Jefferson County, WisconsinEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Jefferson County Wisconsin ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Wisconsin Gotoarrow.png Jefferson County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Wisconsin
Online Records


Jefferson County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 7, 1836
County Seat Jefferson
Courthouse
Address
Jefferson County Courthouse
320 S Main Street
Jefferson, WI 53549-1718
Phone. 920.674.7140
WI Jefferson.png


Contents

County Courthouse


Jefferson County Courthouse
320 S Main Street
Jefferson, WI 53549-1718
Phone. 920.674.7140

Reg of Deeds has birth and marriage records from 1850,
death record from 1840 and land records from 1838;
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce records from 1851
and court records from 1843; Registrar in Probate has
probate records from 1840 [1]





Historical Facts

Parent County

1836--Jefferson County was created 7 December 1836 from Milwaukee County.  County seat: Jefferson [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Wisconsin Counties see: Wisconsin Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Census

1855 Wisconsin State Census— Free searchable index of 1855 Wisconsin State Census can be viewed on the FamilySearch Record Search This census includes name of head of family, individuals in the household by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.

1885 Wisconsin State Census— Free searchable index of 1885 Wisconsin State Census can be viewed on the FamilySearch Record Search This census includes name of head of family, individuals in the household by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.

Church History and Records

Lutheran
  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Johnson Creek, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Land and Property

Maps

Migration

Military History and Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Jefferson County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Jefferson County.

- 1st Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Companies E, I and L
- 3rd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Companies D, E and K
- 11th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company C

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

For Dodge and Jefferson counties, order newspaper clippings from Dodge/Jefferson Counties Genealogical Society

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries and Museums
County Courthouse
Family History Centers

Societies

Taxation

Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
  • Jefferson County, Wisconsin bride & groom index Thishas a groom and then a bride index and although this is an index the marriage date is given. Contents: [vol. 1]. Vol. A, 1833 (2), 1840-1846 (384), 1851-1855 (10) -- [v. 2]. Vol. B, 1846-1848 -- [v. 3]. Vol. C, 1848-1856 -- [v. 4]. Vol. E, 1852-1867 -- [v. 5]. Vol. F, 1848-1868. Vols. 1-3 bound together as 1 vol.; vols. 4-5 bound together also.
Divorce
Death

Voting Registers

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 757 Lafayette County, Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 December 2014, at 00:04.
  • This page has been accessed 6,940 times.