Kane County, IllinoisEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png IllinoisGotoarrow.png Kane County

Guide to Kane County Illinois genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Illinois
Online Records


Kane County, Illinois
Map
Map of Illinois highlighting Kane County
Location in the state of Illinois
Map of the U.S. highlighting Illinois
Location of Illinois in the U.S.
Facts
Founded: January 16, 1836
County Seat Geneva
Courthouse
Kane County Courthouse.gif
Photo courtesy Illinois Regional Archives Depository, Illinois State Archives
Address Kane County Courthouse
719 South Batavia Avenue
Geneva, Illinois 60134
(630)232-5950
Kane County Website

Contents

County Organization

Kane County's civil records start the following years:

                                     Beginning Dates for Kane County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1877
1836
1877
1840
1836
1836

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Kane County are kept, see the Kane County Courthouse page.

Historical Facts

Elias Kent Kane.jpg

Kane County is named for Elias Kent Kane who helped draft the Illinois constitution and was the first Secretary of State.

  • The Illinois General Assembly, established the borders of Kane County January 16, 1836, as: "...Commencing at the northeast corner of Township No. 42 north, Range No. 8 east of the third principal maridian and running thence south to the southeast corner of Township No. 37, in the range aforesaid; thence west to the southeast corner of Township No. 37, Range No 2 east of the third principal meridian; thence nort with the range line between 2 and 3 to the northern boundary line of Township No. 42; thence east along said line to the place of beginning, shall constitute a county to be called Kane."Commemorative, Biographical

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Illinois county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Illinois County Boundary Maps" (1790-1869) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Prior to County Formation

County Formation and After

For more information see Origin and Evolution of Illinois Counties or Kane County Fact Sheet (Illinois State Archives). For interactive county boundary maps see Illinois County Boundaries, 1790-Present, Illinois Historical Counties

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Illinois counties see: Illinois Counties with Burned Courthouses

1890 -- Courthouse destroyed by fire, March 13, 1890.  The records of the recorder's office, the county clerk, and the circuit clerk were locked in fire-proof vaults and were not damaged. [1]

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Townships

Aurora | Batavia | Big Rock | Blackberry | Burlington | Campton | Dundee | Elgin | Geneva | Hampshire | Kaneville | Plato | Rutland | St. Charles | Sugar Grove | Virgil

Cities and Towns

Algonquin (partly in McHenry county | Aurora (partly in DuPage, Kendall and Will counties) | Barrington Hills | Bartlett (mostly in DuPage and Cook counties) | Batavia (partly in DuPage county) | Big Rock | Burlington | Campton Hills | Carpentersville | East Dundee | Elburn | Elgin (partly in Cook county) | Geneva | Gilberts | Hampshire | Hoffman Estates (mostly in Cook county) | Huntley (partly in McHenry county) | Kaneville | Lily Lake | Maple Park (partly in DeKalb county) | Montgomery (partly in Kendall county) | North Aurora | Pingree Grove | St Charles | Sleepy Hollow | South Elgin | Sugar Grove | Virgil | Wayne (partly in DuPage county) | West Dundee

Communities

Allens Corners | La Fox | Mooseheart | Plato Center | Starks | Wasco

Neighboring Counties

Records and Resources

Biography

  • The Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois has a Kane County edition. This includes a state history section along with a county history and biographies of Kane County residents. See the wiki article for links to available copies and indexes.

Cemeteries

Cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, military information, and religious affiliation. 

  • The Kane County Genealogical Society's Master Every Name Index includes cemetery inscriptions from over fifty local cemeteries.
Published Records Online Gravestone Transcriptions Cemetery Gazetteers
FamilySearch Catalog indexes; FamilySearch Catalog Find A Grave County list ePodunk
WorldCat USGenWeb Kane County Tombstone Transcriptions ISGS Cemetery Location Project

Census

Federal 

State

  • 1865 State Census was indexed by the Kane County Genealogical Society.
  • The census index was published in The Index to the Kane County, Illinois, 1865 State Census. Geneva, IL: 2000.
  • The index is available in the Master Every Name Index located at the Kane County Genealogical Society. http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~ilkcgs/mast_name_index.html
1840 Pensioners
  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. Washington, D.C., 1841. FHL 973 X2pc 1840; FHL 2321; digital version at Google Books. [See Illinois, Kane County on page 187.]

Church Records

Church records may give birth, death and marriage information. It is usually best to locate church records with a search at a local level such as the city, town, or village.


Catholic

Catholic Church records may be located with the Diocese of Rockford, Chancery Office, P.O. Box 7044, Rockford, IL 61126, Phone: (815) 962-3709, Fax: (815) 968-2824.

