Jones County, TexasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Texas
Counties IJ
Jones County
Guide to Jones County Texas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Jones County, Texas | |||||||||
| Map | |||||||||
![]() Location in the state of Texas | |||||||||
![]() Location of Texas in the U.S. | |||||||||
| Facts | |||||||||
| Founded | February 1, 1858 | ||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Anson | ||||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||||
| Address | 1100 12th St # 2,Anson, TX 79501 | ||||||||
| |||||||||
Contents |
County Courthouse
Jones County Courthouse
PO Box 552
Anson, TX 79501
Phone: 915.823.3762
County Clerk has birth and death records from 1903,
marriage and land records from 1881 and probate
records from 1882; District Clerk has divorce and
court records[1]
History
The earliest settlement occurred in 1851 with the establishment of Fort Phantom hill, which was abandoned in 1854 and re-established in 1872.
Parent County
1858--Jones County was created 1 February 1858 from Bexar Land District and Bosque County, but was not organized until 1881. [2]
County seat: Originally, Jones City. The town's name was changed to Anson in 1882. [3] [4]
Boundary Changes
See an interactive map of Jones County boundary changes.
Record Loss
Places / Localities
Populated Places
Abilene (mostly in Taylor county) | Anson | Avoca | Hamlin (partly in Fisher county) | Hawley | Lueders (partly in Shackelford county) | Nugent | Stamford (partly in Haskell county)
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| Family History Library | ||
| WorldCat | ||
| |
||
| |
||
| |
| |
| |
| |
| See Texas Cemeteries for more information. | ||
Additional Cemetery Sources
- Jones County Cemeteries ~ TXGenWeb
- Mount Hope Cemetery ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- North Hamlin Cemetery ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- Tombstone Transcription Project ~ Partial transcription of cemetery tombstones ~ USGenWeb
- Texas Historic Cemeteries ~ Partial indexes to historic cemeteries
- African American Cemeteries Online ~ Partial index/transcriptions of African American cemeteries
- Texas Escapes Listing of Texas cemeteries with transcriptions and lots of pictures.
Census
1880 County Census ~ TXGenWeb
Church
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
- Texas Christian Church Directory ~ ChurchAngel
- Catholic Parishes in Texas
Court
Land
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The Family History Library Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
Land Survey Abstract Indices Original Land Owners of TX ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Jones County, Texas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- The First 100 Years of Jones County, 1978, by Hooper Shelton and Homer Hutto.
- Jones County History from the Handbook of Texas Online.
- People and Events in Jones County History ~ TXGenWeb
- Texas Museums ~ List of all museums in Texas ~ Hidden Ancestors
Maps
- Historical Maps ~ From the Republic to the Turn of the Century ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the Texas Genweb site
Military
- CSA Military Pension List ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- Confederate Indigent Families List ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1940 Texas National Guard Unit from Jones County ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- Military Resources ~ Links to research Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Fallen Heroes ~ Partial Index of casualties from Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Honoring Our Veterans ~ Partial index of veterans from Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Jones County, Texas newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a Jones County, Texas Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
- Newspaperarchive.com ($) has historical newspapers available on-line. Their database has digitized Abilene newspapers that may include residents from Jones County.
- Wikipedia has a list of online newspaper archives for Texas.
- Home Town News - Texas Newspaper Index with links
- Newslink - Texas Newspaper List (sorted by publication frequency)
- The Olden Times - Historic Texas News Online
Obituaries
- Jones County Obituary Index ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- Obituary Resources ~ Links to research and locate obituaries ~ Hidden Ancestors
- USGenWeb Archives Obituary Project ~ Texas
- Afrigeneas ~ African American death notices, obituaries and funeral programs compiled by users from current newspapers and historical sources
- Obituary Depot ~ Texas Newspaper Citations
- Obituary Project ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Obituary Daily Times ~ Citations to over 15,000,000 obituaries including interactive search function
Probate
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
- Search Tax, Criminal, Land and Wills Records ~ Ancestry.com (subscription)
Taxation
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Vital Records
- Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 [no images] Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
- Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903. - Texas Marriage Records 1966 - 2005 ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Texas Divorce Records 1968 - 2005 ~ Hidden Ancestors
- USGenWeb Census Project ~ Texas 1850 - 1930
Societies and Libraries
Anson Public Library
1137 12th St
Anson, TX 79501
Phone: (325) 823-2711
Stamford Carnegie Library
600 E Mcharg St
Stamford, TX 79553
Phone: (325) 773-2532
Society Hill ~ Links and addresses to Texas genealogical and historical societies
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- Jones County Archives ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- Jones County ~ TXGenWeb
- TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county.
- Hidden Ancestors Information on Texas genealogy research as well as genealogy research in general.
- USGenWeb Texas Archives Vital statistics, maps, obituaries, Bible records, tombstone transcriptions and many other records.*Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Jones County, Texas. Page 667 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handbook of Texas Online: Jones County http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/hcj09
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Handbook of Texas Online: Jones County http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/hcj09
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 1 May 2013, at 01:45.
- This page has been accessed 1,850 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


