Jackson Parish, LouisianaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Louisiana
Jackson Parish
Guide to Jackson Parish Louisiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Jackson Parish, Louisiana | |||||||||
| Map | |||||||||
![]() Location in the state of Louisiana | |||||||||
![]() Location of Louisiana in the U.S. | |||||||||
| Facts | |||||||||
| Founded | February 27, 1845 | ||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Jonesboro | ||||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||||
| Address | 500 East Court Avenue P.O. Box 730 Jonesboro, LA 71251 | ||||||||
| Website: jacksonparishclerk.org | |||||||||
| |||||||||
Contents |
Parish Courthouse
Jackson Parish Courthouse
500 E Court Street; PO Box 730
Jonesboro, LA 71251
Phone: 318.259.2424
Parish Clerk has marriage, divorce, land, probate, military and court records from 1800.[1]
History
Parent Parish
- 1845--Jackson Parish was created 27 February 1845 from Claiborne, Ouachita, and Union Parishes.
Parish seat: Jonesboro [1]
Boundary Changes
See an interactive map of Jackson Parish boundary changes.
Record Loss
Places / Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Parishes or Counties
Resources
African American
- Louisiana African American Griots Project ~ USGenWeb Project
- AfriGeneas ~ African American genealogy
Cemeteries
- Louisiana Tombstone Transcription Project ~ cemetery transcriptions and photos ~ USGenWeb
- Louisiana African American Cemeteries ~ cemetery transcriptions
- Interment.net ~ cemetery transcriptions and photographs
- Find A Grave ~ records by name, cemetery, location
Census
| Census | Pop. | %± | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1900 | 9,119 | ||
| 1910 | 13,818 | 51.5% | |
| 1920 | 14,486 | 4.8% | |
| 1930 | 13,808 | −4.7% | |
| 1940 | 17,807 | 29.0% | |
| 1950 | 15,434 | −13.3% | |
| 1960 | 15,828 | 2.6% | |
| 1970 | 15,963 | 0.9% | |
| 1980 | 17,321 | 8.5% | |
| 1990 | 15,705 | −9.3% | |
| 2000 | 15,397 | −2.0% | |
| 2010 | 16,274 | 5.7% | |
| Jackson Parish Census Data[2] | |||
Church
- Church Angel ~ Church directory of the United States
- Catholic Diocese ~ Listing of Diocese in the United States
Court
Land
Local Histories
Maps
- Family Maps of Jackson Parish, Louisiana (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- USGW Digital Map Library ~ USGenWeb
Military
Military Records - Jackson Par, LAGenWeb
Newspapers
Newspaper Tidbits - Jackson Par, LAGenWeb
Probate
Taxation
Vital Records
Societies and Libraries
Jackson Parish Library
614 South Polk Avenue
Jonesboro, LA 71251
Phone: (318) 259-5697
Website
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- Family History Library Catalog
- Jackson Par, USGenWeb Archives Project
- Jackson Parish, Louisiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed., Livingston Parish, Louisiana p 290 (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ United States Census Bureau. "Louisiana Population of Counties by Decennial Census: 1900 to 1990". http://www.census.gov/population/cencounts/la190090.txt. Retrieved 2008-02-02.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 19 April 2013, at 04:18.
- This page has been accessed 1,942 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More



