Jennings County, IndianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Indiana Gotoarrow.png Jennings County

Guide to Jennings County, Indiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Indiana
Online Records
County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 27, 1816
County Seat Vernon
Courthouse
Address Jennings County Courthouse
24 N. Pike Street P.O. Box 383
Vernon, IN 47282
Phone: 812.346.5907
Website
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
1882*
1818*
1882*
1817
1818
*For earlier dates,

try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries


Neighboring Counties

Jackson  • Bartholomew  • Decatur  • Ripley  • Jefferson  • Scott

Jennings CountyJackson CountyScott CountyJefferson CountySwitzerland CountyDearborn CountyJohnson CountyOrange CountyCampbell CountyPendleton CountyKenton CountyCarroll CountyHenry CountyScott CountyTrimble CountyOwen CountyGrant CountyGallatin CountyWashington CountyClark CountyButler CountyBoone CountyHamilton CountyMonroe CountyMorgan CountyBrown CountyLawrence CountyShelby CountyBartholomew CountyFranklin CountyDecatur CountyRipley CountyOhio CountyINJennings.JPG

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Records Loss

For a list of record loss in Indiana Counties see: Indiana Counties with Burned Courthouses

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business Records

Cemeteries

Census Records

For tips on accessing Jennings County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.

  • Index to Defective, Dependent & Delinquent Census for Jennings County, Indiana (1880) (members only database, Indiana Genealogical Society)

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.


For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.


Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Jennings County, Indiana Church Records in online catalogs like:


Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogies

Histories

Local Histories
  • Biographical and Historical Souvenir for the Counties of Clark, Crawford, Harrison, Floyd, Jefferson, Jennings, Scott and Washington, Indiana. (Evansville, Ind: Unigraphic, 1972.) FHL US/CAN Film 934899 Item 4 FHL Collection  other libraries   INTERNET ARCHIVE
  • Jennings County Historical Society (Ind.). 2005. Jennings County, Indiana, 1816-1999. (Paducah, KY: Turner Pub.)   other libraries   Google books

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed.

See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents. 


Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Jennings County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:


Maps

Military Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Jennings County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Jennings County.

World War I ( The Great War ), 1914-1918

World War II

  • Jennings County, Indiana World War II Casualties, Army and Army Air Corps (Source: AccessGenealogy)

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.


Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Jennings County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:


Public Records

School Records

Voter Registration

Repositories

See also a List of Indiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Courthouse
Jennings County Indiana Courthouse.jpg
Jennings County Courthouse
24 N. Pike Street

P.O. Box 383
Vernon, IN 47282
Phone: 812.346.5907

County Clerk has marriage and probate records
(in the court house as shown above).
County Recorder has land records.
County Health Department has birth and death records. [3]

The County Recorder and County Health Department are located at 200 Brown Street, Vernon, In 47282

County Recorder's phone number is 812-352-3053.

County Health Department's phone number 812-352-3053.

Archives
Libraries
Museums
Societies
Family History Centers

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the Family History Center directory.

Taxation

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.


For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Jennings County, Indiana Tax Records in online catalogs like:


Vital Records

  • Indiana State Digital Achives for Death, E-Publication, Instiution, Military, Misc Historical, Naturalization Records can be searched by person name (accessed 26 May 2011)
Birth Records
Marriage Records
Death Records

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Jennings County, Indiana Vital Records in online catalogs like:


Places

Web Sites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Jennings County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jennings_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Jennings County, Indiana 214 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/8/8d/Igiindianah.pdf.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 November 2014, at 23:01.
  • This page has been accessed 10,721 times.