Jersey County, IllinoisEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png IllinoisGotoarrow.png Jersey County

Guide to Jersey County Illinois genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Illinois
Online Records


Jersey County, Illinois
Map
Boundary map of Jersey County, Illinois
Map of the U.S. highlighting Illinois
Location of Illinois in the U.S.
Facts
Founded: February 28, 1839
County Seat Jerseyville
Courthouse
Jersey County Courthouse.gif
Photo courtesy Illinois Regional Archives Depository, Illinois State Archives
Address Jersey County Courthouse
200 N. LaFayette
Jerseyville, Illinois 62052
618-498-5571
Jersey County Website

Contents

County Organization

Jersey County's civil records start the following years:

Beginning Dates for Jersey County Records

Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1878
1839
1877
1840
1822
1839

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Jersey County are kept, see the Jersey County Courthouse page.

Historical Facts

Jersey County is named for the state of New Jersey.

Parent County

  • 1839--Jersey County was created 28 February 1839 from Greene County. County seat: Jerseyville [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Illinois county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Illinois County Boundary Maps" (1790-1869) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Illinois counties see: Illinois Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Records and Resources

Biography

Cemeteries

Illinois cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.

  • Find A Grave can be searched by the name of a person or family to find where a person is buried. Usually gives birth and death dates often with a picture of the tombstone. May give obituaries, names of family members and links to their information in Find A Grave.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
18404,535
18507,35462.2%
186012,05163.9%
187015,05424.9%
188015,5423.2%
189014,810−4.7%
190014,612−1.3%
191013,954−4.5%
192012,682−9.1%
193012,556−1.0%
194013,6368.6%
195015,26411.9%
196017,02311.5%
197018,4928.6%
198020,53811.1%
199020,5390%
200021,6685.5%
Est. 200822,6224.4%
Decennial US Census

Church Records

Jersey County has many religious denominations represented.Major denominations include Evangelical Denominations, Catholic Church, American Baptist Churches, Assemblies of God, Christian Church (Disciples of Christ), Christian Churches and Churches of Christ, Church of the Nazarene, Presbyterian Church, United Church of Christ, United Methodist Church. To find more about these denominations and their resources by county, Click here. Few records of churches have have been found in print or online.

Court Records

Original court records are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Court Records for more information about using court records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library.

Directories


Ethnic Research

African American

The following have information concerning African American research.

Genealogy

History

Land Records

Original land records are held in the office of the County Clerk . See Illinois Land and Property for more information about using land records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed online, through the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the University of Illinois at Springfield - search for Jersey County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the UIS IRAD Wiki page.

Online Resources

  • BLM GLO Records. Search original land patents for Jersey County from the Govenment Land Office (GLO) or Eastern States Office. Some searches include images of the original warrants. All search results include the patant details needed for requesting copies of the land entry files at the National Archives. The GLO is the custodian of millions of land title documents. The General Land Office Automated Records Project is responsible for making these important documents available to the public.
  • Illinois Public Land Purchase Records This record extract includes over 538,000 land sales from the 19th Century. Each entry includes the purchaser's name, purchase date, number of acres, price per acre, and in some cases the purchaser's sex and residence. Available at www.ancestry.com ($)
  • Sheldon, Theodore. Land registration in Illinois. Chicago: Callaghan Co., 1901. Digital book. Expains the laws regarding land and the land systems used in Illinois. Includes court cases involving land issues. In addition to being on Ancestry, this book is available online at no cost at Internet Archives and Google Books.


Copies of original records


Additional Resources

Additional resources for Jersey County land and property may be found in the FamilySearch Catalog. Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FamilySearch Catalog may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the Family History Library Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.

Maps

Iljersey.jpg

Military

Civil War

Civil War service men from Jersey County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Jersey County.

- 14th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company F.
- 27th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company D.
- 61st Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies C and D.
- 97th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies H and K.
- 122nd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company C.
- 124th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company C.
- 133rd Regiment, Illinois Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company H.
- 144th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (1 year, 1864-65), Companies F, G and H.
- 154th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company B.

World War I

IRAD holdings:

  • Military discharge records 1918 to 1965
  • Military discharge records index 1918 to 1967

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers and Obituaries

Probate Records

Original probate records are held by the circuit court clerk. Probate records include wills, inventories, settlements, and guardianship records. Some probate records are held at IRAD. Explore how to search IRAD–UIS. The following copies are available in the Family History Library Catalog:

Repositories

See also a List of Illinois Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

County Courthouse

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Jersey County are kept, see the Jersey County Courthouse page.

Family History Center

Jersey County has no family history centers. The nearest center seems to be:

Alton Illinois Family History Center
6500 Humbert Rd
Godfrey, Illinois
Contact: (618) 466-4352
Hours: The center has limited hours in Tuesdays, Thursdays, the first Saturday of the month, and on Wednesdays by appointment.

Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)

IRAD is a system of Illinois Regional Archives Depositories managed by the Illinois State Archives, housing the archival records of local Illinois counties, townships, municipalities and school districts. The seven Regional Depositories are housed on state university campuses scattered throughout Illinois.

The University of Illinois at Springfield (UIS) houses the records for Cass County. The link will help you find and use the records. There address is:

Illinois Regional Archives Depository
LIB144
University of Illinois at Springfield Region
One University Plaza, MS BRK 140
Springfield, Illinois 62703-5407
217-206-6520

Public Libraries

Jerseyville Public Library
105 North Liberty Street
Jerseyville, IL 62052
Phone: (618) 498-9514
Website

The Jerseyville Library has a genealogical collection, some of whichincludes microfilmed copies of censuses for Jersey County and local newspapers. Their Genealogy links contain several links specific to Jersey County.

Social Groups Online

Societies

Taxation

Vital Records

See Illinois Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Illinois. See also How to order Illinois Vital Records or order electronically online.

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Original birth (1878) and death (1878) records are kept by the Jersey County Clerk while those recorded after 1916 are kept by the Illinois Department of Public Health. with a copy to the County Clerk. Original marriage records are kept by the County Clerk from 1839 to the present. Original divorce records are generally in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk.

Copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library and the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Universtiy of Illinois–Springfield(UIS). Search Jersey County records in the Local Governmental Records Holdings Database . For information on how to use IRAD see the IRAD–UIS Wiki page.

Explore Jersey County vital records found in the Family History Library Catalog. Other libraries(at WorldCat) also hold copies of abstracted Jersey County vital records. (How to explore WorldCat).

Birth


For help with using the above IRAD links, click here for how to Use IRAD

Marriage


For help with using the above IRAD links, click here for how to Use IRAD


Death


Jersey County deaths are not in the statewide pre-1916 death index.
For help with using the above IRAD links, click here forhow to use IRAD

Web Sites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), 195. (FHL Collection Ref Book 973 D27e 2002). WorldCat entry.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 22:36.
  • This page has been accessed 6,986 times.