activities.

Taxation

Original tax records are held in the office of the County Clerk.

The following copies of original records may be accessed through the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Southern Illinois University (SIU) - search for Jackson County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the IRAD Wiki page.

  • 1827-1880 Tax Sale Record
  • 1833-1846
  • 1858-1881 Tax Sale Record Index, Lands
  • 1868-1880 Tax Judgment Record
  • 1883-1901 Tax Judgment, Sale, Redemption and Forfeiture Record
  • 1936-1962 Tax Abatement Record, Personal Property
  • 1941-1946 Tax Lists, Delinquent

Vital Records

See Illinois Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Illinois. See also How to order Illinois Vital Records or order electronically online.

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Original birth and death certificates recorded until the year 1916 are kept by the Jackson County Clerk while those recorded after 1916 are kept by the Illinois Department of Public Health. with a copy to the County Clerk. Original marriage records are usually kept by the County Clerk from the establishment of the county to the present. Original divorce records are generally in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk.

The following abstracts and copies of original vital records may be accessed through online databases, the Family History Library and the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Southern Illinois University (SIU) - search for Jackson County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the IRAD Wiki page.

General

  • 1889–1891, 1919, 1927–1934 Lee, Brenda Garver and William W. Lee. Fireside tales: newspaper abstracts, 1889-1891, 1919, 1927–1934. [S.l.: s.n., c1989]. FHL book 977.3994 D2
  • 1889 Lee, Brenda Garver. Ava remembers, 1889. [S.l.: s.n.], c1989. FHL book 977.3994 D2
  • 1930–1935 Lee, Brenda Garver. Seeds of Ava, Illinois: Ava newspaper abstracts, 1930-1935 [S.l.: s.n., c19--].FHL book 977.3994/A1 V2ka
  • Lee, Brenda Garver. Ava lives and Ava passings, volume I: Ava citizen, Du Quoin herald, early Carbondale, early Murphysboro newspapers. Steeleville, Illinois: Westerman Print., 1993. FHL book 977.3994 V2L *Lee, Brenda Garver. Memories. [S.l.: s.n., c19--]. FHL book 977.3994 D2
Births

Abstracts

  • 1878–1881 Kindorf, Catherine. Birth records, 1878-1881, returned by a midwife in Jackson County, Illinois.FHL film 967482 item 18

Copies of Original Records

Marriages

Online Resources

Abstracts

Copies of Original Records

Deaths

Online Resources

Abstracts

  • 1850 Wright, John W.D. Jackson County, Illinois, residents in 1850. Carbondale, Illinois: Jackson County Historical Society (TN), [c1972]. This book includes mortality schedule, showing deaths in Jackson County for the year ending June 30, 1850. Other libraries (WorldCat) FHL book 977.3 A1 no. 109
  • 1844–1906 Gildehaus, Valerie Phillips. Index to death records, 1844-1906, Jackson County, Illinois Murphysboro, Illinois: Jackson County Historical Society (Illinois), c1996. Other libraries (WorldCat) FHL book 977.3994 V22g
  • 1904–1915 Cox, Phoebe; Jackson County Historical Society (Ill.). Phoebe Cox; Jackson County Historical Society (Ill.)Index to Jackson County, Illinois death books: 1904–1915. Murphysboro, Illinois: Jackson County Historical Society (Illinois), c2003. Other libraries (WorldCat) FHL book 977.3994 V22c
  • Jackson County, Illinois Obituary and Death Notices Collection Free from GenealogyBuff.com. From various funeral homes in the Carbondale, Murphysboro, Somerset, Elk, and surrounding area.
  • Death Index and Selected Death records for Jackson County, Illinois on UsGenWeb Archives Illinois. The "death index" contains a few selected names which came from obituaries during the 1900's. The "selected death records" contains about fifty names.

Copies of original records

Voter Registration

Original Voting Registers are held in the office of the county Clerk. The following records may be accessed through the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Southern Illinois University (SIU) - search for Jackson County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the IRAD Wiki page.

  • 1865-1874 Voter Registers

Places / Localities

To see a list of places in Jackson County, click on [Show], in the bar above. The preceding list of places includes incorporated cities and towns, unincorporated towns and communities, and place names that may have been used in family histories. Some have well-organized records and even have web sites. Some are simply social communities with no official records, but which may be referenced in small-town newspapers. The list is provided to help researchers identify localities within the county. As records or histories of these localities are identified, a page will be added for each of these place names.


Web Sites

References

  1. "Jackson County, Indiana," Wikipedia.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), 194. (FHL Collection Ref Book 973 D27e 2002). WorldCat entry.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 22:38.
  • This page has been accessed 24,816 times.