Jefferson County, OhioEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United StatesGotoarrow.png Ohio Gotoarrow.png Jefferson County

Guide to Jefferson County, Ohio ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Ohio
Online Records
Jefferson County, Ohio
Map
Boundary map of Jefferson County, Ohio
Map of the U.S. highlighting Ohio
Location of Ohio in the U.S.
Courthouse
Jefferson County, Ohio Courthouse.jpg
Address Jefferson County Courthouse
301 Market St.
Steubenville, Ohio 43952
Jefferson County Website


Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Tax
Land
Probate
1867
1803
1867
1795
1798
*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries
  • Parent Counties: Formed from Washington County 27 July 1797.[1]
  • County Seat: Steubenville



Neighboring Counties

Columbiana County  • Carroll County  • Harrison County  • Belmont County  • Hancock County, West Virginia  • Brooke County, West Virginia  • Ohio County, West Virginia


Jefferson CountyColumbiana CountyTuscarawas CountyCarroll CountyHarrison CountyGuernsey CountyNoble CountyMonroe CountyHancock CountyGreene CountyMarshall CountyBrooke CountyWashington CountyFayette CountyWestmoreland CountyAllegheny CountyBeaver CountyButler CountyLawrence CountyOhio CountyBelmont CountyStark CountyColumbiana CountyOHJefferson.JPG


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Ohio county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Ohio County Boundary Maps" (1788-1888) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Ohio counties see: Ohio Counties with Burned Courthouses

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Business Records and Commerce

Cemeteries

Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories

Findagrave.com

Family History Library

Findagrave.com

Interment.net

WorldCat

Names in Stone

USGenWeb

Billion Graves

Billion Graves

Epodunk

Ohio Gravestones

Names in Stone

See Ohio Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, view the Ohio Church Records wiki page.

Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Jefferson County, Ohio Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records

Court of Common Pleas
Probate Court

The probate was formed in 1851 and generated many types of documents. Resources containing probate documents are listed under the Probate section of the Jefferson County, Ohio page. Likewise for resources containing naturalization documents see Naturalization. This section focuses on resources containing "the other" documents generated by the probate court; but in some cases a resource (such as a journal) will have entries regarding both probate and "other things".'Note also that the probate court had jurisdiction over the county and justice of the peace records.

  • Ohio, Jefferson County Court Records (FamilySearch Historical Records) This is a wiki article describing and linking to an online collection. As of 15 Nov 2012 this collection only contains probate estate packets, but perhaps more documents generated by the the probate court will be added.
  • 1818-1820s Clerk of Court Justice of Peace Ledger. See Ohio State Archives
  • Probate journal, 1852-1887. FHL film.
Supreme Court
  • 1803-1826 Clerk of Courts Supreme Court Complete Record. 2 Vol. See Ohio State Archives.


Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local histories are available for Jefferson County, Ohio. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Ohio Local Histories.

Local Histories
  • Andrews, J.H., Centennial Souvenir of Steubenville and Jefferson County, Ohio: 1797-1897, (Apollo, Pennsylvania: Closson Press, 2006). FHL film 908200 Item 1
  • Miligan, T.V., History of Jefferson County, Ohio: An Address Delivered at the Centennial Celebration on 4 July 1876, (Westerville, Ohio: F.J. Milligan, 1993). FHL book 977.1 A1
  • Hunter, W.H., Pathfinders of Jefferson County, Ohio, (Ohio: Ohio Archaeological and Historical Society, 1885). Digital copy at Google Books FHL book 977.169 H2p
  • Sinclair, Dohrman J., Pioneer Collection of Jefferson County, Ohio, (Stephens City, Virginia: Commercial Press, 1984). FHL book 977.169 H2si
  • Sinclair, Mary Donaldson, Pioneer Days, (Steubenville, Ohio: M.D. Sinclair, 1962). FHL book 977.169 H2s

You can find many local histories within Jefferson County at www.digitalshoebox.org, which is a website from the Public Library of Steubenville and Jefferson County, Ohio (Schiappa Branch), where they have digitized many of their collection.   This website includes library contributions from all of southeast Ohio.

