Kalmar County, SwedenEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSweden Gotoarrow.pngKalmar County


Guide to Kalmar County, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Back to Sweden


Contents

History

Kalmar County was created with the County organization of 1634, but did not have its current borders until the 1700’s. In many ways the County was divided in two areas a northern and a southern half until the 1970’s. The northern half had Västervik as its capital with Kalmar city as a capital for the southern half.

Kalmar County belongs to Småland Province.

The county letter for Kalmar is: H


Tools

  • Maps
  • Kalmar Word List

Districts

  • Aspelands härad
  • Handbörds härad
  • Norra Möre härad
  • Sevede härad
  • Stranda härad
  • Södra Möre härad
  • Tjusts härad
  • Tunaläns härad
  • Åkerbo härad
  • Ölands norra mots härad
  • Ölands södra mots härad


Parishes




News
  • (Latest news for research in Kalmar here)

more... 

Topics
  • Archives
  • Economy
  • Geography
  • Historical Timeline
  • Language
  • Military
FamilySearch Indexing


FamilySearch Forums




 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 December 2014, at 14:59.
  • This page has been accessed 4,506 times.