Jefferson County, Georgia GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Jefferson County, Georgia)

United States go to Georgia go to Jefferson County

Guide to Jefferson County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Jefferson County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Jefferson County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded February 20, 1796
County Seat Louisville
Courthouse
Address Jefferson County Courthouse
202 E Broad Street
PO Box 658
Louisville, GA 30434-1622
Phone: 478.625.7922
Jefferson County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Jefferson County Courthouse
202 E Broad Street
PO Box 658
Louisville, GA 30434-1622
Phone: 478.625.7922

Clerk of Courts has land and court records from 1865, divorce records from 1900s and marriage records; Probate Court has probate records; County Health Department has birth and death records.[1]

Clerk of Superior Court
P.O. Box 151
202 E. Broad St.
Louisville, GA 30434
Telephone: (478) 625-7922
Fax: (478) 625-4037
Website

Probate Court of Jefferson County
P.O. Box 505
Louisville, GA 30434
Telephone: 478-625-3258
Fax: 478-625-0245
Website

Beginning Dates for Jefferson County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate




1865

History

Parent County

1796--Jefferson County was created 20 February 1796 from Burke and Warren Counties. County seat:  Louisville [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

War.jpg
1864. During the American Civil War November 29 through 1 December 1864 the Union Army's Fourteenth Corp marched through Louisville and defaced, but did not burn, the Courthouse. Sometime during that war the county's deed books went missing.[3]

The earliest surviving deed is dated 20 February 1865.[3]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Burke County  • Emanuel County  • Glascock County  • Johnson County  • McDuffie County  • Richmond County  • Warren County  • Washington County

Jefferson CountyBurke CountyRichmond CountyGlascock CountyColumbia CountyMcDuffie CountyWilkes CountyTaliaferro CountyWarren CountyGreene CountyHancock CountyBaldwin CountyWashington CountyWilkinson CountyJohnson CountyLaurens CountyEmanuel CountyCandler CountyBulloch CountyEffingham CountyScreven CountyJenkins CountyJasper CountyHampton CountyColleton CountyAllendale CountyBamberg CountyOrangeburg CountyBarnwell CountyAiken CountyMcCormick CountyEdgefield CountyGAJefferson.JPG


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

  • 1866-1890 - Jefferson County Colored Marriage Book A Index 1866-1890. Batch M713143 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1889-1895 - Jefferson County Colored Marriage Book B (partial) Index 1889-1895. Batch M713144 at FamilySearch - free.[4]

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Jefferson County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

  • Thomas, Z. V. History of Jefferson County. Macon, Ga.: Press of the J.W. Burke Co., 1927. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Jefferson County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Jefferson County, Georgia Genealogy:


- 20th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company C
- 38th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company G
- 43rd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company H
- 48th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company E
- 63rd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company H
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project  (other war's information is also given)


  • Thomas, Z. V. 1927. History of Jefferson County. Macon, Ga: Press of the J.W. Burke Co. (page 101-107) 975.8663 H2t
  • Durden, Marion Little. 1983. A history of Saint George Parish, colony of Georgia, Jefferson County, state of Georgia. Swainsboro, Ga. (P.O. Box 3, Swainsboro 30401): Magnolia Press. (page 7, 69, 247) 975.8663 H2d
  • Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Jefferson County). 1958. List of Confederate veterans, 1893, 1864, 1861; miscellaneous pension records, 1890-1952. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. film 180903 item 4

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Jefferson County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Marriage Records
  • 1803-1880 - Jefferson County Marriage Book A Index 1803-1880. Batch M713141 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1868-1895 - Jefferson County Marriage Book B Index 1868-1895. Batch M713142 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1885-1886 - Jefferson County Marriages 1885-1886 (from newspapers) Georgia Pioneers $
  • Marriage Contracts found in deeds, documents Georgia Pioneers $
Death Records
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Jefferson County, Georgia. Page 157 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 38. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/57/Igigeorgiael.pdf.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 February 2016, at 01:27.
  • This page has been accessed 15,104 times.