You can also find much information on the Jefferson County Chapter of the Ohio Genealogical Society website at http://jeffcochapter.com.  Many of the early records of this county have been donated to the chapter, and they are in the process of housing and cataloging these collections.

You can also find much historical and genealogical information at the Jefferson County Historical Museum located at 426 Franklin Ave., Steubenville, OH 43952. Phone 740-283-1133.  Hours of operation vary due to volunteer staff, so please call ahead to make arrangements for tours and library researching.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Jefferson County, Ohio Land and Property Records in online catalogs like:


Maps

Ohjefferson.jpg

Military

  • Civil War
    Civil War service men from Morgan County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Morgan County.
- 98th Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Companies A and D

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Jefferson County, Ohio newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.

To access newspapers, contact public libraries, Ohio Genealogical Society chapters, college or university libraries, the Library of Congress, Google News, or the Ohio Historical Society. The Ohio Genealogical Society Obituary Database is another source of newspaper information.

For more Ohio newspaper information see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Ohio Newspapers.

Online Newspapers 


Online Newspaper Abstracts


Newspaper Extracts and Abstracts in Book Form

The local newspaper is "The Herald-Star" located at 401 Herald Square, Steubenville, OH  43952.  Phone (740) 283-4711.  The website is www.hsconnect.com.  The archive issues of this paper date to 1806, and can be accessed at the Public Library of Steubenville and Jefferson County (Schiappa Branch - Ohio Room).  They are housed on microfilm, and many issues have been indexed.  Some of these indexes are digitized online (including 1892), and others are available at the library.

Obituaries of the recently deceased (last 5-10 years) can also be accessed by visiting the websites of local funeral homes.  A few of these are listed below:

Clarke Funeral Home, Toronto - www.clarkefuneralhome.com

Everhart-Bove Funeral Home - www.everhart-bovefuneralhomes.com

Shorac Funeral Homes - www.shorac.com

Mosti Funeral Home - www.mostifuneralhome.com

J.E. Foster Funeral Homes - www.jefosterfh.com


Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate

Probate records created after 1852 are held by the Jefferson County, Ohio Probate Court. From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. Most counties transferred all records to the Probate Court, but in some circumstances, Court of Common Pleas records should be searched for records prior to 1852. Most records are housed at the Jefferson County, Ohio Courthouse. Some records are on microfilm at the Ohio Genealogical Society and the Family History Library. For more complete information about the location of county probate records see:

See the wiki page Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only).


  • 1790–1940 - Ohio, Probate Records, 1790-1940 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free. This collection consists of records from Jefferson County, Ohio. This collection is being published as images become available. An index is being created in cooperation with the Jefferson County Chapter of the Ohio Genealogical Society and will be published as it becomes available. Currently, (September 2012) the collection includes Probate records from 1797 to 1940, and is only searchable by browsing the images.
  • 1790–1967 - Ohio, Probate Records, 1790-1967 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free. This collection consists of probate records and estate files from county courthouses in Ohio. The content and time period varies by county, with more records being added as they become available. This Collection will include records from 1789 to 1996. Currently, (September 2012) the collection is only searchable by browsing the images. A list of Fires that have destroyed records in the courthouses of several counties are listed on the Record Description page.
  • various years - community contributed wills Courtesy OhioGenWeb Archives
Wills - Index and Abstracts
  • early to 1853 - Daily, Linda. Index to early wills and estates of Jefferson County, Ohio up to 1853. FHL US/CAN Book 977.1 A1 no. 676.
  • 1798-1821 - DiThomas, Mary, Will abstracts taken from will book one, 1798-1821, Jefferson County, Northwest Territory, and the State of Ohio. FHL US/CAN Book 977.1 A1 no. 269.
  • 1821-1836 - DiThomas, Mary E. Will abstracts taken from will book two, 1821-1836, Jefferson County, Ohio. State of Ohio FHL US/CAN Book 977.1 A1 no. 276.
Wills - Images (digital or film)
Administration
  • early to 1818 - DiThomas, Mary E. Early estate administrations, Jefferson County, Ohio, to 1818 : taken from Common Pleas Court journals. FHL US/CAN Book 977.169 P2.
  • 1838-1918 - Administrators' dockets, 1838-1918. FHL film.
  • 1849-1885 - Administrators bonds vols. 1-3, 1849-1885. FHL film.
Executors Bonds
  • 1849-1885 - Executors bonds vol. 1-3, 1849-1885. FHL film
Inventories - Index and Abstracts
  • 1803-1816 - Francy, Leila S. Inventory of estates, Jefferson County, Ohio : books I and II, 1803-1816. FHL US/CAN Book 977.169 P28i.
Inventories - Images (digital or film)
  • 1803-1889 - Inventory of estates, 1803-1889. See FHL catalog.
Guardianship - Index and Abstracts
  • early to 1818 - DiThomas, Mary E. Court appointed, and chosen guardians from Common Pleas Court journals, Jefferson County, Ohio, to 1818 FHL US/CAN Book 977.1 A1 no. 271.
  • 1838-1920 - Guardians' dockets, 1838-1920. FHL film.
  • 1849-1894 - Guardian bonds and letters, 1849-1894. FHL film.
Estate Packets
Final Record Books
Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Jefferson County, Ohio Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

