Jackson County, IndianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Jackson County Indiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Indiana Gotoarrow.png Jackson County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Indiana
Online Records
Jackson County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 18, 1815
County Seat Brownstown
Courthouse
Address Jackson County Courthouse
111 S Main St.
Brownstown, IN 47220
Ph. 812.358.6116
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
1882*
1816*
1882*
1815
1817
*For earlier dates,

try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

Andrew Jackson.JPG
The county is named after War of 1812 hero Andrew Jackson (1767-1845) who became Seventh President of the United States in 1829.[1]


Neighboring Counties

Monroe  • Brown  • Bartholomew  • Jennings  • Scott  • Washington  • Lawrence

Jackson CountyClark CountyBrown CountyBartholomew CountyDecatur CountyOrange CountyMonroe CountyScott CountyJefferson CountyJennings CountyLawrence CountyWashington CountyINJackson.JPG



Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Records Loss

For a list of record loss in Indiana Counties see: Indiana Counties with Burned Courthouses

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business Records

Cemeteries

Census Records

For tips on accessing Jackson County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.

  • Index to Defective, Dependent & Delinquent Census for Jackson County, Indiana (1880) (members only database, Indiana Genealogical Society)

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.

Lutheran
  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Seymour, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.

Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Jackson County, Indiana Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogies

Histories

Local Histories
  • History of Jackson County, Indiana: From the Earliest Time to the Present, with Biographical Sketches, Notes, Etc. : Together with an Extended History of the Northwest, the Indiana Territory and the State of Indiana. (Evansville, Ind: Unigraphic Inc, 1972.)  977.223 H2b 1972 FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collection  other library , Digital version: Internet Archive

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed. See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.

Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Jackson County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Local Histories

Maps

Military Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Jackson County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Jackson County.

Civil War Books

  • "Military History" Chapter 16 in History of Jackson County, Indiana: From the Earliest Time to the Present, with Biographical Sketches, Notes, Etc. : Together with an Extended History of the Northwest, the Indiana Territory and the State of Indiana. (Evansville, Ind: Unigraphic Inc, 1972.) Page 532-580,  977.223 H2b 1972 FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collection  other library

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Occupations

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Jackson County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

School Records
Voter Registration

Repositories

See also a List of Indiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

County Courthouse

Jackson County; 111 S Main St; Brownstown, IN 47220; Ph. 812.358.6116 Details: (Co Hlth Dept has b & d rec; Co Clk has m, div, pro & ct rec from 1816; Co Aud has land rec)

Jcindianacout.jpg
Archives
Libraries
Museums
Societies
Family History Centers

FamilySearch Centers are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.

The main FamilySearch Center for Jackson County, Indiana is the


For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the Family History Center directory.

Taxation

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.

For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Jackson County, Indiana Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

  • Indiana State Digital Achives for Death, E-Publication, Instiution, Military, Misc Historical, Naturalization Records can be searched by person name (accessed 26 May 2011)
Birth Records
Marriage Records
Death Records

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Jackson County, Indiana Vital Records in online catalogs like:

Places

Web Sites

References

  1. "Jackson County, Indiana," Wikipedia.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Jackson County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jackson_County,_Indiana (accessed 9 August 2013).



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 00:22.
  • This page has been accessed 12,499 times.