Jefferson County, ArkansasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Jefferson County

Guide to Jefferson County Arkansas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records


Jefferson County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Jefferson County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 2, 1829
County Seat Pine Bluff
Courthouse
Address Jefferson County Courthouse
101 W Barraque Street
Pine Bluff, AR 71601
Phone: 870.541.5360

Contents

County Courthouse

Jefferson County Courthouse
101 W Barraque Street
Pine Bluff, AR 71601
Phone: 870.541.5360

County Clerk has marriage records from 1830 and probate records from 1845; Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, court and land records.[1]

Beginning years for Jefferson County, Arkansas government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1830 1914* 1837 1830 1829
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

History

Parent County

  • 1829--Jefferson County was created 2 November 1829 from Arkansas and Pulaski counties.

County seat: Pine Bluff [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.



Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Arkansas counties see: Arkansas Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Arkansas  • Cleveland  • Grant  • Lincoln  • Lonoke  • Pulaski

Jefferson CountyArkansas CountyDesha CountyLincoln CountyCleveland CountyDallas CountyGrant CountySaline CountyPulaski CountyLonoke CountyFaulkner CountyPrairie CountyMonroe CountyWoodruff CountyWhite CountyPerry CountyHot Spring CountyOuachita CountyCalhoun CountyDrew CountyARJefferson.JPG

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

BillionGraves:

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Arkansas denominations, view the Arkansas Church Records wiki page.


Court

Genealogy

  • Biographies from The History of Jefferson County, Arkansas (1889) published by Goodspeed Publishing Company are available free on the My Genealogy Hound website.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Arkansas Land and Property for additional information about early Arkansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Jefferson County, Arkansas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Arkansas County - The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture [1]

  • 1541 - Native Americans numbering in the thousands in connecting settlements along the state’s southeast border were found by Spanish conquistador Hernando de Soto as he led the first Europeans into southeast Arkansas.
  • 1818 August 24 - The Quapaw ceded their lands to the U.S. government.
  • 1800s (early) - One of the first permanent settlers of record in Jefferson County was Joseph Bonne, who brought his Quapaw family from to live on a pine tree–covered bluff on the Arkansas River.
  • 1890s - Jefferson County entered what historian Jim Leslie has referred to as the Golden Era. Because of its prodigious cotton production and location near the Arkansas River, the county attracted many industries, businesses, and public institutions.
  • 1927-1930s - The Flood of 1927 is considered Jefferson County’s worst natural disaster, killing dozens of people and destroying tens of thousands of acres of cotton and hundreds of farmsteads and homes. With the Great Depression of the 1930s, it took the county decades to reclaim the economic status it was gaining before the flood.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Jefferson County, Arkansas served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Jefferson County, Arkansas:

- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company D
- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Colquitt's) (Confederate)
- 2nd Battalion, Arkansas Calvalry (Confederate) , Company D
- 6th Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate) , Company G
- 8th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)
- 15th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Josey's) (Confederate)
- 18th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate) Companies A, D and K
- 26th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Companies C and K
- Pine Bluff Artillery, Arkansas (Confederate)
Civil War Battle

The following Civil War battle was fought in Jefferson County.

Map showing Civil War battles in Arkansas.

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Jefferson County, Arkansas newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituary Indexes from the following from 1866 to current time:

  • Pine Bluff Commercial
  • Pine Bluff Graphic
  • Pin Bluff News
  • Pine Bluff Eagle
  • White Hall Journal
  • Pine Bluff Dispatch
  • The Negro Spokesman
  • The Jefferson Republican
  • Weekly Echo

Occupations

Probate Records

Probate records of Arkansas have been kept by the probate or county courts. You can obtain copies of the original records by contacting the clerk's office in the county courthouse.

The Family History Library has microfilm copies of many Arkansas probate records. See Arkansas Probate Records for more information about Probate records in Arkansas, including statewide indexes.


  • Probate Records 1830-1930 Part of: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration and guardian bonds 1850-1859; Administration bonds and letters 1862-1906; Administration records 1856-1862; Administration, executor and guardian bonds 1859-1862; Dockets 1830-1889; Executor bonds and letters 1862-1930; Probate records 1863-1890; Wills 1839-1927.

Taxation

Arkansas tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years for some counties. For more information see Arkansas Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arkansas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

See also Arkansas Vital Records Online and Arkansas Statewide Indexes and Collections at the Family History Library.


See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
ARGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Jefferson County, Arkansas
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Jefferson County, Arkansas
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Arkansas History Commission AR state agency involved in organizing and maintaining state and local history of AR
See also local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Jefferson County, Arkansas
GeneaBloggers enter "arkansas" in the search box to see a list and links to Arkansas Blogs
Google+ list of groups from "arkansas genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Arkansas Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Jefferson County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Jefferson County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 68.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. 4.0 4.1 FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.
  5. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 15 August, 2012)
  6. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0d/Igiarkansasem.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 July 2014, at 21:18.
  • This page has been accessed 10,105 times.