Repositories

See also a List of Ohio Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Courthouse

Jefferson County Courthouse
301 Market Street
Steubenville, OH 43952
Phone: 740.283.8583 

Probate Judge has marriage, probate and naturalization records,
probate and naturalization records; Clerk Court has divorce and 
court records from 1797; County Recorder has land records
from 1797; Board of Health has birth and death records[1]

Family History Centers

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the FHC directory. Put your town name in the top search box.

Libraries
  • Public Library of Steubenville and Jefferson County, Ohio - Schiappa Branch Ohio Room (for genealogical research and history), 4141 Mall Drive, Steubenville, OH 43952. Phone: 740-264-6166
Museums
  • Vivian Snyder Genealogical Library, Jefferson County Historical Museum, 426 Franklin Ave., Steubenville, OH  43952.  Phone (740) 283-1133
Societies

Taxation

  • 1800–1850 Ohio Tax Records, 1800-1850 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free. Name index of tax records as recorded with the County Auditor of each county. Entries are recorded in voucher books, one person per page. The majority of the tax records in this collection are for the years 1816 through 1838. Currently (September 2012) this collection is 17% complete. Additional records will be added as they are completed.
  • 1816-1838 Ohio Tax Records, 1800-1850. FamilySearch Historical Records Collection. As of 12 Nov 2012 only partially digitalized, but on microfilm. Appears that when complete, this collection will cover Jefferson county from 1816-1838.
  • 1835, 1864, 1865, 1869, 1870 See Ohio State Archives.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Jefferson County, Ohio Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Ohio enacted a statute in 1856 -1857 requiring registration of births, deaths and marriages, many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1867 but, again, was not always followed. By 1908, the law was more clearly defined and kept. Any existing birth and death records from 1867 through December 19, 1908 are located at the Jefferson County, Ohio Probate Court. The Ohio Department of Health has birth records filed after December 20, 1908 and death records filed after January 1, 1954 while the Ohio Historical Society houses death records from December 20, 1908 through December 31, 1953.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Jefferson County, Ohio Probate Court with divorce records located with the Jefferson County, Ohio Clerk of Courts.

See also How to order Ohio Vital Records or order vital records electronically online.

Birth

Online Birth Indexes and Records


Original Birth Records on Microfilm

Marriage

Online Marriage Indexes and Records

Original Marriage Records on Microfilm

Death

Online Death Indexes and Records

Finding More Vital Records

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Jefferson County, Ohio Vital Records in online catalogs like:

Original Death Records on Microfilm

Divorce

Web Sites

Places

Populated Places

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  2. Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (Columbus, Ohio: the author, 1981). FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 December 2014, at 17:48.
  • This page has been accessed 15,057 times.