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

  • 1936–1948 Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Aurora Branch (Illinois). Record of Members, 1936–1942; Annual Genealogical Report, Form E, 1937–1948. Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1951. The Aurora Branch included members living in Cook, DeKalb and Kane Counties, Illinois. FHL film 7693
  • 1936–1948 Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Batavia Branch (Illinois). Record of Members, 1936–1948; Annual Genealogical Report, Form E, 1937–1948. Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1951. The Batavia Branch, which was discontinued in 1957, included members living in Cook, DuPage, and Kane Counties, Illinois. FHL film 7695

Court Records

Original court records are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Court Records for more information about using court records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at Northern Illinois University - search for Kane County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the NIU IRAD Wiki page.

Copies of Original Records

  • 1836-1870 Circuit Court Case Files Index, 1836–1870 at Illinois State Archives
  • 1836-1870 Circuit Court Case Files IRAD-NIUThe Kane County Circuit Court Case Files include chancery, criminal and common law proceedings. Documents include summonses, affidavits of witnesses, subpoenas, bonds, receipts, depositions, declarations, decrees and orders of the court, jury and witness lists, indictments, warrents, writs of habeas corpus, verdicts, dismissals and transcripts of coroner's inquests (from the Illinois State Archives web site)
  • 1881-1884 County Court Dockets IRAD-NIU

Abstracts

Aurora

Elgin

Ethnic Research

African American

The following have information concerning African American research.

History

There are 5 county histories in 6 volumes.

  • The Past and Present of Kane County, Illinois. Chicago: LeBaron and Company, 1878.
  • Commemorative, Biographical and Historical Record of Kane County, Illinois. Chicago: Beers, Leggett & Co., 1888.
  • Biographical Record of Kane County, Illinois. Chicago: S. J. Clarke Publishing Company, 1898.
  • Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Kane County edited by Newton Bateman, et.al. Chicago: Munsell Publishing Company, 1904
  • History of Kane County, Illinois. Volumes I & II by R. Waite Joslyn & Frank W. Joslyn. Chicago:

The Pioneer Publishing Company, 1908.The indexes for all 5 Kane County histories (6 volumes) are part of the Master Every Name Index located at the Kane County Genealogical Society. http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~ilkcgs/mast_name_index.html

Land and Property

Original land records are held in the office of the County Clerk . See Illinois Land and Property for more information about using land records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed online or through the Family History Library.

Abstracts

  • Family maps of Kane County, Illinois with homesteads, roads, waterways, towns, cemeteries, railroads and more FHL book 977.323 E7b
  • Kane County (Illinois) land atlas and plat book, 1986 FHL book 977.323 E7k
  • Abstractions from the Valley chronicle and the St. Charles chronicle, 1895-1899 (some land records)FHL film 1674468 Item 35

Online Resources

Maps

Ilkane.jpg

Military

Civil War

Civil War service men from Kane County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Kane County.

- 7th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (3 months, 1861), Company A.
- 7th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company A.
- 8th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Companies A, B, and I.
- 13th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company H.
- 13th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company H.
- 15th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Companies G, H, I, and K.
- 16th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company H.
- 17th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company B.
- 36th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies A, B, F and K.
- 42nd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company I.
- 52nd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies A, D, H, I and K.
- 55th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company E.
- 58th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies A, G, and I.
- 89th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies E and K.
- 105th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company G.
- 124th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies B and H.
- 127th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies C, E, and I.
- 132nd Regiment, Illinois Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company C.
- 141st Regiment, Illinois Infantry (100 days, 1864), Companies A, B, C, D, G, I and K.
- 153rd Regiment, Illinois Infantry (1 year, 1865), Company C.
- 156th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies B and F.

Grand Army of the Republic; Veteran Post 49; Elgin, Illinois; Member Roster with links to obituaries at www.elginroots.com/v4/GAR/index.html.

Naturalization

Naturalization facts for Kane County, Illinois:

  • 4 courts processed naturalizations in Kane County: the Aurora Court, the Kane County Court, the Elgin Court and the Kane County Circuit Court.
  • 1965 - all records were moved to the Kane County Circuit Court.
  • 162 volumes of records exist at the Kane County Circuit Court
  • 1853 – earliest record
  • 1954 – latest record
  • 40,000+ Declarations and Final Papers were processed
  • 2000 pages of extracted information were developed by the Kane County Genealogical when they indexed the naturalizations for the Kane County Circuit Court in the 1980s.
  • 4 indexes were developed: Applicant index, Spouse index, Child index and Witness index
  • All indexes are available in the Master Every Name Index located at the Kane County Genealogical Society. http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~ilkcgs/mast_name_index.html

Naturalization Records

Newspaper

An on-line index of Elgin area newspaper articles from the Courier News & Daily Herald is available on the Gail Borden Library website. This index includes information pulled for the historical papers as well as current.

