Jackson County, Wisconsin GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Jackson County, Wisconsin)

Guide to Jackson County Wisconsin ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Wisconsin Gotoarrow.png Jackson County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Wisconsin
Online Records

Jackson County, Wisconsin
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Founded February 11, 1853
County Seat Black River Falls
Address Jackson County Courthouse
307 Main Street
Black River Falls, WI 54615;
Phone. 715.284.0201

WI Jackson.png


County Courthouse

Jackson County Courthouse
307 Main Street
Black River Falls, WI 54615;
Phone. 715.284.0201

Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death, burial and land records;
Clerk Court has divorce and court records; Register in Probate has
probate records [1]

Historical Facts

Andrew Jackson.JPG

The county is named after President Andrew Jackson (1767-1845).[2]

Parent County

1853--Jackson County was created 11 February 1853 fromLa Crosse County. 
County seat: Black River Falls [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Wisconsin Counties see: Wisconsin Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Clark  • Eau Claire  • Juneau  • La Crosse  • Monroe  • Trempealeau  • Wood



Bible Records




1855 Wisconsin State Census— Free Indexed images to the 1855 Wisconsin State Census can be viewed on the FamilySearch Historical Records: Wisconsin 1855 State Census This census includes name of head of family, individuals in the household by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.

Church History and Records

Court Records

Crime and Criminals


Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups





Land and Property



Military History and Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Jackson County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Jackson County.

- 5th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry Reorganized, Company G (Men were listed in the Roster as being from the city of Albion, which could have been from the counties of Dane, Trempealeau or Jackson.)
- 10th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company G
- 14th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company I

Naturalization and Citizenship




Probate Records

Online Records

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at: Wisconsin Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)


See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries and Museums
County Courthouse
Family History Centers
  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Jackson County Historical Society
13 S First St
Black River Falls WI 54615
Phone: 715-284-5314

Monroe-Juneau-Jackson-Genealogical Workshop
P.O. Box 363
Sparta, WI 54656


Vital Records

Birth Records
Marriage Records
Divorce Records
Death Records

Voting Registers

Web Sites


  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 757 Jackson County, Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. "List of counties in Wisconsin," Wikipedia.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 November 2015, at 03:19.
  • This page has been accessed 7,543 times.