Jackson County, TexasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go to Texas go to Counties IJ go to Jackson County

Guide to Jackson County Texas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Hand and keyboard.jpg Texas
Online Records

Adopt-a-wiki page
Txgenweblogo.GIF This page adopted by:
TXGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today



Jackson County, Texas
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Texas
Location of Texas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 17, 1836
County Seat Edna
Courthouse
Address Jackson County Courthouse
115 W Main Street
Edna, TX 77957-2733
Phone: 361.782.3563
Jackson County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has birth and death records from 1903,
marriage, probate and land records from 1836
and court records from 1910; District Clerk has divorce
records[1]

Jackson County has been the home of two county seats and four courthouses. Texana served as the county seat at the county's inception in 1836. The first courthouse building was built there in 1858. In 1883 voters elected to move the county seat to the new town of Edna. A new courthouse was built in Edna in 1884; it burned in June 1900. A third courthouse was built in 1906, a three-story brick Beaux-Arts style domed-building. The current courthouse was built in 1954.

Apply for a Birth or Death Certificates contact local Registrar Barbara Williams. Application form - pdf document

Jackson County Government website

Inventory of county records, Jackson County Courthouse, Edna, Texas, 1980. Inventory of records housed in the Jackson County Courthouse. Describes the records of the Commissioners Court, County Judge, County Clerk, County Court, County Attorney, District Clerk, Justice of the Peace, Sheriff, Tax Assessor-Collector, Treasurer, and Auditor. Provides a list of Jackson County records and an index. Digital book online at the Portal to Texas History.

Inventory of the county archives of Texas : Jackson County, no. 120, 1940. Inventory of records housed in the Jackson County Courthouse as of 1936. Describes the records of the County Commissioners Court, County Clerk as Recorder, District Court, County Court, Justices of the Peace, District Attorney, County Attorney, Tax Assessor-Collector, County Treasurer, and other offices. Digital book online at the Portal to Texas History.

History

Andrew Jackson.JPG

The county is named after President Andrew Jackson (1767-1845) who was in office at the time of the county's formation.[2]

Parent County

1836--Jackson County was created 17 March 1836 from Old Mexican Municipality.
County seat: Edna [3]

Boundary Changes[4]

1837-- Jackson County lost a narrow north-south strip of land that is now part of present-day Matagorda and Wharton Counties. Part of the city of El Campo is included in this strip. Jackson county gained a 2x4 mile wedge of land that is now in present day Wharton County and about half of the land between Arenosa Creek and the Lavaca River. The towns of El Toro and Vanderbilt lie in this region.

1844-- Jackson County lost the area 6 miles west of the Lavaca River to Victoria County. Jackson County gained land to the west 35 x 8 miles long, now part of present-day Matagorda and Wharton counties. This land included the town of Palacios.

1846--Part of Jackson County's waterfront on Lavaca, Tres Palacios and Carancahua Bays given to Calhoun County. The rest of the the land between the Arenosa Creek and the Lavaca River given to Jackson county. Half of the area added in 1844 was given to Wharton County. Some area in the north was given to Lavaca County.

1848--Jackson County lost the remainder of the land gained to the east in 1844 to Matagorda County, including the area that contains the town of Palacios.

1905 -- A strip of land in northern Jackson County was removed and attached to Colorado County (the Colorado County "panhandle").

Map showing the boundary changes mentioned above.

Record Loss

1900 -- Jackson County Courthouse destroyed by fire on Jun 15, 1900.  Records of the County Judge, Assessor and Justice of the Peace were lost. [5]

1906 -- The Jackson County Progress Newspaper plant and offices (along with part of the Edna business district) were destroyed by fire, 12 November 1906.[6]

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Edna | Francitas | Ganado | La Salle | La Ward | Lolita | Vanderbilt

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories

Findagrave.com

WorldCat

Findagrave.com

Interment.net


Names in Stone

USGenWeb


Billion Graves

Billion Graves


Cemeteries of Texas



Names in Stone



See Texas Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1850 996
1860 2,612 162.2%
1870 2,278 −12.8%
1880 2,723 19.5%
1890 3,281 20.5%
1900 6,094 85.7%
1910 6,471 6.2%
1920 11,244 73.8%
1930 10,980 −2.3%
1940 11,720 6.7%
1950 12,916 10.2%
1960 14,040 8.7%
1970 12,975 −7.6%
1980 13,352 2.9%
1990 13,039 −2.3%
Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.








Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Jackson County, Texas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.

The Cavalcade of Jackson County, 1938, by Ira T. Taylor.

Jackson County History from the Handbook of Texas Online.

Maps

Txjackson.jpg Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the TXGenWeb site.

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Jackson County, Texas newspapers in online catalogs like:

Jackson County News newspaper

Probate

Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.

See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Taxation

Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.

Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records. See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas or How to order Texas Vital Records


A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred, ordered electronically online or download an application for Texas Birth and Death Certificate, Marriage or Divorce Verification Application to mail.

Birth

Online Birth Indexes and Records

Original Birth Records on Microfilm

Marriage

Online Marriage Indexes and Records

Original Marriage Records on Microfilm

Death

Online Death Indexes and Records

  • Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
    Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903.

Original Death Records on Microfilm

Divorce

Societies and Libraries

Jackson County Memorial Library
411 North Wells Street, Room 121
Edna, Texas 77957 website

Family History Centers

Web Sites

  • TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county


References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Jackson County, Texas. Page 667 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. "Jackson County, Texas," Wikipedia.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Inventory of the county archives of Texas : Jackson County, no. 120, 1940: Historical Sketch, pages 11-13.
  5. GenDisasters.com - Edna, TX Courthouse Fire, Jun 1900 http://www3.gendisasters.com/texas/7559/edna-tx-courthouse-fire-jun-1900
  6. Handbook of Texas Online: Edna, Texas http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/hfe01

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 00:21.
  • This page has been accessed 7,944 times.