Jefferson County, Montana GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Jefferson County, Montana ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Jefferson County, Montana|
Location in the state of Montana
Location of Montana in the U.S.
|Founded||February 2, 1865|
|Address|| Jefferson County Courthouse|
PO Box H
Boulder, MT 59632
Jefferson County Website
|Beginning dates for major county records|
|* For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries|
- Parent County: created 2 February 1865 as an original county
- County seat: Boulder 
- Neighboring Counties: Broadwater | Deer Lodge | Gallatin | Lewis and Clark | Madison | Powell | Silver Bow
- Elkhorn Cemetery, Jefferson County, Elkhorn, Montana; surveyed May 28, 2000 A ghost town cemetery. The Elkhorn Mine was worked from the 1870s until 1899. The postoffice closed in 1924. Information given includes name, birth and death dates, age, remarks.
Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Montana denominations, view the Montana Church Records wiki page.
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups
Local histories are available for Jefferson County, Montana Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Montana Local Histories.
Land and Property
- Jefferson County, Montana, index to deeds records, 1805-1927 and deed records, 1864-1951
- Jefferson County, Montana, indexes to mining district records 1864-1959 ; mining district records 1864-1957
- Jefferson County, Montana, indexes to miscellaneous land records, 1864-1990 and miscellaneous land records, 1864-1964
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Montana Land and Property for additional information about early Montana land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.
- See an interactive map of Jefferson County cemeteries and modern-day townships. (Histopolis)
Naturalization and Citizenship
- Basin Progress - more than 200 issues spanning 1897-1904 freely available via Google News Archive
- Basin Progress & Mining Review - more than 100 issues spanning 1905-1909 freely available via Google News Archive
- Basin Republican Rustler - more than 100 issues spanning 2006-2009 freely available via Google News Archive
- NewspaperArchive.com ($) has a collection of digitized Montana newspapers including Butte and Helena newspapers. This database is sometimes free at libraries.
- Boulder, Montana, newspapers : the Jefferson County Sentinel, the Boulder Age, and the Boulder Monitor
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Jefferson County, Montana Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- Jefferson County, Montana, probate case files, 1869-1932 and registers of probate case files, 1893-1932
In most counties in Montana, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Montana, Jefferson - Probate records.
County Clerk has birth and death records from 1907 and land records from 1865; Clerk District Court has marriage, probate and court records 
Family History Centers
|Centers provide: • Personal one-on-one assistance • Access to genealogical records through the Internet or microfilm loan program • Free how-to classes (varies by location). See Family History Centers for more information.|
Montana tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most birth and death original records can be purchased from the Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. For information about marriages, divorces, and requirements for obtaining any vital records, see the CDC Where to Write website.
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 416.
- This page was last modified on 6 February 2015, at 03:11.
- This page has been accessed 5,896 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More