Johnson County, IndianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Indiana Gotoarrow.png Johnson County

Guide to Johnson County Indiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Indiana
Online Records
Johnson County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 31, 1822
County Seat Franklin
Courthouse
Address Johnson County Courthouse
1st Floor;
Franklin, IN 46131
Phone: 317.736.3708
Website
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
1882*
1830*
1882*
1825
1821
*For earlier dates,

try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

  • Parent Counties: Formed from Delaware New Purchase in 1823[1]
  • County Seat: Franklin [2]


Neighboring Counties

Marion  • Shelby  • Bartholomew  • Brown  • Morgan


Jennings CountyMonroe CountyBartholomew CountyJackson CountyBrown CountyJohnson CountyHancock CountyMarion CountyHendricks CountyMorgan CountyOwen CountyPutnam CountyShelby CountyINJohnson.JPG


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

May 1849 and December 1874 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged. For a list of record loss in Indiana Counties see: Indiana Counties with Burned Courthouses


For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business Records

Cemeteries

BillionGraves: Has Google map for each cemetery, searchable database, headstone photos.

Census Records

For tips on accessing Johnson County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.

For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.

Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Johnson County, Indiana Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogies

Histories

Local Histories
  • Banta, D. D. 1970. History of Johnson County Indiana: from the earliest time to the present with biographical sketches, notes, etc. together with a short history of the Northwest, the Indiana territory and the state of Indiana. (Evansville, In: Unigraphic.)   977.2 H2hj FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collection   other libraries   INTERNET ACHIVE   Google books
  • Johnson County, Indiana Biographical Sketches- USGenWeb

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed. See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.

Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Johnson County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Maps

Military Records

  • Johnson Co IN Ancestral Heroes (Military War Heroes) (Source: A: AncestralHeroes.com)
  • List of Pensioners on the Roll January 1, 1883 Johnson County, Indiana (Source: Internet Archive)

Revolutionary War, 1775-1783

Mexican American War, 1846-1848

Civil War

Civil War service men from Johnson County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Johnson County.

Civil War Books

  • "Johnson County And Civil War" Chapter 14 in Branigin, Elba L. 1913. History of Johnson County, (Indiana. Indianapolis, In: B.F. Bowen & Co.), ( page 420-485; diaries and letter written from the front)  other libraries  INTERNET ARCHIVE
  • "Military History" Chapter 9 in Banta, D. D. 1970. History of Johnson County Indiana: from the earliest time to the present with biographical sketches, notes, etc. together with a short history of the Northwest, the Indiana territory and the state of Indiana. (Evansville, In: Unigraphic.), (page 726-837; Regiment, Companies; "Roll Of Honor," page 739-743), 977.2 H2hj FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collection   other libraries   INTERNET ACHIVE   Google books

World War I (The Great War), 1914-1918

World War II, 1941-1945

  • Johnson County, Indiana World War II Casualties, Army and Army Air Corps (Source: AccessGenealogy)

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Johnson County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

School Records
Voter Registration

Repositories

See also a List of Indiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Courthouse

Johnson County Courthouse
1st Floor;
Franklin, IN 46131
Phone: 317.736.3708

County Health Department has birth, death and burial records 1882.
County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1830.
County Recorder has land records. [3]

Archives
Libraries

The Johnson County Museum of History has a Genealogy Library in the basement of the building. Johnson county is storing many original records in this library.

Museums
Societies
Family History Centers

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the Family History Center directory.

Taxation

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.

Tax Books and/or Delinquent List 1843 through 1889 are housed at the Johnson County Museum of History in their Genealogy Library.

For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Johnson County, Indiana Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

  • Indiana State Digital Achives for Death, E-Publication, Instiution, Military, Misc Historical, Naturalization Records can be searched by person name (accessed 26 May 2011)
Birth Records
Marriage Records
Death Records

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Johnson County, Indiana Vital Records in online catalogs like:

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.

For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.


Places  

Web Sites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Johnson County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Johnson_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Johnson County, Indiana 214 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 October 2014, at 16:11.
  • This page has been accessed 12,915 times.