Johnson County, MissouriEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Johnson County

Guide to Johnson County Missouri genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Missouri
Online Records


Johnson County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 13, 1834
County Seat Warrensburg
Courthouse
Address Johnson County Courthouse
300 N Holden Street
Warrensburg, MO 64093
Phone: 660.747.6161
Johnson County Website

Contents

County Courthouse



County Clerk has birth and death records 1883-1893;
Recorder of Deeds has marriage and land records
from 1835; Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court
records from late 1860’s; Probate Judge has probate
records from mid-1800’s[1]

History

Parent County

1834--Johnson County was created 13 December 1834 from Lafayette County. County seat: Warrensburg [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Cass  • Henry  • Jackson  • Lafayette  • Pettis  •

Henry CountyBenton CountyPettis CountyJohnson CountyBates CountySaline CountyLafayette CountyJackson CountyCass CountyRay CountyClay CountyCarroll CountyMorgan CountyCooper CountyMOJohnson.JPG


Resources

Biographies

Cemeteries

BillionGraves:

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Catholic

St. Patrick, Holden

  • 1869-1876 - St. Patrick, Holden, Baptism Index 1869-1876. Batch C511991 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1869-18?3 - St. Patrick, Holden, Marriage Index 1869-18?3. Batch M511991 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

Sacred Heart, Warrensburg

  • 1871-1876 - Sacred Heart, Warrensburg, Baptism Index 1871-1876. Batch C511811 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1872-1881 - Sacred Heart, Warrensburg, Marriage Index 1872-1881. Batch M511811 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Johnson County, Missouri. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

Maps

Mojohnson.jpg

Map of Johnson County townships (Histopolis)

The University of Missouri Digital Library has digital copies of Missouri county plat books (ca. 1930) for all Missouri counties including Johnson County. The city of St. Louis is not included in this collection.

Military

Civil War
- 4th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company D
- 4th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company E
- 4th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company G
- 5th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company F
- 5th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company G
- 5th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company H
- 16th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company D
- 5th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 6th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company K
- 7th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company G
- Pindall's Battalion, Missouri Sharpshooters - Confederate, Company A
- 40th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 40th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 13th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company H
- 13th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company M

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Johnson County, Missouri newspapers in online catalogs like:


Newspaperarchive.com ($) has historical newspapers available on-line. Their database has Sedalia newspapers from the late 1800's and early 1900's that sometimes included Johnson County residents.

Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
  • 1835-1873 - Johnson County Birth Index, Volumes F and G, 1835-1873. Batch C515281 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriages
Deaths

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Johnson County Historical Society
302 North Main St
Warrensburg, MO 64093
Phone: (660)747-6480
Email curator@jocomohistory.org
Website: http://www.jocomohistory.org/index.html

Web Sites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Johnson County, Missouri
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Johnson County, Missouri
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Johnson County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries


Social networking sites pertaining to Johnson County, Missouri
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Johnson County, MO Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Johnson County Message Board

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Johnson County, Missouri. Page 401 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 3.5 3.6 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d8/Igimissourij.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 June 2014, at 21:10.
  • This page has been accessed 7,110 times.