Jigawa State, NigeriaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Jigawa State, Nigeria ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
|This Nigeria-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it.|
InformationJigawa State is a state in central northern Nigeria. Its capital is Dutse.
Jigawa State - created out of the old Kano State in August 1991 - is one of thirty-six States that constitute Federal Republic of Nigeria. It is situated in north-western part of the country between Latitudes 11.00oN to 13.00oN and Longitudes 8.00oE to 10.15oE. Kano State and Katsina State border Jigawa to the west, Bauchi State to the east and Yobe State to the northeast. To the north, Jigawa shares an international border with Zinder Region in The Republic of Niger, which is a unique opportunity for cross-border trading activities. Government readily took advantage of this by initiating and establishing a Free-Trade Zone at the Border town of Maigatari of country of Niger.
The socio-cultural situation in Jigawa State could be described as homogeneous: it is mostly populated by Hausa/Fulani, who could be found in all parts of the State.  Kanuri are largely found in Hadejia Emirate, with some traces of Badawa mainly in its Northeastern parts. Even though each of the three dominant tribes have continued to maintain its ethnic identity, Islam and a long history of inter-marriages have continued to bind them together.
Local Government Areas
- This page was last modified on 10 September 2015, at 14:26.
- This page has been accessed 2,028 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News