Josephine County, OregonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Oregon Gotoarrow.png Josephine County

Guide to Josephine County Oregon genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Oregon
Online Records


Josephine County, Oregon
Map
Map of Oregon highlighting Josephine County
Location in the state of Oregon
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oregon
Location of Oregon in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 22, 1856
County Seat Grants Pass
Courthouse
Address Josephine County Courthouse
500 NW 6th Street
Grants Pass, OR 97526
Phone: 541.474.5243
Josephine County Website


Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has marriage and land records from 1857.
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, probate and court records. [1]

Records Held at the Courthouse

  • Record Loss:

Quick Facts

Adopt-a-wiki page
Genealogical Council of Oregon logo.jpg This page adopted by:
Genealogical Council of Oregon
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Josephine County, Oregon


Named for Virginia Josephine Rollins Ort, the first white woman to settle in southern Oregon.

Parent County

22 January 1856: Created from Umpqua County. [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Cities

Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.

Cave Junction | Grants Pass

Communities

Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.

Galice | Fruitdale | Harbeck | Kerby | Merlin | O'Brien | Redwood | Selma | Sunny Valley | Takilma | Waldo | Williams | Wolf Creek

Defunct Post Offices

Almeda | Altamont |

Neighboring Counties

Curry | Douglas | Jackson | California counties: Del Norte | Siskiyou

Trivia Tidbits

Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. > Trivia Tidbits

Resources

Cemeteries

Census

  • 1850
  • 1860
  • 1870
  • 1880
  • 1890
  • 1900
  • 1910
  • 1920
  • 1930

Church History and Records

Court Records

Gazetteers

History

Land and Property

Maps

Orjosephine.jpg

Military

Newspapers

Oregon Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.

Probate

Rivers and Waterways

Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. >> Rivers and Waterways

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Oregon Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Websites

Josephine County Oregon Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Josephine County, Oregon page 573, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. WorldCat 50140092FHL Collection Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 August 2014, at 21:00.
  • This page has been accessed 7,526 times.