Jones County, Georgia GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Jones County, Georgia)

United States go to Georgia go to Jones County

Guide to Jones County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Jones County, Georgia
Map of Georgia highlighting Jones County
Location in the state of Georgia
Founded December 10, 1807
County Seat Gray
Address Jones County Courthouse
PO Box 1359
Gray, GA 31032-1359
Phone: 478.986.6671
Jones County Website


County Courthouse

Jones County Courthouse
PO Box 1359
Gray, GA 31032-1359
Phone: 478.986.6671

Probate Court has birth and death records from 1924, along with marriage and probate records from 1811; Clerk Superior Court has land and court records[1]

Clerk of Superior Court
110 S. Jefferson St.
P.O. Box 39
Gray, GA 31032
Telephone: (478) 986-6671
Fax: (478) 986-2030

Probate Court of Jones County
P.O. Box 1090
Gray, GA 31032
Telephone: 478-986-6668
Fax: 478-986-1715

Beginning Dates for Jones County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate



Parent County

1807--Jones County was created 10 December 1807 from Baldwin County.  County seat: Gray [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

No reported loss or damage.[3]


Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Baldwin  • Bibb  • Jasper  • Monroe  • Putnam  • Twiggs  • WilkinsonCounty  •

Jones CountyBaldwin CountyHancock CountyPutnam CountyJasper CountyTaliaferro CountyGreene CountyMorgan CountyNewton CountyHenry CountySpalding CountyButts CountyMonroe CountyLamar CountyUpson CountyCrawford CountyTaylor CountyMacon CountyPeach CountyHouston CountyBleckley CountyDodge CountyLaurens CountyBibb CountyTwiggs CountyWilkinson CountyJohnson CountyWashington CountyGAJones.JPG

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records



Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.



Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Jones County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.




Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Jones County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Jones County, Georgia Genealogy:

- 12th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company B
- 32nd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company A
- 45th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company F
- 66th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company D
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project  (other war's informantion is also given)

  • Williams, Carolyn White. 1957. History of Jones County, Georgia, for one hundred years, specifically 1807-1907. Macon, Ga: J.W. Burke Co. (page 98-162) 975.8567 H2w
  • Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Jones County). 1966. Confederate roster, 1861-1862, and Confederate pension rolls, 1890-1944. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. film 470350
Civil War Battle

The following Civil War battle was fought in Jones County.

Map showing Civil War battles in Georgia.



Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Jones County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).


Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Marriage Records
  • 1811-1895 - Jones County Marriage Index 1811-1895. Batch M713161 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
  • 1864-1882 - Jones County Marriage Index 1864-1882. Batch M713162 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
  • 1875-1893 - Jones County Marriage Index 1875-1893. Batch M713164 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
  • 1879-1895 - Jones County Marriage Index 1879-1895. Batch M713163 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
Death Records
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.



  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Jones County, Georgia. Page 157 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 38. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 November 2015, at 02:28.
  • This page has been accessed 9,592 times.