Jefferson County, IndianaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Indiana
Jefferson County
Guide to Jefferson County Indiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Jefferson County, Indiana | |||||||
| Map | |||||||
![]() Location of Indiana in the U.S. | |||||||
| Facts | |||||||
| Founded | November 23, 1810 | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Madison | ||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||
| Address | Jefferson County Courthouse 300 E Main St #203 Madison, IN 47250 Ph. 812.265.8921 Website | ||||||
| |||||||
Historical Facts
Populated Places
Boundary Changes
1810--Jefferson County was created 23 November 1810 from Clark and Dearborn Counties.[1]
Neighboring Counties
Clark | Jennings | Ripley | Scott | Switzerland | Kentucky counties: Carroll | Trimble
Record Loss
Jefferson County, Indiana Courthouse Damaged by Fire (20 May 2009) (multiple sources)
http://www.wthr.com/Global/story.asp?S=10399782&nav=9Tai
http://www.courier-journal.com/article/20090522/NEWS02/905220388/County+records+likely+ruined+in+Madison+fire
Flames destroyed parts of the 154-year-old Jefferson County Courthouse today. The Indiana state fire marshal has completed a preliminary investigation, but has not yet issued a report.
Decades of history may have been lost as flames ripped through the courthouse. The third floor partially collapsed and the basement sustained significant water damage.
Local preservation experts have retrieved deeds and some other vital documents. Many of them will have to be frozen before they can be restored. However, there are some that were irreparably damaged in the fire.
The fire came as crews were finishing restoration work on the courthouse for the city's bicentennial celebration. County officials said exterior work was nearly complete. A video is available at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MQRXvKP4Oc4 or click on the image below.
Resources
Bible Records
Biographies
Business Records
Cemeteries
- Cemeteries for Jefferson - Linkpendium
Census Records
For tips on accessing Jefferson County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.
- Index to Defective, Dependent & Delinquent Census for Jefferson County ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
- Early Settlers of Jefferson County ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
- Jefferson County, Indiana: Census Records and Indexes - Linkpendium
Church Records
Court Records
Directories
- Directory of Businesses in Jefferson County (1858) ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic and Religious Groups
Gazetteers
Genealogies
Histories
Local Histories
- Biographical and Historical Souvenir for the Counties of Clark, Crawford, Harrison, Floyd, Jefferson, Jennings, Scott and Washington, Indiana. (Evansville, Ind: Unigraphic, 1972.) FHL US/CAN Film 934899 Item 4 FHL Collection other libraries INTERNET ARCHIVE
- History of Jefferson County - Linkpendium
Land and Property
Maps
- Maps and Gazetteers - Linkpendium
Military Records
- African American Veterans in Jefferson County, Indiana (1890) ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Civil War
Civil War service men from Jefferson County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Jefferson County.
- 1st Regiment, Indiana Heavy Artillery, Company L
- 3rd Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Company E
- 6th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies A, K, E, and Reorganized Company A, E, F, and K
- 7th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Company M
- 8th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Company H
- 10th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Company H
- 12th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company C
- 13th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company D, and Reorganized Companies B, C, D, and E
- 20th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Reorganized Companies D, and F
- 51st Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company B
- 82nd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies A, B, C, G, and K
- 91st Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company I
- 93rd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies C, and E
- 128th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company A
- 132nd Regiment, Indiana Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company D
- 137th Regiment, Indiana Infantry (100 days, 1864), Companies B, F, and I
- 139th Regiment, Indiana Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company K
- 149th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company D
- 28th US Colored Troops, Company E, and Addition Recruits for Colored Troop
Civil War books and articles
- Robertson, Middleton, "Recollections of Morgan's Raid", (Indiana Magazine of History 28, no. 2 (June 1932): 116-137.) 1863, Jefferson County (Deputy) Abstract and Bibliographic Information article PDF
- Garber, Michael C., Jr., "Reminiscences of the Burning of Columbia, South Carolina" ,( Indiana Magazine of History 11, no. 4 (December 1915): 285-300.) 1865, Jefferson County (Madison) Abstract and Bibliographic Information article PDF
Naturalization and Citizenship
Newspapers
Obituaries
Periodicals
Probate Records
Public Records
Repositories
Courthouse
Jefferson county; 300 E Main St #203; Madison, IN 47250; Ph. 812.265.8921 Details: (Co Hlth Dept has b, d & bur rec; Co Clk has m, div, pro & ct rec; Co Redr has land rec)Archives
Libraries
Museums
Societies
Family History Centers
School Records
Taxation
Vital Records
- Indiana State Digital Achives for Death, E-Publication, Instiution, Military, Misc Historical, Naturalization Records can be searched by person name (accessed 26 May 2011)
Birth Records
Marriage Records
- Indiana Marriages, 1802-1892 - Ancestry.con $
- Indiana Marriages, 1780-1992 - FamilySearch
- Indiana Marriage, 1811-1959 - FamilySearch
Death Records
- Indiana, Death Index, 1882-1920 - FamilySearch
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Jefferson County, Indiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 16 April 2013, at 21:34.
- This page has been accessed 2,033 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

