Jefferson County, ColoradoEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Jefferson County, Colorado ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United StatesGotoarrow.pngColoradoGotoarrow.pngJefferson County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Colorado
Online Records


Jefferson County, Colorado
Map
Map of Colorado highlighting Jefferson County
Location in the state of Colorado
Map of the U.S. highlighting Colorado
Location of Colorado in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 1, 1861
County Seat Golden
Courthouse
Address Jefferson County Courthouse
100 Jefferson County Pkwy #2530
Golden, CO 80419-2530
Phone: 303.271.8168
Jefferson County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has marriage records from 1868 and land records from 1860;
County Health Department has birth, death and burial records; Clerk
District Court has divorce records  County Court has probate and court records[1]

Jefferson County, commonly referred to as the Gateway to the Rockies, is the fourth most populated county in Colorado.  The county runs along the west side of the Denver Metro area along the front range.  The county website can be found at http://www.co.jefferson.co.us/.

County Seat

Golden [2]

Jefferson County Vital Records
800 Jefferson County Parkway
Golden, CO 80419
303-271-6450
Fax 303-271-6451

Jefferson County Clerk/Recorder
100 Jefferson County Pkwy. Suite 2560
Admin and Courts Facility
Golden, CO 80419
countyclerk@jeffco.us
303-271-8121

Parent County

Cojefferson.jpg
1861--Jefferson County was created 1 November 1861 as an original county.

Neighboring Counties

Record Loss

Historical Facts

An excellent chronological history is found in the archives section of the county website

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Tax
Land
Probate
1893-1906[3]*
1874-1876[3]*
1893-1906[3]*



*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Vital Records Section Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Colorado.


See also the Colorado Vital Records.

Birth

Birth records may become public records when 100 years have elapsed after the date of birth. EXCEPTION: The birth record of any individual who is known to be currently alive will remain confidential even if they are 100 years of age or greater. [4]

For in-state births from 1903 to present, certificates can be obtained from Jefferson County Vital Statistics office. For birth certificates before 1903 contact the county where the birth occurred or the State Health Department at (303) 756-4464.

If you are obtaining a birth certificate for a sibling, parent, grandparent, etc., you will need to show chain of relationship. Examples are: A sibling could provide their birth certificate to show same parents. If you are trying to get a grandparent's birth certificate you will need to show your birth certificate, plus your parent's birth certificate to show chain of relationship. If you have questions on this please call our office at 303-271-6450.

Marriage

The Jefferson County Recorder's office will search their indexes if you call or come in to the office. If a record is found, a copy can be purchased in person or by mail. Call 303-271-8121.

Death

Death records may become public records when 75 years have elapsed after the date of death. [4]

Certificates can be obtained from the Jefferson County Vital Statistics office.To obtain a recent death certificate, you must show a direct and tangible interest to the deceased. Relatives include wife, mother, father, child (if they are listed on the death certificate). If they are not listed on the death certificate they must show proof of relationship. This would include maternal grandparents, paternal grandparents, siblings if they can prove chain of relationship. If you have questions on this please call our office at 303-271-6450.

Divorce

All divorces and divorce records are handled by the Jefferson County Combined Courts, Colorado Judicial District 1. Please contact their office directly at 303-271-6145 or Fax: 303-271-6188.

Jefferson County Combined Courts
100 Jefferson County Parkway
Golden CO 80401

Resources

Cemeteries

  • Arvada Cemetery
    5581 Independence Street
    Arvada, CO 80002-2973
    (303) 422-5424
  • Golden Cemetery
    755 Ulysses St.
    Golden, CO 80401
    Mailing Address:
    Golden Cemetery
    755 Ulysses St.
    Golden, CO 80401 (303) 279-1435
  • Golden Hill Cemetery (Jewish)
    12000 West Colfax Avenue
    Lakewood, CO 80215-3717
    (303) 237-0573

Census

For tips on accessing Jefferson County, Colorado census records online, see: Colorado Census.

Census Year     Population
1870                 2,390
1880                 6,804
1890                 8,450
1900                 9,360

1910                14,231

1920                14,400

1930                 21,810

1940                30,725

1950                55,687

1960              127,520

1970              235,368

1980              371,753

1990              438,430

2000              527,156


Source:  Jefferson County Archives

Church Records

Directories

Local History and Biographies

Local histories are available for Jefferson County, Colorado. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Colorado Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Colorado Land and Property for additional information about early Colorado land grants.

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where current records are also housed.


Maps

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Jefferson County, Colorado newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate

Probate records have been kept by the county courts. Colorado probate records include bonds, affidavits, letters, claims, appraisals, fee accounts, minutes, judgments, dockets, calendars, case files, and wills. The Family History Library does not have copies of probate records from Colorado.

You may obtain copies of documents from the clerk's office in the county courthouse.


Public Records

School Records

Repositories

Archives

The Colorado State Archives has the following records available for Jefferson County, Colorado in this online database Archives Search. For a full list of online holdings, click here.
(Statewide)
Civilian Conservation Corps Enrollments 1936 - 1942
Divorce Index 1880 - 1939
Horseshoers 1897 - 1920
Mine Accidents, Non - fatal 1883 - 1900
Vietnam Deaths 1966, 1968

Jefferson County Coroner Reports 1868 - 1930
Jefferson County Inheritance Tax 1913 - 1945
Jefferson County Civil Cases 1864 - 1886
Jefferson County Probates 1862  - 1977

Family History Centers

Libraries

Jefferson County Public Library
10200 W 20th Ave
Lakewood, CO 80215
Phone: (303) 235-5275
Website jefferson.lib.co.us/

Museums

Societies

Taxation

Colorado tax records complement land records and can be used as supplements to censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. To find tax records in the FamilySearch Catalog, do a Catalog/frameset_fhlc.asp Place Search for the county.


Colorado State Archives has put the Jefferson County Inheritance Tax Records Index for 1913-1945 on-line

Places

Populated Places in Jefferson County
Cities
Towns
Unincorporated
Arvada *
Bow Mar
Applewood
Edgewater
Lakeside
Aspen Park
Golden
Morrison
Buffalo Creek
Lakewood
Mountain View
Columbine
Littleton **
Superior ***
Conifer
Westminster *

East Pleasant View
Wheat Ridge

Evergreen


Genesee


Indian Hills


Ken Caryl


Kittredge


Pine


Pine Ridge


West Pleasant View

* partly in Adams County
** partly in Arapahoe County and Douglas County
*** partly in Boulder County

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Jefferson County, Colorado. Page 99 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 The Red Book, American State, County, and Town Sources. Edited by Alice Eichholz. (Ancestry, Provo; 3d ed, 2004.) Colorado article by Birdie Monk Holzclaw and Marsha Hoffman Rising. page 93.
  4. 4.0 4.1 Letter from Colorado State Registrar, Dated September 1, 2011. Policy Number 2011- 08. http://www.colorado.gov

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 November 2014, at 18:41.
  • This page has been accessed 10,775 times.