Jefferson Davis Parish, LouisianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.pngLouisiana Gotoarrow.pngJefferson Davis Parish

Guide to Jefferson Davis Parish Louisiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Louisiana
Online Records


Jefferson Davis Parish, Louisiana
Map
Map of Louisiana highlighting Jefferson Davis Parish
Location in the state of Louisiana
Map of the U.S. highlighting Louisiana
Location of Louisiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded June 12, 1912
County Seat Jennings
Courthouse
LAJeffersonDaviscourthouse.jpg
Adopt-a-wiki page
LaGenWeb logo.gif This page adopted by:
LAGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Parish Coordinator
Jefferson Davis Parish LAGenWeb
Adopt a page today
 

Contents

Parish Courthouse

Jefferson Davis Parish Courthouse
500 East Court Street PO Box 730
Jonesboro, La 71251
Phone: 318-259-2424

Parish Clerk has marrige, divorce, land, probate,military, and court records from 1880.[1]

History

Parent Parish

  • 1912--Jefferson Davis Parish was created 12 June 1912 from Calcasieu Parish.
    Parent seat: Jennings [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Louisiana Parish boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Louisiana Parish Boundary Maps" (1805-1990) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Louisiana Parishes see: Louisiana Parishes with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Parishes or Counties

Resources

Lajeffersondavis.png

Cemeteries

Census

Census Pop.
192018,999
193019,7654.0%
194024,19122.4%
195026,2988.7%
196029,82513.4%
197029,554−0.9%
198032,1688.8%
199030,722−4.5%
200031,4352.3%
Est. 200631,418[2]−0.1%
Jefferson Davis Parish Census Data[3]

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Louisiana denominations, view the Louisiana Church Records wiki page.

Court

Ethnic

African American
American Indian

Indian Village Cemetery Records, Jefferson Davis Parish. FHL film 206299 item 26 WorldCat

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Louisiana Land and Property for additional information about early Louisiana land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse where records are also currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Jefferson Davis Parish, Louisiana. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Louisiana Local Histories. Louisiana Museums

Maps

Military

Louisiana Military History Online

Newspapers


Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Jefferson Davis Parish, Louisiana newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records before 1845 were kept in probate courts. Since 1845, they have been kept by the Jefferson Davis Parish, Louisiana clerk of the district court. Many of the probate records are included in the notarial records with the deeds and mortgages. In some parishes they are known as “succession” records.

See the Wiki page Louisiana Probate Records for more information about probate records in Louisiana.

Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Louisiana Probate Recordsinformation on.

Taxation

Louisiana tax records can be used in place of missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Louisiana Taxation.

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

Louisiana statewide registration of birth and death records began in 1911. Births and deaths are kept by the Louisiana Vital Records Registry. Marriages were recorded by each parish, and the records are at the parish clerk of court office. See also How to order Louisiana Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Louisiana Vital Records for more information on getting Louisiana records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

Louisiana statewide registration of birth and death records began in 1911. Births and deaths are kept by the Louisiana Vital Records Registry. Marriages were recorded by each parish, and the records are at the parish clerk of court office. See also How to order Louisiana Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Louisiana Vital Records for more information on getting Louisiana records.

Louisiana Records and Statistics Information  ~ where and how to order information.

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Louisiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

  • Louisiana Historical Society
  • Louisiana Historical Association
  • Jefferson Davis Parish LibraryJennings Headquarters Branch located at 118 W Plaquemine Street, Jennings, Louisiana. Phone: 337-824-5444.Genealogy room features original collection of bound volumes of voter registration cards circa 1920-1935, Catholic church records compiled by Rev. Donald J. Hebert, and other helpful resources.This library and the Carnegie Public Library are across the street from each other, both have helpful genealogical resources.

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed., Jefferson Davis Parish, Louisiana p 291 (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. United States Census Bureau. "Jefferson Davis Parish Quickfacts". http://quickfacts.census.gov/qfd/states/22/22053.html. Retrieved 2008-02-02. 
  3. United States Census Bureau. "Louisiana Population of Counties by Decennial Census: 1900 to 1990". http://www.census.gov/population/cencounts/la190090.txt. Retrieved 2008-02-02. 


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 22:06.
  • This page has been accessed 5,561 times.