Juneau Borough, Alaska GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Juneau Borough, Alaska ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Juneau Borough, Alaska|
Location in the state of Alaska
|Address|| Juneau, City and Borough|
155 South Seward Street
Juneau, Alaska, 99801
Phone: 907-586-5240 http://www.juneau.org/ 
|Beginning dates for major county records|
|*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries|
Neighboring Boroughs and Census Areas
1970: The City of Juneau and City of Douglas were unified into the City and Borough of Juneau.
Juneau, AK Courthouse and Jail Fire, Jan 1898
Jail Delivery At Juneau.
Tacoma, Washington, Feb. 5.-Fire destroyed the Court House and jail at Juneau Sunday night. All records were lost. No one was injured. Fourteen prisoners had to be released and made their escape. Some were recaptured.
The New York Times, New York, NY 6 Feb 1898
Fire At Juneau.
The Government Building and Records are Destroyed.
Victoria, B.C., February 5.-A special from Juneau, Alaska, says: The most severe conflagration that ever occurred in Alaska, next to the burning of Baranoff Castle, the old Russia Capitol building at Sitka March 17, 1894, visited Juneau, January 31.
The Government building and court house, occupying the most conspicuous elevation in the city, was burned to the ground. Nearly all the Government records were lost. A heavy gale was blowing and no fire department on earth, leaving out of consideration the two-hose carts that Juneau has, could have extinguished the castle of roaring fire.
The illumination was seen for forty miles up Lynn Canal, and it lighted up beautifully the surrounding mountains of snow.
The Evening News, San Jose, CA 5 Feb 1898
No Records Destroyed.
Seattle, Feb. 5.-Advices received here to-day from Juneau, Alaska, on the steamer City of Seattle, state that there were no records destroyed by the burning of the court house. The safe containing them was saved. The fire originated in the marshal’s office and was caused by the explosion of a lamp.
Butte Weekly Miner, Butte, ID 10 Feb 1898
Business Records and Commerce
Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden name; and death date.
For general information about Alaska denominations, see the Alaska Church Records wiki page.
The Family History Library also has copies of many Alaskan church records. To find a list in the FamilySearch Catalog, do a Place Search for Alaska, the borough, or the town.
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Local histories are available for Juneau Borough, Alaska Genealogy. Borough histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alaska Local Histories.
Land and Property
The first general land office was established at Sitka, Alaska in 1885. Records of subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, are filed at the office of the district recorder in each judicial district. The Family History Library has not acquired copies of Alaskan land records.
Naturalization and Citizenship
Juneau Borough, Alaska Genealogy newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.
For more Alaska newspaper information, see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Alaska Newspapers.
Probate records of Alaska were kept by the district courts prior to statehood. The superior court now has jurisdiction over probate matters. They are available at the archives and offices mentioned in Alaska Court Records. The Family History Library does not have copies of probate records from Alaska.
An index with about 17,000 probate cases from the district court system from 1884 to 1960 is available online. It is arranged alphabetically. See Alaska Probate Records Index.
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Juneau Alaska Family History Center
- Juneau, Alaska
Family History Centers
Alaska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records. The Family History Library has not filmed Alaska tax records.
Real and personal property tax records are kept at the borough's Assessors office.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Department of Health and Social Services, Bureau of Vital Statistics. This office has birth, death and marriage records since 1890's, though, many before 1930 were not registered with the Bureau. It also has divorce records since 1950. For more information, including how to find earlier records, check Alaska Vital Records.
- Juneau Borough Trails to the Past
- USGenWeb Archives,
- Juneau GenWeb Project, Alaska's Capital City.
- FamilySearch FamilySearch Catalog
- This page was last modified on 11 December 2015, at 21:45.
- This page has been accessed 4,834 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News