Juneau County, Wisconsin GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Juneau County, Wisconsin)

Guide to Juneau County Wisconsin ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Wisconsin Gotoarrow.png Juneau County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Wisconsin
Online Records



Juneau County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded October 13, 1856
County Seat Mauston
Courthouse
Address
Juneau County Courthouse
220 E State Street
Mauston, WI 53948;
Phone. 608.847.9300
WI Juneau.png

Contents

County Courthouse


Juneau County Courthouse
220 E State Street
Mauston, WI 53948;
Phone. 608.847.9300

Register of Deeds has birth, marriage and death records from 1880
and land records from 1854; Clerk Court has divorce and court records;
Regstrar in Probate has probate records[1]


Historical Facts

Parent County

1856--Juneau County was created 13 October 1856 from Adams County. County seat: Mauston [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Wisconsin Counties see: Wisconsin Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Adams  • Columbia  • Jackson  • Monroe  • Sauk  • Vernon  • Wood

WI JUNEAU.JPG

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Census

Church History and Records

Court Records

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Land and Property

Maps

Migration

Military History and Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Juneau County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Juneau County.

- 6th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company K
- 10th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Companies E and H

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries and Museums
County Courthouse
Family History Centers
  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Societies

Taxation

Vital Records

Birth Records
Marriage Records
Divorce Records
Death Records

Voting Registers

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 757 Juneau County, Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 13 April 2015, at 21:19.
  • This page has been accessed 7,372 times.