Kalawao County, HawaiiEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Kalawao County County, Hawaii ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Kalawao County, Hawaii|
Location in the state of Hawaii
Location of Hawaii in the U.S.
|Address|| Kalawao County Courthouse|
Isle of Molokai
Kalawao County Website
- Parent County: created in 1905 from Maui County.
- County seat: Kalaupapa 
- Neighboring Island: Maui
The county is on the Kalaupapa Peninsula, on the north coast of the island of Moloka'i. The small peninsula of Kalaupapa is isolated from the rest of Moloka'i by sea cliffs over a quarter-mile high — the only land access is a mule trail.
Kalawao County is a separate county from the rest of Moloka'i, which is part of Maui County. Maui County does not claim jurisdiction over the three villages of Kalaupapa, Kalawao, and Waikolu. Some maps, however, do not show Kalawao as a separate county.
The county is coextensive with the Kalaupapa National Historical Park, and encompasses the Kalaupapa Settlement where the Kingdom of Hawaii, the territory, and the state once exiled persons suffering from leprosy (Hansen's disease) beginning in the 1860s. The quarantine policy was lifted in 1969, after the disease became treatable on an outpatient basis and could be rendered non-contagious. However, many of the resident patients chose to remain, and the state has promised they can stay there for the rest of their lives. No new patients or other permanent residents are admitted.
For tips on accessing Kalawao County, Hawaii census records online, see: Hawaii Census.
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Hawaii denominations, view the Hawaii Church Records wiki page.
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political and Religious Groups
Local histories are available for Kalawao County, Hawaii. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Hawaii Local Histories.
Land and Property
Naturalization and Citizenship
State Health Department has marriage, death, birth, wills, probate and land records.
Kalawao does not have a county government. The only law enforcement is a local resident selected by the State Department of Health, which administers the county.
Family History Centers
|Centers provide: • Personal one-on-one assistance • Access to genealogical records through the Internet or microfilm loan program • Free how-to classes (varies by location). See Family History Centers for more information.|
Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. The State office has some records as early as 1853 up to the present. See the State of Hawaii, Department of Health website for information on acquiring the records and any restrictions.
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Kalawao County, Hawaii Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
Unincorporated Communities: Kalauppa | Kalawao | Waikolu
- This page was last modified on 21 November 2014, at 17:50.
- This page has been accessed 3,510 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More