Jefferson County, AlabamaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Alabama
Jefferson County
Guide to Jefferson County Alabama genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| For earlier dates, try...Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries | Parent County | |||||
| Jefferson County, Alabama | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Alabama | |
![]() Location of Alabama in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | December 13, 1819 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Birmingham |
| Courthouse | |
County Courthouse
Jefferson county has two official County seats - Birmingham and Bessemer.
Birmingham
Jefferson County Courthouse716 Richard Arrington, Jr.
Blvd. N.,
Birmingham, AL 35203
Phone: (205) 325-5355 Probate Judge has marriage records from 1818
Probate Records from 1870 and land records for 1820 [1]
Bessemer
Bessemer County Courthouse1801 3rd Avenue
Bessemer, AL 35020
Phone: (205) 481-4110
History
Parent County
1819--Jefferson County was created 13 December 1819 from Blount County.
County seat: Birmingham [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
1870 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.
For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following article on the Burned Counties Research
and also comparable article by Michael John Neill at the Ancestry.com blog site.
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Cities
Adamsville | Bessemer | Birmingham | Brighton | Center Point | Clay | Fairfield | Fultondale | Gardendale | Graysville | Helena | Homewood | Hoover | Hueytown | Irondale | Leeds | Lipscomb | Midfield | Mountain Brook | Pinson | Pleasant Grove | Sumiton | Tarrant | Trussville | Vestavia Hills | Warrior
Towns
Argo | Brookside | Cardiff | County Line | Kimberly | Maytown | McCalla | Morris | Mulga | North Johns | Sylvan Springs | Trafford | West Jefferson
Census Designations
Chalkville | Concord | Edgewater | Forestdale | Grayson Valley | McDonald Chapel | Minor | Mount Olive | Rock Creek
Neighboring Counties
Bibb | Blount | Saint Clair | Shelby | Tuscaloosa | Walker
Resources
African American
- 1896-1935 - Jefferson County, Alabama Colored Marriage Books 118-131, 167-169, 172-203 in "Alabama, County Marriages, 1809-1950," at FamilySearch.org - free.[3]
Biography
- The Book of Birmingham and Alabama. Birmingham, Ala.: The Birmingham Ledger Publishers, 1914. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free. Includes bios and photographs.
- DuBose, John Witherspoon. Jefferson County and Birmingham Alabama, Historical and Biographical. Birmingham, Ala.: Teeple and Smith, 1887. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
Cemeteries
FindAGrave - Transcriptions and partial transcriptions for 307 Jefferson County cemeteries.
Interment.net - Transcriptions and partial transcriptions for Jefferson County cemeteries.
USGenWeb Archives Project - transcriptions and partial transcriptions for Jefferson County cemeteries.
BillionGraves:
- Jefferson Memorial Gardens, Trussville
- New Hope Cemetery, Irondale
- Reed Cemetery, Birmingham
- Taylors Chapel Cemtery, Clay
- Cemetery Records of Jefferson and Walker Counties, Alabama. Salt Lake City, Utah: The Society?, 1945. Digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes Bluff Ridge Cemetery, East Lake Cemetery, Old Elyton Cemetery, McCalla Cemetery, Massey Cemetery, and Smithson Cemetery.
- Cemeteries of Birmingham, Alabama at Birmingham Genealogical Society website - free. Includes Adger, Arnolds, B'ville, Bethlehem, Blue Creek, Brighton, Canaan, Dogwood, Farrington, Generys, George, Gwin, Kimbrell, Mars Hill, Massey, Moore, Mud Creek, Parkwood, Pleasant Hill, Pleasant Valley, Providence, Prude Creek, Sadlers, Smithson, Union, Valley Cr, and Walnut Grove cemeteries.
