Johnson County, KansasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Johnson County, Kansas genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.

United StatesGotoarrow.pngKansasGotoarrow.pngJohnson County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Kansas
Online Records

Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W / 39.99; -91.19

Johnson County, Kansas
Map
Map of Kansas highlighting Johnson County
Location in the state of Kansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kansas
Location of Kansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded August 30, 1855
County Seat Olathe
Courthouse
Photo courtesy [[]]
Address Johnson County Courthouse
111 S. Cherry Street
Olathe, Kansas 66061-3195
Phone: 913.764.8484

Contents

County Courthouse


Johnson County Courthouse
111 S Cherry
Olathe, KS 66061
Phone: 913.764.8484 ext. 5335

Clerk District Court has divorce and court records from 1861.
Probate Court has marriage and probate. [1]

History

Parent County

1855--Johnson County was created 30 August 1855 as an original county. County seat: Olathe [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Ksjohnson.jpg

Resources

Cemeteries

The Digital Cemetery is a photo-index of grave markers in the cemeteries in Johnson County. Includes complete cemetery transcriptions with photos taken from 2005-2010. Also includes cemetery histories, cemetery maps and diagrams, and searchable indexes with photos of markers and lost cemetery information.

Johnson County Cemeteries
  • Adams Burial Ground (Native American)
  • Antioch Pioneer Cemetery, est. 1872
  • Asa Smith Burial
  • Aubry Pioneer Cemetery
  • Boles Cemetery
  • Campbell Cemetery (aka Indian, Duffner Rd, Fisher Rd, Horse Thief)
  • Corinth Cemetery, est. 1872
  • Cross Cemetery
  • De Soto (Silent City) Cemetery, est. 1871
  • Edgerton Cemetery, est. 1858
  • (Williams) Family Cemetery
  • Four Corners (Mount Pleasant) Cemetery, est. 1879
  • Fuller Cemetery
  • Gardner Cemetery, est. 1857
  • Highland (Nall) Cemetery
  • Johnson County Memorial Gardens, est. 1955
  • Lenexa Cemetery, est. 1872
  • Lexington Cemetery (Removed)
  • Linwood Pioneer Cemetery, est. 1873
  • Maupin Family Cemetery
  • Monticello Cemetery, est. 1899
  • Mt. Calvary Catholic Cemetery, est. 1885
  • Murphy Family Cemetery, est. 1871
  • Oak Lawn Memorial Gardens, est. 1957
  • Olathe Memorial Cemetery, est. 1865
  • Pleasant Ridge Cemetery, est. 1883 (aka Redpath)
  • Pleasant Valley Cemetery (McCamish Twp)
  • Pleasant Valley Cemetery, est. 1881 (Stanley)
  • Pleasant View Cemetery, est. 1895
  • Prairie Center Cemetery, est. 1885
  • Resurrection Catholic Cemetery, est. 1955
  • Shawnee Cemetery, est. 1872
  • Shawnee Indian Cemetery
  • Shawnee Methodist Mission Cemetery
  • Shawnee Mission Memory Gardens, est. 1973
  • Shawnee Town Mock Cemetery
  • Spring Hill Cemetery, est. 1860
  • St Columbia Catholic Cemetery
  • St Columbine Catholic Cemetery
  • St John Catholic Cemetery
  • St Joseph Catholic Cemetery
  • Tomahawk Cemetery, est. 1870
  • Union Cemetery, est. 1884
  • Woodland Cemetery, est. 1874
Animal Cemetery
  • Woolford Farms Horse Cemetery
Lost Cemeteries

The lost cemeteries below were marked on historical atlas maps, mentioned in historic diaries of the period, or mentioned in land records.

  • Baptist Mission Church Cemetery
  • Cedar Junction Cemetery
  • Friends (Quaker) Mission Cemetery
  • Indian Creek Chapel Cemetery (aka Scarrett's Chapel)
  • Lanesfield Cemetery
  • Matthew King Burial Ground
  • Unknown Cemetery (Lexington Twp)
  • Unknown Cemetery (McCamishTwp)
  • Unknown Cemetery (MonticelloTwp)
  • Unknown Cemetery (Oxford Twp)

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Kansas Church Records.

Court

1856-1969 Civil Court Cases indexed on Johnson Co KSGenWeb. Includes accession, location, folder and case numbers. Records are held at the Johnson County Archives

1861-1969 Criminal Court Cases A-F (partial) are indexed on Johnson Co KSGenWeb. Includes accession, location, folder and case numbers. Records are held at the Johnson County Archives

Johnson County Kansas District Court Criminal/Juvenile/Traffic, Civil, and Probate court records; Marriage Licenses.

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kansas Land and Property for additional information about early Kansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Johnson County, Kansas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Kansas Local Histories.

Maps

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Johnson County, Kansas for European and African American settlers included:

Military

     During the Civil War men from this county enlisted in the 2nd Regiment, Kansas Infantry, Companiy C ; 4th Regiment, Kansas Infantry; 5th Regiment, Kansas Cavalry, Company L; 8th Regiment, Kansas Infantry, Companies F and L; 9th Regiment, Kansas Cavalry, Company G; 12th Regiment, Kansas Infantry, Company H; 13th Regiment, Kansas Infantry and  15th Regiment, Kansas Cavalry, Companies A and K.

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Johnson County, Kansas newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Johnson Co KSGenWeb Obituaries, Death Notices, News Articles & Probate Notices Taken from Johnson County, KS Newspapers 1860-1907 (not complete)

Probate

In most counties in Kansas, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Kansas, Johnson and click Probate records.

Johnson County Kansas District Court Criminal/Juvenile/Traffic, Civil, and Probate court records; Marriage Licenses.

Johnson Co KSGenWeb Obituaries, Death Notices, News Articles & Probate Notices Taken from Johnson County, KS Newspapers 1860-1907 (not complete)

Taxation

Kansas tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Kansas Taxation.

1859 Delinquent Taxes indexed on Johnson Co KSGenWeb by township.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Kansas Office of Vital Statistics or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Kansas Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.

Birth Records

The State of Kansas began recording births in 1911. No birth records were kept in Johnson County prior to 1911.

Death Records

The State of Kansas began recording deaths in 1911. No death records were kept in Johnson County prior to 1911.

Divorce Records

1853-1882 divorces are indexed on Johnson Co KSGenWeb and includes the record accession number. Records are held at the Johnson County Archives in Olathe, KS.

Marriage Records

1843-1857 Shawnee marriages at the Shawnee Methodist Mission. Indexed on the Johnson County KSGenWeb site.

1857-1907 marriage registries are indexed on Johnson County KSGenWeb and includes marriage book and page number. Other information may include date, age, residence, presiding official, and location. Browse by bride or groom. Index donated by the Johnson County Archives in Olathe, KS.

Wills

Will records are indexed on Johnson Co KSGenWeb and includes accession, location, volume and page. The records are held in the Johnson County Archives in Olathe, KS.

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers