Jones Memorial LibraryEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Virginia Gotoarrow.png Lynchburg Gotoarrow.png Jones Memorial Library

Jones Memorial Library
Jones Library Lynchburg VA.JPG

Contents

Contact Information

E-mail:[1] refdesk@jmlibrary.org

Address:[1]

2311 Memorial Avenue
Lynchburg, VA 24501

Telephone:[1]  (434) 846-0501
Fax:  434-846-1572

Hours and holidays:[1]

Tuesday and Thursdy 1:00 - 9:00 p.m.
Wednesday and Friday 1:00 - 5:00 p.m.
Saturday 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Closed on the following holidays: Memorial day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving Thursday and Friday, Christmas Eve and Day, New Year's Eve and New Year's Day.

Directions, maps, and public transportation:[1] Google Map

Internet sites and databases:

Home. About Us (History, Research, Location, Procedures & Fees, Donate), Lectures, Catalogues, Collections (Family File, Obituaries, Funeral Home records, Censuses, Newspapers, Photographs), links, Contact Information.
Online Catalogues. The Catalogue of Jones Memorial Library is available through LION (Lynchburg Information Online Network). This network provides access to the libraries of Jones Memorial Library, Lynchburg Public Library, and Amherst Public Library, as well as the libraries of Sweet Briar College and Randolph-Macon Woman's College. Be sure to check all instructions on the page following the link, including limiting searches to Jones Memorial Library.

Collection Description

Specializes in genealogy and local history. Although its primary focus is on the central Virginia area, the collection includes a wide variety of materials covering the State of Virginia as well as the surrounding states, including county histories and court records, family histories and genealogies, general works on the Civil War, county land tax and personal property tax records, and census records.

Materials of local interest include microfilmed copies of the Lynchburg newspapers, microfilmed copies of funeral home burial files, architectural archives, city directories, indexes of marriage and death notices, and microfilmed church records.

The Library also houses over 300 manuscript collections, including personal family papers and correspondence, records of clubs and organizations, and business records.[2]

Tips

About Us The catalog has been added to the Online Computer Library Center (OCLC). As a result, the Library book collection, and the manuscript collections and architectural archives, may now be reviewed through online computer networks throughout the world.

Guides

Obituaries from the local area have been indexed for the years 1837 to 1930.
Censuses. Lists the current holdings.
Newspapers. Lists the current holdings.
Historic Photographs and Maps of Lynchburg, VA.

Alternate Repositories

{ List (link to a Wiki article for) at least one or more other repositories that collect overlapping records, or similar family history material including central repositories, affiliated or branch repositories, higher level jurisdiction repositories, parent or daughter jurisdiction repositories. Also list neighboring repositories with similar records. Please briefly explain how each substitute repository is related.}

If you cannot visit or find a source at the Jones Memorial Library, a similar source may be available at one of the following.

Overlapping Collections

  • Alternate Repository {create link for each, and give line or two describing collection}

Similar Collections



Neighboring Collections


Sources

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 1.4 Contact Us at Jones Memorial Library] (accessed 5 November 2012).
  2. fckLRHome at Jones Memorial Library] (accessed 5 November 2012).

{{Navbox |name = Virginia |state = autocollapse |style = width: 100%; |title = Links to Virginia-related articles |titlestyle = text-align: center; |basestyle = background: #EEEEEE; |groupstyle = font-size: 85%; padding:0.22em 0; line-height:1.3em; |liststyle = background: #f3f3f3; font-size: 85%; padding:0.22em 0; line-height:1.3em;

|group1 = Topics

|list1 =

Introduction · African Americans · American Indians · Archives and Libraries · Bible Records · Biography · Cemeteries · Census · Church Records · Court Records · Digital Collections · Directories · Emigration and Immigration · Gazetteers · Genealogy · Heraldry · History · Land and Property · Law and Legislation · Maps · Military Records · Naturalization and Citizenship · Newspapers · Occupations · Online Records · Periodicals · Probate Records · Public Records · Schools · Societies · Taxation · Vital Records · Voting Registers · For Further Reading

|group2 = Counties |list2 = Accomack · Albemarle · Alleghany · Amelia · Amherst · Appomattox · Arlington · Augusta · Bath · Bedford · Bland · Botetourt · Brunswick · Buchanan · Buckingham · Campbell · Caroline · Carroll · Charles City · Charlotte · Chesterfield · Clarke · Craig · Culpeper · Cumberland · Dickenson · Dinwiddie · Essex · Fairfax · Fauquier · Floyd · Fluvanna · Franklin · Frederick · Giles · Gloucester · Goochland · Grayson · Greene · Greensville · Halifax · Hanover · Henrico · Henry · Highland · Isle of Wight · James City · King and Queen · King George · King William · Lancaster · Lee · Loudoun · Louisa · Lunenburg · Madison · Mathews · Mecklenburg · Middlesex · Montgomery · Nelson · New Kent · Northampton · Northumberland · Nottoway · Orange · Page · Patrick · Pittsylvania · Powhatan · Prince Edward · Prince George · Prince William · Pulaski · Rappahannock (New) · Richmond · Roanoke · Rockbridge · Rockingham · Russell · Scott · Shenandoah · Smyth · Southampton · Spotsylvania · Stafford · Surry · Sussex · Tazewell · Warren · Washington · Westmoreland · Wise · Wythe · York

|group3 = Independent
Cities
|list3 = Alexandria · Bedford · Bristol · Buena Vista · Charlottesville · Chesapeake · Clifton Forge · Colonial Heights · Covington · Danville · Emporia · Fairfax · Falls Church · Franklin · Fredericksburg · Galax · Hampton · Harrisonburg · Hopewell · Lexington · Lynchburg · Manassas Park · Martinsville · Newport News · Norfolk · Norton · Petersburg · Poquoson · Portsmouth · Radford · Richmond · Roanoke · Salem · Staunton · Suffolk · Virginia Beach · Waynesboro · Williamsburg · Winchester