Additional Jefferson County cemeteries are included in Alabama Cemetery Records Vol. 1 and Vol. 5 at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
Census
For tips on accessing Jefferson County, Alabama census records online, see: Alabama Census.
| Historical populations | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± | |
| 1830 | 6,855 | ||
| 1840 | 7,131 | 4.0% | |
| 1850 | 8,989 | 26.1% | |
| 1860 | 11,746 | 30.7% | |
| 1870 | 12,345 | 5.1% | |
| 1880 | 23,272 | 88.5% | |
| 1890 | 88,501 | 280.3% | |
| 1900 | 140,420 | 58.7% | |
| 1910 | 226,476 | 61.3% | |
| 1920 | 310,054 | 36.9% | |
| 1930 | 431,493 | 39.2% | |
| 1940 | 459,930 | 6.6% | |
| 1950 | 558,928 | 21.5% | |
| 1960 | 634,864 | 13.6% | |
| 1970 | 644,991 | 1.6% | |
| 1980 | 671,371 | 4.1% | |
| 1990 | 651,525 | −3.0% | |
| 2000 | 662,047 | 1.6% | |
| 2010 | 658,466 | −0.5% | |
| Est. 2011 | 658,931 | −0.5% | |
Church Records
Baptists
- Hageness, MariLee Beatty. Mount Hebron Church Minutes 1819-1857. Leeds, Jefferson County, Alabama. Anniston, Ala.: MLH Research, 1998. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
- Huey, Thomas E. Ruhama: The Story of a Church, 1819-1945. Birmingham, Ala.: Birmingham Print. Co., c1946. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Birmingham
- McCalla
Episcopalians
- McDavid, Mittie Owen. Church of the Advent: Its History and Traditions. Birmingham, Ala.: Press of Birmingham Pub. Co., 1943. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
Court Records
Alabama, Jefferson County Circuit Court Papers, 1870-1916 ~ FamilySearch records collection
Directories
- Jefferson County, Alabama Online Historical Directories - identifies historical city, county, business and other directories available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.
- 1888-1890 - Birmingham, Alabama Directories, 1888-90 at Ancestry ($). Includes 1888, 1889, 1890, and 1890 (2) directories.
Land and Property
To place a grant or deed on a map within context of Jefferson County, Alabama see:
- Boyd, Gregory A. Family Maps of Jefferson County, Alabama: with Homesteads, Roads, Waterways, Towns, Cemeteries, Railroads, and More. Norman, Okla.: Arphax Pub. Co., 2007. This is a definitive work and can be used as an index to land grants. Digital version at HistoryGeo.com ($). Website includes free surname index. FHL Book 976.178 E7bg.
Local Histories
- DuBose, John Witherspoon. Jefferson County and Birmingham Alabama, Historical and Biographical. Birmingham, Ala.: Teeple and Smith, 1887. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
- Early Days in Birmingham: A Printing of the Original Papers of the Pioneers Club, Whose Members were Eye-witnesses to the Events of the Founding of the City. Birmingham, Ala.: Birmingham Pub. Co., 1937. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
Maps
- Family Maps of Jefferson County, Alabama (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
Jefferson County Historical Maps ~ can be viewed online as well as purchased.
Jefferson County MapStats ~ Alabama Dept. Archives and History.
Military
Civil War
Civil War service men from Jefferson County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Jefferson County.
- - 10th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B "Jefferson Volunteers"
- - 18th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company C (Cahaba Valley Rangers)
- - 18th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company G (Yancey Guards [or Yancey Rangers])
- - 19th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company C (Jefferson Warriors)
- - 20th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company C and G
- - 28th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D, G and H
- - 30th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company K
- - 43rd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company G
- - 58th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company C and D
- Alabama, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865
- Alabama, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865
Mortuaries
- 1906-1975 - Ward, Fred and Christine Shaw Ward. Angwin Mortuary Center of Ensley, Birmingham, Alabama 1906-1975. Digital version at Birmingham Genealogical Society website - free.
Newspapers
- Alabama Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.
- Obituary Index : Birmingham Area Newspapers (Birmingham News, May 1929 - January 1980; Birminham World, September 1940 - December 1996; Methodist Christian Advocate / Alabama Christian Advocate, January 1929 - December 1979; Shelby County Reporter, January 1932 - December 1979)
- Alabama Citizen - full-text digital issues in Google News Archive; covers 1913-1918
Obituaries
USGenWeb Archives Project - transcribed obituaries for Jefferson County.
Probate Records
Alabama County Probate Records 1830-1976 ~ FamilySearch records collection.
Taxation
Jefferson County Tax Payment Records ~ County of Jefferson (searchable database)
- 1865-1866 - U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry ($). Jefferson County is in District 3.
