Jasper County, IndianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Indiana Gotoarrow.png Jasper County

Guide to Jasper County Indiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Indiana
Online Records
Jasper County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 7, 1835
County Seat Rensselaer
Courthouse
Address Jasper County Courthouse
115 W Washington
Rensselaer, IN 47978
Ph. 219.866.4927
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
1882*
1850*
1882*
1838
1864
*For earlier dates,

try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

Monument to William Jasper at Savannah, Georgia
The county is named after Sergeant William Jasper (c1750-1779).[1]

Neighboring Counties

  • Parent Counties: Formed from Wabash New Purchase and unorganized territory (Warren/White) in 1835 (1838)[2]
  • County Seat: Rensselaer [3]


Neighboring Counties

Lake  • Porter  • Starke  • Pulaski  • White  • Benton  • Newton

Jasper CountyNewton CountyCass CountyMarshall CountyFord CountyGrundy CountyCook CountyWill CountyKankakee CountyLivingston CountyIroquois CountyLake CountySt. Joseph CountyPorter CountyLa Porte CountyStarke CountyPulaski CountyFulton CountyCarroll CountyWhite CountyBenton CountyTippecanoe CountyINJasper.JPG



Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

1864 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged. For a list of record loss in Indiana Counties see: Indiana Counties with Burned Courthouses


For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business Records

Cemeteries

  • list of Jasper County Cemeteries - INGenWeb
  • Obituaries - 1997 to 2010 - INGenWeb
  • Veterans buried in Jasper County, Indiana - Lanewood  
  • Jasper, Newton, Pulaski, White County Area Deaths - 2002-2004  - Lanewood

Census Records

For tips on accessing Jasper County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.

For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.

Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Jasper County, Indiana Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogies

Histories

Local Histories
  • F.A. Battey & Co. Counties of Warren, Benton, Jasper and Newton, Indiana: Historical and Biographical. (Chicago: F.A. Battey & Co, 2008.) also (Digital images of original published: Mt. Vernon, IN : Windmill Publications, 1994. viii, 810 p. : ill., ports. ; 28 cm. The original is a reprint. It was originally published : Chicago : F.A. Battey, 1883.) FHL Collection   FamilySearch Books Online   other library  Internet Archive
  • Biographical history of Tippecanoe, White, Jasper, Newton, Benton, Warren and Pulaski counties, (Indiana. 2003. La Crosse WI: Brookhaven Press.) FHL US/CAN Film 1731988 FHL Collection   other library   vol.1  Google books   vol.2   Google books

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed. See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.

Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Jasper County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Maps

  • Jasper County, Indiana GIS Web Map

Military Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Jasper County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Jasper County.

Civil War Books

  • "Military History of Jasper Counity" in F.A. Battey & Co. Counties of Warren, Benton, Jasper and Newton, Indiana: Historical and Biographical. (Chicago: F.A. Battey & Co, 2008.) also (Digital images of original published: Mt. Vernon, IN : Windmill Publications, 1994. viii, 810 p. : ill., ports. ; 28 cm. The original is a reprint. It was originally published : Chicago : F.A. Battey, 1883.) page 485-507,  FHL Collection   FamilySearch Books Online    other library  Internet Archive

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Jasper County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

Organizations
School Records
Voter Registration

Repositories

See also a List of Indiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Courthouse

Jasper County; 115 W Washington; Rensselaer, IN 47978; Ph. 219.866.4927 Details: (Courthouse burned in 1862; all rec destroyed) (Co Hlth Dept has b & d rec; Co Clk has m & div rec from 1865, pro & ct rec from 1864

Archives
Libraries
Museums
Societies
Family History Centers

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the Family History Center directory.

Taxation

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.

For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Jasper County, Indiana Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

  • Indiana State Digital Achives for Death, E-Publication, Instiution, Military, Misc Historical, Naturalization Records can be searched by person name (accessed 26 May 2011)
Birth Records
Marriage Records

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Jasper County, Indiana Vital Records in online catalogs like:

Places

Web Sites

References

  1. "William Jasper," Wikipedia.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Jasper County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jasper_County,_Indiana (accessed 9 August 2013).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 October 2014, at 16:07.
  • This page has been accessed 11,264 times.