Jackson County, MissouriEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Jackson County, Missouri ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Jackson County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Missouri
Online Records
Jackson County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded information needed
County Seat Independence
Courthouse

Contents

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Records Loss

For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Cass  • Clay  • Johnson  • Johnson County, Kansas  • Lafayette  • Ray  • Wyandotte County, Kansas

Jackson CountyPlatte CountyClay CountyClinton CountyRay CountyPettis CountyCass CountyLafayette CountyJohnson CountyHenry CountyBenton CountySaline CountyCarroll CountyAtchison CountyWyandotte CountyMiami CountyFranklin CountyDouglas CountyJefferson CountyLeavenworth CountyJohnson CountyMOJackson1.JPG


Resources

Cemeteries

  • Blue Springs Cemetery (Find a Grave)
    2800 Southwest Walnut Street
    Blue Springs, MO 64015-3321

BillionGraves:

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Catholic

Immaculate Conception Cathedral Parish, Kansas City

  • 1834-1876 - Immaculate Conception Cathedral Parish, Kansas City, Baptism Index 1834-1876. Batch C511801 at FamilySearch - free.[1]
  • 1846-1876 - Immaculate Conception Cathedral Parish, Kansas City, Marriage Index 1846-1876. Batch M511801 at FamilySearch - free.[1]

St. Mary's, Independence

  • 1848-1876 - St. Mary's, Independence, Baptism Index 1848-1876. Batch C511981 at FamilySearch - free.[1]
  • 1850-1883 - St. Mary's, Independence, Marriage Index 1850-1883. Batch M511981 at FamilySearch - free.[1]

St. Patrick's, Kansas City

  • 1869-1885 - St. Patrick's, Kansas City, Baptism Index 1869-1885. Batch C515221 at FamilySearch - free.[1]
  • 1869-1885 - St. Patrick's, Kansas City, Marriage Index 1869-1885. Batch M515221 at FamilySearch - free.[1]
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Independence Dist
  • Centropolis
  • Independence
  • Kansas City
Lutheran
  • Records of Grace Lutheran Church, Kansas City, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[2]

City Directories

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Jackson County, Missouri. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

The History of Jackson county, Missouri containing a history of the county, its cities, towns, etc., biographical sketches of its citizens, Jackson county in the late war... history of Missouri, map of Jackson county ... (1881) 1006 pages, is available online free from Google Books.

Google Books has several books on Kansas City and its residents including:

  • A civic history of Kansas City, Missouri at Ancestry.com ($)
  • Norman & Robertson. Abstract of Mount Auburn, an addition to Kansas City : a subdivision of all of the S.W. 1-4 of the N.W. 1-4 of sec. 17 Township 49, Range 33, except two acres in the S. W. corner, situate in Jackson County, Mo., except that part thereof occupied by the Grand BoulevardKansas City, Mo. : Norman & Robertson, [1886].
  • Sieben, Henry. Seven of 72 survive : voyages on Missouri River by Henry Sieben's Commodores sand bars. The Kansas City genealogist - v. 43-44 (2002-2004).
  • Chiles, Mary Sue. "A brief history of the Six Mile Territory". The Kansas City genealogist - v. 43-44 (2002-2004) - v. 43, no. 2 (fall 2002).

Maps

MOJackson.JPG

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Jackson County, Missouri for European and African American settlers included:

Military

  • Fold3.com ($) has Civil War and other military records available online.
Civil War
- 12th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company C
- 12th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company D
- 12th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company E
- 12th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company G
- 12th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company H
- 2nd Battery, Missouri State Militia Artillery (Union), Company B
- 2nd Battery, Missouri State Militia Artillery (Union), Company E
- 3rd Battalion, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company H
- 3rd Battalion, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company I
- 3rd Battalion, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company K
- 3rd Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company H
- 3rd Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company H
- 12th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company B

Civil War Battles

The following Civil War Battles was fought in Jackson County

Map showing Civil War battles in Missouri

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Jackson County, Missouri newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
Marriages
Deaths

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Historical Societies

Jackson County Historical Society
P.O. Box 4241
Independence, Missouri 64051
Phone: History Center (816) 461-1897; Archives (816) 252-4754
Website: http://jchs.org/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/jchs.org

Libraries

The Kansas City Public Library
14 West 10th Street
Kansas City, MO 64105
Phone: (816) 701-3400
Website: http://www.kclibrary.org/databases

Family History Centers

Web Sites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Jackson County, Missouri
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Jackson County, Missouri
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Jackson County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries


Social networking sites pertaining to Jackson County, Missouri
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Jackson County, MO Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Jackson County Message Board

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 1.4 1.5 1.6 1.7 1.8 1.9 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d8/Igimissourij.pdf.
  2. "Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society," Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society, http://www.mnhs.org/library/findaids/01009.xml, accessed 10 June 2013.
  3. Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map I" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at http://www.oregonpioneers.com/OTMap1.jpg (accessed 18 July 2011).
  4. "Oregon California Trails Association" at http://octatrails.micromaps.com/ (accessed 18 July 2011).
  5. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 15 August 2012)
  6. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 15 August 2012)
  7. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 15 August 2012)
  8. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 9 August 2012)
  9. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 15 August 2012)
  10. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 16 August 2012)

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 December 2014, at 19:12.
  • This page has been accessed 13,527 times.