Vital Records
Birth
Marriage
- To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry – ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
- To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry – ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
- 1808, 1815, 1818–1879, 1885, 1898, 1923, 1930, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry – ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
- 1808, 1815, 1818–1879, 1885, 1898, 1923, 1930, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry – ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
- 1818-1928 - Jefferson County Marriage Books 1-28 Index 1818-1928 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[4]
- 1818-1845 - Grant, Orena V. Orena V. Grant Genealogical Collection (Marriages and Cemetery Records): From Southeastern, North and South Central States. Salt Lake City, Utah: The Society?, 1964. Digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes Jefferson County marriages 1818 to 1845.
- 1819-1875 - Jefferson County, Alabama Marriages 1819 to 1875 at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
- 1819–1875 "Alabama Marriages, 1809–1920" at Ancestry – ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage records from the state. Researchers will find the names of both bride and groom along with the marriage date. The county where the ceremony was performed is also provided. Containing about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.
- 1819–1875 "Alabama Marriages, 1809–1920" at Ancestry – ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage records from the state. Researchers will find the names of both bride and groom along with the marriage date. The county where the ceremony was performed is also provided. Containing about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.
- 1928-1949 - Jefferson County, Alabama Marriage Books 110-215 in "Alabama, County Marriages, 1809-1950," at FamilySearch.org - free.[3]
Death
- 1881-1952 - Alabama, Deaths and Burials, 1881-1952 at FamilySearch Historical Records Collection - free
- 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry – ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.
- 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry – ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.
- 1908–1959 Index to Deaths recorded by the state of Alabama at Ancestry – ($); Index. The index includes name of the deceased, county of death, date of death, and the state certificate number (volume and page).
- 1908–1959 Index to Deaths recorded by the state of Alabama at Ancestry – ($); Index. The index includes name of the deceased, county of death, date of death, and the state certificate number (volume and page).
- 1908-1974 - Alabama, Deaths, 1908-1974 at FamilySearch Historical Records Collection - free
Voting Registers
Alabama Voting Registers for 1867 are available online at the Alabama Department of Archives and History. Jefferson County has one book.
Yearbooks
- Birmingham Southern College: 1914-2008 (via the Internet Archive)
- Howard College Student Catalogs (formerly Samford College): 1847-1908 (via the Internet Archive)
Societies and Libraries
Birmingham Genealogical Society
Jefferson County Historical Commission
Genealogy
Southern History Department
Birmingham Public Library
2100 Park Place
Birmingham, AL 35203
Family History Center
- 831 Briarwood Dr
Bessemer, Jefferson, Alabama, United States
Phone: 205-425-7928
Hours: Wed 5pm-9pm other hours by appointment 919-1939
- 831 Briarwood Dr
- 2780 Altadena Rd
Birmingham, Jefferson, Alabama, United States
Phone: 205-967-7279
Hours: Tues 10am-4pm;
Wed 10am-8pm;
Sat 10am-2pm.
Closures: All holidays and first and fifth Sat of every month
- 2780 Altadena Rd
- 1337 Old Springville Rd, Birmingham, Alabama 35235
Phone: 205-854-0300
Hours: W 5pm-9pm by appointment only;
F 9am-1pm by appt only
- 1337 Old Springville Rd, Birmingham, Alabama 35235
- 1101 Rockhampton St NE
Leeds, Jefferson, Alabama, United States
Hours: Wed. 6:00-9:00 p Sat. by Appt.
- 1101 Rockhampton St NE
- 1925 Mt Olive Blvd
Gardendale, Alabama 35071
Phone: 205-631-6765:
- Hours: T,Th 7pm-9pm by appt.
Closures: Closed Thanksgiving week and last 2 weeks of Dec.
- 1925 Mt Olive Blvd
Jefferson County Alabama Genealogy Websites
- USGenWeb project may have maps, name indexes, history, or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- USGenWeb Archives Project ~ contains record transcriptions from Bibles, obituaries, court records and more.
- Jefferson County, ALGenWeb ~ record transcriptions and information pertinent to the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Jefferson County, Alabama Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Jefferson County Genealogy (Alabama Genealogy)
Jefferson County Alabama Genealogy References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Jefferson County p. 38. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 Coverage Table, "Alabama County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," FamilySearch Research Wiki, https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/Alabama_County_Marriages_(FamilySearch_Historical_Records), accessed 6 August 2012.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/06/Igialabamadj.pdf.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 29 April 2013, at 23:47.
- This page has been accessed 5,339 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More