|group4 = Extinct
Counties
and Cities
|list4 =

Alexandria County  · Dunmore · Elizabeth City · Fincastle · Illinois · Kentucky · Manchester · Nansemond · Norfolk · Norfolk (Lower) · Norfolk (New) · Norfolk (South) · Norfolk (Upper) · Princess Anne · Rappahannock (Old) · South Boston · Warwick · West Augusta · Yohogania

|group5 = Counties
gone to
Kentucky
|list5 = Bourbon · Fayette · Jefferson · Kentucky (extinct) · Lincoln · Madison · Mason · Mercer · Nelson · Woodford

|group6 = Counties
gone to
West Virginia
|list6 = Barbour · Berkeley · Boone · Braxton · Brooke · Cabell · Calhoun · Clay · Doddridge · Fayette · Gilmer · Greenbrier · Hampshire · Hancock · Hardy · Harrison · Jackson · Jefferson · Kanawha · Lewis · Logan · Marion · Marshall · Mason · McDowell · Mercer · Monongalia · Monroe · Morgan · Nicholas · Ohio · Pendleton · Pleasants · Pocahontas · Preston · Putnam · Raleigh · Randolph · Ritchie · Roane · Taylor · Tucker · Tyler · Upshur · Wayne · Webster · Wetzel · Wirt · Wood · Wyoming

|group7 = Colonial
Parishes

|list7 =

Abingdon · Accomac · Accomack · Albemarle · Amherst · Antrim · Appomattox · Argall's Gift · Augusta · Bath · Beckford · Berkeley · Blisland · Blount Point · Botetourt · Boutracy · Bristol · Bromfield · Brunswick · Bruton · Camden · Cameron · Charles City · Charles · Charles River · Chickacoan · Chickahominy · Chippokes · Chiskiack · Chotank · Christ Church (Lancaster Co.) · Christ Church (Middlesex Co.) · Chuckatuck · Cople · Cornwall · Cumberland · Dale · Denbigh · Dettingen · Drysdale · East · Elizabeth City · Elizabeth River · Fairfax · Fairfield · Farnham · Flowerdew Hundred · Fluvanna · Frederick · Fredericksville · Hamilton · Hampton · Hanover · Harrop · Henrico · Hog Island · Hungars · James City · Jordan's Journey · Kecoughtan · Kingston · King William · Lancaster · Lawnes Creek · Lee · Leeds · Lexington · Littleton · Lower (Elizabeth City Co.) · Lower (Isle of Wight Co.)  · Lower (Lancaster Co.)  · Lower (Nansemond Co.) · Lower (Northampton Co.) · Lower (Stafford Co.) · Lower (Upper Norfolk Co.) · Lower Suffolk · Lunenburg · Lynnhaven · Machodick · Manchester · Marston · Martin's Brandon · Martin's Hundred · Meherrin · Middle Plantation · Middletowne · Montgomery · Mulberry Island · New Poquoson · Newport · Nomini · Norborne · Northampton · North Farnham · Nottoway (Prince Edward Co.) · Nottoway (Southampton Co.) · Nutmeg Quarter · Occohannock · Overwharton · Patrick · Petsworth · Piankatank · Piscataway · Poropotank · Portsmouth · Potomac · Raleigh · Richmond · Rockbridge · Rockingham · Russell · St. Andrew's · St. Anne's (Albemarle Co.) · St. Anne's (Essex and Caroline Cos.) · St. Asaph's · St. Brides · St. David's · St. George's (Accomack Co.)  · St. George's (Spotsylvania Co.) · St. James Northam · St. James Southam · St. James's (Goochland Co.) · St. James's (Mecklenburg Co.) · St. John's · St. Luke's · St. Margaret's · St. Mark's · St. Martin's · St. Mary's · St. Mary's Whitechapel · St. Patrick's · St. Paul's (Hanover Co.) · St. Paul's (King George Co.) · St. Peter's · St. Stephen's (King and Queen Co.) · St. Stephen's (Northumberland Co.) · St. Thomas · Shelburne · Sittenburne · Smith's Hundred · South · Southampton · South Farnham · Southwark · Stafford · Stanley Hundred · Stratton Major · Suffolk · Tillotson · Trinity (Lancaster Co.) · Trinity (Louisa Co.) · Truro · Upper (Elizabeth City Co.) · Upper (Isle of Wight Co.) · Upper (Lancaster Co.) · Upper (Nansemond Co.) · Upper (Northampton Co.) · Upper (Stafford Co.) · Upper Suffolk · Varina · Wallingford · Ware · Warrosquyoake · Warwick · Washington (Westmoreland Co.) · Washington (Washington Co.) · Waters Creek · West · West and Shirley · Westbury · Westover · Weyanoke · Wicomico · Wilmington · York · Yorkhampton

|group8 = Major

|list8 =

Library of Virginia · Virginia Historical Society · Virginia Theological Seminary · Bristol Public Library · Earl Gregg Swem Library at the College of William and Mary · Handley Regional Library · Germanna Foundation · John D. Rockefeller Jr. Library at Colonial Williamsburg · Jones Memorial Library · Mary Ball Washington Museum and Library · Portsmouth Public Library · Roanoke County Public Library · University of Virginia Library · Library of Congress  · National Archives and Records Administration  · National Archives at College Park, Maryland  · National Archives at Philadelphia  · New York Public Library  · Santa Cruz Public Library Downtown


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 January 2014, at 18:57.
  • This page has been accessed 1,770 times.