Johnson County, ArkansasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Johnson County
Fall by the Mulberry River
Johnson County, Arkansas by Justin Fisher

Guide to Johnson County, Arkansas ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.




Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records






Johnson County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Johnson County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 16, 1833
County Seat Clarksville
Courthouse
Address Johnson County Courthouse
215 W Main Street PO Box 57;
Clarksville, AR 72830
Phone: 501.754.3967


Contents

County Courthouse

Johnson County Courthouse
215 W Main Street PO Box 57;
Clarksville, AR 72830
Phone: 501.754.3967

Record Availability

  • County Clerk has marriage records from 1855 and probate records from 1844.
  • Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, court and land records
  • Extension office has burial records[1]
Beginning years for Johnson County, Arkansas government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1855 1914* 1841 1836 1844
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Government and Related Websites

County Government and other Local Websites
County-clerk.net (unofficial site) Clerks have jurisdiction over birth certificates, death certificates, marriage licenses, land use, land rights, real estate, and other court records. Site provides links to unofficial websites with online records
PublicRecords.com (unofficial site) Provides links to County officials and public records

History

Parent County

  • 1833--Johnson County was created 16 November 1833 from Pope County. County seat: Clarksville [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Arkansas counties see: Arkansas Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Towns in FamilySearch Catalog

Click a town to see what records are listed in the FamilySearch Catalog

Town list from Wikipedia

Name Type Comments
Batson Township
Clarksville City County Seat
Coal Hill City
Dickerson-Hill Township
Gillian Settlement Unicorporated
Grant Township Coal Hill
Hartman City
Hickey Township
Hickeytown Unicorporated
Horsehead Township
Howell Township most of Knoxville
Hunt Unicorporated
Knoxville City
Lamar City
Lee Township
Low Gap Township
McKennon Township
Mulberry Township
Oark Unicorporated
Ozone Unicorporated
Perry Township CDP Hagarville
Pittsburg Unicorporated
Pittsburg Township most of Lamar, small part of Knoxville
Prairie Township small part of Clarksville
Red Lick Township
Sherman Township
Spadra Township most of Clarksville, small part of Lamar
Stonewall Township
Ward Township Hartman

Neighboring Counties

Franklin  • Lonoke  • Madison  • Newton  • Pope

Johnson CountyPope CountyYell CountyLogan CountyFranklin CountyMadison CountyNewton CountySearcy CountyVan Buren CountyConway CountyPerry CountyScott CountySebastian CountyCrawford CountyWashington CountyBenton CountyCarroll CountyBoone CountyMarion CountyARJohnson.JPG

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Online Johnson County, Arkansas cemeteries
from state and national resources
Search for names of people
in Johnson County
Get a list of cemeteries
(then click to names of people)
Find printed records
(Often more complete)
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, enter a name, and click "Search"
  • Billion Graves Enter a name and click "Search" (Statewide. Can search by county, but many with no results.)
  • ARGenWeb Select a county, then "Cemeteries." Some overlap with USGenWeb.

More cemetery lists

Census

Church Records

Church records vary greatly, depending upon the the record keepers and beliefs of the church. They may give: a member's dates of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information, maiden name; and death date. For more information, see Arkansas Church Records.

See also Towns and Townships to find records listed at the town level in the FamilySearch Catalog.

Court

Guardianship

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can 1) place an ancestor in a specific location, 2) provide economic information, 3) reveal family relationships, and more.

After land was transferred to private ownership, transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse in the form of deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, and others.

See Arkansas Land and Property for more about online collections and early Arkansas land grants and patents from the government to private ownership.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

See also Towns and Townships to find records listed at the town level in the FamilySearch Catalog.

  • Langford, Ella Molloy. History of Johnson County, Arkansas : the first hundred years. Clarksville, Arkansas : Johnson County Historical Society (Georgia), 1976, 1981.
History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture.

  • Native American rock art indicate that people lived in this area for at least 10,000 years. At the time of the Louisiana Purchase, the Osage laid claim to the land.
  • 1700-1730s - .Early white settlers started arriving , first by keel boat and later by steamboat; many were likely illegal squatters, who were a constant source of annoyance and complaint to the Cherokee.
  • 1833 November 16 - Johnson County was created.
  • 1920-2010 - The population of Johnson County hit a peak of just over 21,000 in 1920. It then took a dive to just 12,400 in 1960 but has rebounded to 25,500 in 2010.

Maps

Military

Revolutionary War
  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Arkansas, Johnson County on page 191.]
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Collection 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes veterans from this county; Arkansas section begins on page 439.]
Civil War
- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Mounted Rifles (Confederate), Company C
- 16th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company A, B and C
- 26th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company H
- 35th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company I
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Union)[4], Companies D, E, and I

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Johnson County, Arkansas newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Periodicals

  • Johnson County Historical Society Journal published by Johnson County Historical Society.

Probate Records

Probate records of Arkansas have been kept by the probate or county courts. See Arkansas Probate Records for more information about Probate records in Arkansas, including statewide indexes.


  • Probate Records 1845-1949 Part of: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration and executor bonds and letters 1870-1949; Administration bonds and letters 1847-1886; Guardian bonds and letters 1856-1913; Wills 1845-1926.

Taxation

Arkansas tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years for some counties. For more information see Arkansas Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arkansas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth
  • 1861 - Johnson County Birth Index 1861. Batch C586522 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Libraries

Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Johnson County, Arkansas
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. For towns, click here.
WorldCat Click an item for libraries near you. For more information, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Located in Indiana, they are heavily involved in digitizing much of their collection.
Arkansas History Commission Select the county Arkansas state agency involved in organizing, digitizing, and maintaining the records of state and local history.
Local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries may suggest other catalogs

Family History Centers


Societies

  • Johnson County Historical Society operates the Heritage Center and Museum at 131 West Main Street, Clarksville and publishes Johnson County Historical Society Journal.
    • "Among the research materials available at the center are clipping files with data on county families and communities from county newspapers; ... databases of burials in Johnson, Crawford, and Franklin counties...."[7]

Websites


Sites with online indexes or images of records
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
ARGenWeb for Johnson County Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
RootsWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Johnson County, Arkansas
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Social networking sites pertaining to Johnson County, Arkansas
genealogy.com Johnson County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Johnson County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 68.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Desmond Walls Allen, Third Arkansas Union Cavalry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1987), p. 33-92. FHL book 976.7 M28dc
  5. 5.0 5.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0d/Igiarkansasem.pdf.
  6. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.
  7. Johnson County Historical Society by Greta Marlow at the Encyclopedia of History and Culture.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 December 2014, at 18:46.
  • This page has been accessed 10,666 times.