Jasper County, Missouri GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Jasper County, Missouri)

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Jasper County

Guide to Jasper County, Missouri ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Jasper County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 29, 1841
County Seat Carthage
Courthouse
Address Jasper County Courthouse
302 S Main Street
Carthage, MO 64836-1696
Phone: 417.358.0441
Jasper County Website

Contents

County Information

Jasper County, Missouri Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1883 1841 1883 1850 1841 1841

County Courthouse

County Clerk has birth records 1883-1900
and death records 1883-1891;Recorder Deeds
has marriage and land records; Probate Judge
has probate and court records[2]

History

Monument to William Jasper at Savannah, Georgia
The county is named after Sergeant William Jasper (c1750-1779).[3]

Parent County

1841--Jasper County was created 29 January 1841 from Newton County. County seat: Carthage [4]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

An EF5 tornado struck the southern part of the city in May 2011, it is possible some record loss did occur as some locations where records may have been kept or stored were hit by the twister. For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses


Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Barton  • Cherokee County, Kansas  • Crawford County, Kansas  • Dade  • Lawrence  • Newton

Jasper CountyBarton CountyDade CountyGreene CountyPolk CountyLawrence CountyChristian CountyBarry CountyStone CountyNewton CountyMcDonald CountyCrawford CountyNeosho CountyLabette CountyOttawa CountyCraig CountyDalaware CountyCherokee CountyMOJasper1.JPG


Resources

Biographies

Cemeteries

Forest Park Cemetery, Joplin BillionGraves. May contain some interments of those killed by the tornado in 2011.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Jasper County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

A history of Jasper County, Missouri, and its people by Joel T. Livingston (1912) Volume 1 and Volume 2 are available online free from Google Books.

The biographical record of Jasper County, Missouri (1901) by Hon. Malcolm G. McGregor is available online free from Google Books. This book has biographical sketches of county residents. A name index is provided on page 5 of the book.

Biographies from The History of Jasper County, Missouri (1883) published by Mills & Company are available free on the My Genealogy Hound website

  • North, F. A. The History of Jasper County, Missouri : including a condensed history of the state, a complete history of Carthage and Joplin, other towns and townships.... Des Moines, Iowa : Mills & Co., 1883.
  • Zellers, David E. "Arthur's in Missouri".

Maps

Mojasper.jpg

Military

Civil War
- 11th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company A
- 11th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company A
- 11th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company K
- 11th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company K

Civil War Battle

The following Civil War Battle was fought in Jasper County

Map showing Civil War battles in Missouri

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Jasper County, Missouri Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
Marriages
Deaths

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Historical Societies

  • Jasper County Historical Society,
    1718 Garrison,
    Carthage, MO 64836;
    Phone: (417) 358-2980

Libraries

Carthage Public Library
612 South Grand
Carthage, Missouri 64836
E-mail us at carthage@carthagelibrary.net or call us at 417-237-7040
Website:Carthage Public Library


Joplin Public Library
300 South Main Street
Joplin, MO 64801-2384
Phone: (417) 623-7953
Email: jpl@joplinpubliclibrary.org
Website: Joplin Public Library

This location has closed its genealogy section and given the records to the Jasper County Records Center.

Family History Centers

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Web Sites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Jasper County, Missouri Genealogy
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Missouri Genealogy Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Jasper County, Missouri Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Jasper County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries


Social networking sites pertaining to Jasper County, Missouri Genealogy
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search
Ancestry.com Jasper County Message Board

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 422-438. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Jasper County, Missouri. Page 401 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. "William Jasper," Wikipedia.
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 9 August 2012)
  6. 6.0 6.1 6.2 6.3 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d8/Igimissourij.pdf.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2016, at 23:57.
  • This page has been accessed 13,793 times.