Jacobstow, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Parishes

Guide to Jacobstow, Cornwall family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Jacobstow, Cornwall
Jacobstow St James Cornwall.jpg
Jacobstow St James Cornwall
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Stratton
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Stratton PLU
Registration District Stratton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1612
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Trigg Major
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

JACOBSTOW (St. James), a parish, in the union and hundred of Stratton, E. division of Cornwall, 8½ miles (S. S. W.) from Stratton. There are places of worship for Bryanites, Primitive Methodists, and Thornites.[1]

Jacobstow St James is an Ancient Parish in the county of Cornwall and includes Penhallym in the north of the parish is mentioned (as Penhalun) in the Domesday Book; nearby is Penhallam, site of a medieval manor.

The name Jacobstow originates from Saxon times and derives from St James' (Latin Jacobus) and holy place As well as the church town, other settlements in the parish include Southcott and those parts of Canworthy Water north of the River Ottery.

Jacobstow parish church is dedicated to St James and there is evidence of a former Saxon church on the same site. The present church is of the 15th century with a nave and chancel and north and south aisles. The three-stage battlemented granite tower houses a ring of six bells. The font is Norman of the Altarnun type and the altar is an Elizabethan communion table

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.

Church records

Jacobstow, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[4]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[5][6]
FREG = FreeREG - free[7]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[8]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[9]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[10]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[11]
Jacobstow, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI
1877-1903

BOYD
1612-1812

COPC 1653-1913
1656-1913
1653-1938
FMP 1612-1869 1618-1837
FREG 1717-1869
1656-1907

FS PRs 1653-1869 1653-1907 1653-1811
IGI 1612-1634, 1653-1811, 1813-1869 1612-1876
PALL
1790-1812

TGEN 1717-1840
1656-1837

Images of parish registers are available online in historic records (formerly Record Search) Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 92

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish http://www.cornwall-opc.org/Par_new/h_k/jacobstow.php

The history, registers and much more have been contributed by the Online Parish clerk for Jacobstow .

Census records

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. To view these census images online, they are available through a number of websites for a fee ($) or free.

  • FamilySearch now has all of the British Censuses available.
  • FindMyPast ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • Ancestry.co.uk ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
  • The Genealogist.co.uk ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.


Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions

Stratton Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

Websites

Add here any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 631-640. Date accessed: 18 March 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 21 November 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  5. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 22 November 2013.
  6. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  7. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  8. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 25 November 2013.
  9. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 November 2013.
  10. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  11. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 22 May 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 May 2014, at 22:26.
  • This page has been accessed 975 times.