Jackson County, MichiganEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Michigan Gotoarrow.png Jackson County

Guide to Jackson County Michigan genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Michigan
Online Records


Jackson County, Michigan
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Michigan
Location of Michigan in the U.S.
Facts
Founded October 29, 1829
County Seat Jackson
Courthouse
Address Jackson County Courthouse
312 S Jackson St.
Jackson, MI 49201
Phone: (517) 788-4265
Jackson County Website

Contents

County Courthouse


County Clerk has birth and death records from 1867,
marriage records from 1830’s, divorce records from 1800’s
and naturalization records.
Probate Court has probate records.
Register of Deeds has land records.
Clerk District has court records. [1]

History

Andrew Jackson.JPG

Jackson County is located in the south central part of Michigan.

The county is named after President Andrew Jackson (1767-1845).[2]

Parent County

1829--Jackson County was created 29 October 1829 from Washtenaw County and unorganized territory. it was attached to Washtenaw County prior to organization 1 August 1832. County seat: Jackson [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Michigan county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Michigan County Boundary Maps" (1790-1897) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Michigan counties see: Michigan Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Other communities include:
Brooklyn, Cement City, Clarklake, Columbia, Concord, Grass Lake, Hanover, Horton, Liberty, Michigan Center, Munith, Napoleon, Norvell, Parma, Pulaski, Rives Junction, Spring Arbor, Springport, Stockbridge, Tompkins Center, and Vandercook Lake.

Neighboring Counties

Calhoun  • [Eaton County, Michigan|Eaton]]  • Hillsdale  • Ingham  • Lenawee  • Livingston  • Washtenaw


Jackson CountyCalhoun CountyBarry CountyBranch CountyHillsdale CountyLenawee CountyWayne CountyWashtenaw CountyOakland CountyLivingston CountyEaton CountyIngham CountyMonroe CountyMIJackson.JPG


Resources

Cemeteries

Deb Hayes-Wolfe has been adding photos of headstones and information for Jackson County, Michigan on Find A Grave.

Bio and Links

Because of fires, floods and loss, I started photographing all the markers in Jackson Co Michigan in Nov 2006. We've discovered the 1927 DAR WPA cemetery transcription project didn't have anyone actually walk any of the county cemeteries. They obtained the information from cemetery records, church records and neighbors. Fortunately for all of us this included records of those graves with no markers. Most of the early cemetery records have perished along with some of the cemeteries. Hopefully, we will be able to provide info for descendants of the early/current residents of Jackson County Michigan. By using census, marriage, death and local history information we try to make our entries as complete as possible. Email with info on your ancestors and we'll add them to any of our records. We'll be happy to help you in your search. I'm am the County Keeper for Jackson Co.

Currently, I'm working on adding maiden names to as many memorials as possible.

As of 22 Aug 2009 Jackson Co has 66,501 burials recorded. By Jan 2010 72,323 burials.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Michigan denominations, view the Michigan Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Jackson

Court

Directories

You can find city directories for Jackson City on Ancestry.com 1883-1901 and 1936-1952.

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Michigan Land and Property for additional information about early Michigan land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Jackson County, Michigan. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Michigan Local Histories.

History of Jackson County, Michigan can be found in full content on Google Book website.

DeLand's History of Jackson County, Michigan can be found in full content on Google Book website.

Maps

Mijackson.jpg

Military

Civil War

Civil War service men from Jackson County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Jackson County.

- 12th Regiment, Michigan Infantry, Company D
- 17th Regiment, Michigan Infantry, Companies F, G, K, and Unassigned

Newspapers

GenealogyBank.com has a collection of Jackson County newspapers online.

The Saginaw News[1]

Probate

In most counties in MIchigan, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for MIchigan - Jackson - Probate records.

Taxation

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased as shown below:

Birth Records and Death Records from the Michigan Department of Community Health (from 1867) or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
Marriage Records (from 1867) and Divorce Records (from 1897) from the County Clerk.

  • How to order Michigan Vital Records
  • Michigan Birth Registrations, 1867-1902 -- Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch Record Search. Records include such information as name of child, birthdate and place, if still-born, illegitimate or twin, gender, race and record number.
  • Michigan Marriage Registrations, 1868-1925 -- Free name indexes at FamilySearch Record Search.  Records include such information as names of bride and groom, date of license, ages, race, residences, birthplaces, occupations and names of the fathers of the bride and groom.
  • Michigan Death Registrations, 1867-1897-- Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch Record Search.   Records include such information as name of deceased, date and place of death, gender, color, marital status, age in years, months and days, disease or apparent cause of death, birthplace, names and occupations of parents, and the date the record was made.

Societies and Libraries 

Jackson County Genealogical Society
c/o Jackson District Library
244 W. Michigan
Jackson, MI 49201
Jackson County Genealogical Society Library
536-540 N. Jackson
Jackson, MI 49201
Email the JCGS Library.

Jackson Historical Society
c/o Jackson District Library
244 W. Michigan
Jackson, MI 49201

Family History Centers



Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Jackson County, Michigan page 346, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. "List of counties in Michigan," Wikipedia.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:20.
  • This page has been accessed 8,575 times.