Jackson County, MinnesotaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Minnesota
Jackson County
Guide to Jackson County Minnesota genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Jackson County, Minnesota | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Minnesota | |
![]() Location of Minnesota in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | May 23, 1857 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Jackson |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Jackson County Courthouse 405 4th St PO Box 209 Jackson, MN 56143 Phone: 507.847.2580 Jackson County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Court Administrator has birth, death, divorce, probate and
court records from 1870 and marriage records from 1868.
County Recorder has land records from 1870. [1]
History
County government was dissolved due to Sioux uprising in 1862. It was reorganized in 1866. Before its reorganization it may have been attached to Martin County.
Parent County
- 1857--Jackson County was 23 May 1857 from Brown County but not formally organized until 1858.
County seat: Jackson [2]
- For a brief history of how Jackson County was named, click here. Then select Jackson County.
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Cities
Alpha | Heron Lake | Jackson | Lakefield | Miloma | Okabena | Wilder
Townships
Alba Township | Belmont Township | Christiania Township | Delafield Township | Des Moines Township | Enterprise Township | Ewington Township | Heron Lake Township | Hunter Township | Kimball Township | La Crosse Township | Middletown Township | Minneota Township | Petersburg Township | Rost Township | Round Lake Township | Sioux Valley Township | Weimer Township | West Heron Lake Township | Wisconsin Township
Neighboring Counties
- Cottonwood
- Dickinson County, Iowa
- Emmet County, Iowa
- Martin
- Murray
- Nobles
- Osceola County, Iowa
- Watonwan
Resources
Cemeteries
Church
Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Minnesota Church Records.
Lutheran
Bethany Lutheran Church, Bergen
- Records of Bethany Lutheran Church, Bergen, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[3]
Delafield Evangelical Lutheran Church, Wilder
- Records of the Delafield Evangelical Lutheran Church, Wilder, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[3]
Court
Land
The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.
Land records for Minnesota are listed in the Place Search of the Family History Library Catalog under:
MINNESOTA, Jackson – LAND AND PROPERTY
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Jackson County, Minnesota. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.
Maps
Military
Civil War
Civil War service men from Blue Earth County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Blue Earth County.
- - Brackett's Battalion, Minnesota Cavalry, Company B.
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Jackson County, Minnesota newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat
- FamilySearch. Do a Jackson County, Minnesota Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see, FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Probate
Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.
Taxation
Minnesota tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota State Registrar of Vital Records or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Minnesota Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.
Societies and Libraries
Web Sites
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Jackson County, Minnesota page 365, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 "Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society," Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society, http://www.mnhs.org/library/findaids/01009.xml, accessed 10 June 2013.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 11 June 2013, at 20:13.
- This page has been accessed 1,461 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

