Jackson County, OhioEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United StatesGotoarrow.png Ohio Gotoarrow.png Jackson County

Guide to Jackson County, Ohio ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Ohio
Online Records
Jackson County, Ohio
Map
Boundary map of Jackson County, Ohio
Map of the U.S. highlighting Ohio
Location of Ohio in the U.S.
Courthouse
Jackson County, Ohio Courthouse.jpg
Address Jackson County Courthouse
275 Portsmouth Street
Jackson, Ohio 45640
Jackson County Website


Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Tax
Land
Probate
1867
1816
1867
1816
1819
*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries


Neighboring Counties

Ross County  • Pike County  • Scioto County  • Lawrence County  • Gallia County  • Vinton County


Gallia CountyMeigs CountyVinton CountyPike CountyScioto CountyGreenup CountyLewis CountyMason CountyPutnam CountyCabell CountyBoyd CountyJackson CountyLawrence CountyRoss CountyPickaway CountyHocking CountyAthens CountyWashington CountyJackson CountyOHJackson.JPG


Boundary Changes

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Ohio counties see: Ohio Counties with Burned Courthouses

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Business Records and Commerce

Cemeteries


Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories

Findagrave.com

Family History Library

Findagrave.com

Interment.net

WorldCat

Names in Stone

USGenWeb

Billion Graves

Billion Graves

Epodunk

Ohio Gravestones

Names in Stone

See Ohio Cemeteries for more information.

Census and Directories

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, view the Ohio Church Records wiki page.

Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Jackson County, Ohio Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records

  • Many Court for Jackson County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local histories are available for Jackson County, Ohio. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Ohio Local Histories.

Andrew Jackson.JPG

The county is named after War of 1812 hero Andrew Jackson (1767-1845) who became Seventh President of the United States in 1829.[2]

Local Histories
  • Jackson County Genealogical Society, Jackson County, Ohio: History and Family Book, 176th Anniversary, 1816-1991, (Jackson, Ohio: Ohio Genealogical Society. Jackson County Chapter, 1991). FHL film 2409056 Item 1; book 977.185 H2jc
  • Jackson County Genealogical Society, Jackson County, Ohio, (Paducah, Kentucky: Turner Publishing Company, 1991). Digital copy at Google Books
  • Poe, Michael A., Jackson County, (Chicago, Illinois: Arcadia Publishing, 2008). Digital copy at Google Books

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

  • Many Land Records for Jackson County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.

Maps

Ohjackson.jpg

  • Many Maps for Jackson County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.

Military

- 1st Regiment, Ohio Heavy Artillery, Companies A and H
- 56th Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Companies A, C, E, and K


- World War II Army Enlistment Records, 1938-1946 $

Naturalization and Citizenship

  • Many Naturalization and Citizenship Records for Jackson County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.

Newspapers


Jackson County, Ohio newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.

To access newspapers, contact public libraries, Ohio Genealogical Society chapters, college or university libraries, the Library of Congress, Google News, or the Ohio Historical Society. The Ohio Genealogical Society Obituary Database is another source of newspaper information.

For more Ohio newspaper information see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Ohio Newspapers.
Online Newspapers

Online Newspaper Abstracts

Newspaper Extracts and Abstracts in Book Form


Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate

Probate records created after 1852 are held by the Jackson County, Ohio Probate Court. From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. Most counties transferred all records to the Probate Court, but in some circumstances, Court of Common Pleas records should be searched for records prior to 1852. Most records are housed at the Jackson County, Ohio Courthouse. Some records are on microfilm at the Ohio Genealogical Society and the Family History Library. For more complete information about the location of county probate records see:

See the wiki page Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only).


  • Many Probate Records for Jackson County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Jackson County, Ohio Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

Repositories

See also a List of Ohio Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Courthouse

Jackson County Courthouse
226 East Main Street
Jackson, OH 45630
Phone: 740.286.2006

Probate Judge has birth, marriage and probate records
County Health Department has death and burial records;
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records; County
Recorder has land records[1]

Family History Centers

FamilySearch Centers are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.

The main FamilySearch Center for Jackson County, Ohio is the

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the FHC directory. Put your town name in the top search box.

Libraries
Museums
Societies

Resource Guide

Schools

Taxation

  • 1800–1850 Ohio Tax Records, 1800-1850 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free. Name index of tax records as recorded with the County Auditor of each county. Entries are recorded in voucher books, one person per page. The majority of the tax records in this collection are for the years 1816 through 1838. Currently (September 2012) this collection is 17% complete. Additional records will be added as they are completed.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Jackson County, Ohio Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Ohio enacted a statute in 1856 -1857 requiring registration of births, deaths and marriages, many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1867 but, again, was not always followed. By 1908, the law was more clearly defined and kept. Any existing birth and death records from 1867 through December 19, 1908 are located at the Jackson County, Ohio Probate Court. The Ohio Department of Health has birth records filed after December 20, 1908 and death records filed after January 1, 1954 while the Ohio Historical Society houses death records from December 20, 1908 through December 31, 1953.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Jackson County, Ohio Probate Court with divorce records located with the Jackson County, Ohio Clerk of Courts.

See also How to order Ohio Vital Records or order vital records electronically online.

  • Many Vital Records for Jackson County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Birth

Online Birth Indexes and Records

Original Birth Records on Microfilm

  • Many Vital Records for Jackson County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Marriage

Online Marriage Indexes and Records

Original Marriage Records on Microfilm

  • Many Vital Records for Jackson County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Death

Online Death Indexes and Records

Original Death Records on Microfilm

  • Many Vital Records for Jackson County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details

Finding More Vital Records

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Jackson County, Ohio Vital Records in online catalogs like:

Divorce

Divorce

  • Many Divorce Records for Jackson County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.

Web Sites

Places

Populated Places


References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  2. "Jackson County, Indiana," Wikipedia.
  3. Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (Columbus, Ohio: the author, 1981). FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 November 2014, at 21:57.
  • This page has been accessed 39,103 times.