Jackson County, OregonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Oregon Gotoarrow.png Jackson County

Guide to Jackson County Oregon genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Oregon
Online Records


Jackson County, Oregon
Map
Map of Oregon highlighting Jackson County
Location in the state of Oregon
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oregon
Location of Oregon in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 12, 1852
County Seat Medford
Courthouse
Or-jackson-ch.jpg
Address Jackson County Courthouse
10 S Oakdale Avenue
Medford, OR 97501
Phone: 541.776.6147
Jackson County Website


Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has marriage records from 1853
and voter registration from 1952.[1]


  • Jacksonville was the former county seat prior to 1927.
  • Records kept at the Courthouse: County Records Inventory listing the records held at the Jackson County Court House as of September 2001.
  • Record Loss:

Quick Facts

Adopt-a-wiki page
Genealogical Council of Oregon logo.jpg This page adopted by:
Genealogical Council of Oregon
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Jackson County, Oregon
Andrew Jackson.JPG

Named for Andrew Jackson, seventh president of the United States.

Parent County

12 January 1852: Created from Umpqua. [2]

Boundary Changes

  • Parts taken for:

22 December 1853: Coos County

11 January 1854: Wasco County

22 January 1856: Josephine County

24 October 1874: Lake County

For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Cities

Please do not format these pages unless you have content to add to them.

Ashland | Butte Falls | Central Point | Eagle Point | Gold Hill | Jacksonville | Medford | Phoenix | Rogue River | Shady Cove | Talent

Communities

Please do not format these pages unless you have content to add to them.

Applegate | Lake Creek | Prospect | Rock Point | Ruch | Sams Valley | Trail | White City | Wimer

Neighboring Counties

Douglas | Josephine | Klamath | Siskiyou County, California

Trivia Tidbits

Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. > Trivia Tidbits

Resources

Cemeteries

  • Jackson County Genealogy Library maintains and updates a listing of burials and or deaths in Jackson County Oregon. As of February 2014, over 82,000 names are listed.  All Jackson County cemeteries are listed with links to Google maps to help users locate individual cemeteries. Each entry in the database includes the following information: name of the deceased, year of death, year of birth, cemetery if buried in Jackson County, a code designating the source of our information,e.g., o for obituary, and a headstone photo. Additional information is available in the full database housed at the library, contact by email [info@rvgslibrary.org] for more information. Of course, not all information is included for every individual in the database but we do update the database frequently. All information in the database is free.

Individual cemeteries

BillionGraves:

Church History and Records (rural area)

Census

  • 1850
  • 1853 Territorial Transcription and Index
  • 1854 Territorial Transcription and Index
  • 1855 Territorial Transcription and Index
  • 1856 Territorial Transcription and Index
  • 1857 Territorial Transcription and Index
  • 1858 Territorial Transcription and Index
  • 1859 State Transcription and Index
  • 1860
  • 1870
  • 1880
  • 1890
  • 1893 State Transcription and Index
  • 1900
  • 1910
  • 1920
  • 1930

Court Records

The website of Jackson County Genealogy Library contains indexes to marriage certificates, divorce records, naturalization documents, and deeds. Copies of the the original and/or of abstracts of those documents can be obtained by paying a nominal fee.

Gazetteers

History

Land and Records

Maps

Orjackson.jpg

Military History and Records

Newspapers

Oregon Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.

Probate Records

Rivers and Waterways

Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. >> Rivers and Waterways

Taxation

Vital Records

The Jackson County Genealogy Library has extensive indexes to births, marriages, divorces, death certificates, and obituaries for residents of Jackson County.

See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.

Societies, Libraries and Museums

See also a List of Oregon Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Web Sites

Jackson County Oregon Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hood River County, Oregon page 573, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. WorldCat 50140092FamilySearch Catalog Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:36.
  • This page has been accessed 11,568 times.