Probate

Probate Facts for Kane County, Illinois:

  • In 1993 the Kane County Circuit Court microfilmed the Probate and Guardianship packets and gave the original packets to 12 county historical societies.
  • The Circuit Court retained a copy of the microfilm.
  • 36,000 Probate and Guardianship packets were distributed.
  • Dates started in the late 1830s and included some as late as the 1970s.
  • Index to Kane County, Illinois, Probate and Guardianship Records Located in Local Historical Societies was published in 2003 by the Kane County Genealogical Society and can be found in genealogical library collections.
  • The index is part of the Master Every Name Index located at the Kane County Genealogical Society.  http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~ilkcgs/mast_name_index.html

Probate Records

Elgin

The Elgin Genealogical Society has created a Probate Records Index online. The Elgin Historical Society has the probate papers and you may send a query to them at the Elgin Genealogical Society, P.O. Box 1418, Elgin, Illinois 60121-1418. Please check the Research Assistance Policy before sending a query.

Public

Repositories

See also a List of Illinois Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

County Courthouse

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Kane County are kept, see the Kane County Courthouse page.

Family History Centers

Family History Centers (FHCs) are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah (United States) and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources to assist you in the research and study of your genealogy.

You may search your address for a center near you on the FamilySearch site.

Currently there are no Family History Centers located directly in Kane County. The following centers are located in surrounding counties. Their wiki pages may supply hours and other information.

Naperville Illinois Family History Center
1320 Ridgeland Road
Naperville, Illinois
Telephone:(630) 505-0233
Westchester Illinois Family History Center
1550 S Haase Road
Westchester,Illinois
Telephone: (708) 409-8412
Schaumburg Illinois Family History Center
1320 W. Schaumburg Road
Schaumburg, Illinois 60194
Telephone: (847) 885-4130
Dekalb Illinois Family History Center
675 Fox Avenue
Sycamore, Illinois 60178
Telephone: (815) 895–0702

Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)

The Illinois Regional Archives Depositories (IRAD), managed by the Illinois State Archives, houses the archival records of local Illinois counties, townships, municipalities and school districts. The seven Regional Depositories are housed on state university campuses scattered throughout Illinois.

The Northern Illinois University (IRAD-NIU) holds the records for Kane County. Learn more about finding and using their records.

Illinois Regional Archives Depository
c/o Regional History Center
Founders Memorial Library, Room 400
Northern Illinois University
DeKalb, IL 60115
Telephone: (815) 753-1807

Public Libraries

The following Kane County libraries have collections of specific interest to genealogists.

Aurora Public Library 
1 E. Benton St.
Aurora, Illinois 60505 
(630) 264-4100

Gail Borden Public Library District
270 N. Grove Ave.
Elgin, Illinois 60120
(847) 742-2411

Their genealogy collection concentrates on Elgin and Kane County, Illinois, but contains materials for other localities. The collection includes microfilm of the early Elgin Death Records and a card file to vital records information contained in the Watch Word. The Watch Word was a coporate newsletter published by the Elgin Watch Factory.  The Vital Records Surname (i.e., last name) search provides a way to find obituaries, birth notices, and marriage announcements listed in Elgin newspapers.

Social Groups Online

Societies

Elgin Area Historical Society
360 Park St.
Elgin, Illinois 60120
Phone: 847-742-4248

The Elgin Area Historical Museum is a genealogical gem for those with Elgin, Illinois roots. There you will find original probate and divorce records for Kane County, Elgin Township, some Elgin mortuary records, a vertical file of surnames researched by the Elgin Genealogical Society, Elgin histories, business directories, phone books, memoirs and more. The museum is also strong in Elgin Watch holdings and general Elgin history.

Elgin Genealogical Society
PO Box 1418
Elgin, IL 60121-1418

The Elgin Genealogical Society was formed in 1972, and has been working since then to assist their members and the genealogical community with their research.  The society currently is working to index all the back issues of Elgin area newspaper, in cooperation with the Gail Borden Public Library.

The website contains the following databases:


Kane County Genealogy Society has created a Master Name Index with 800,000 names of people in the following records of Kane County.

  • Kane County Naturalization, Marriage, Guardianship, and Probate records
  • All 5 county histories dating from 1878 to 1908
  • Census records, including the 1840, 1850, 1860 federal censuses and the 1865 Illinois state census
  • Cemetery inscriptions from over 50 county cemeteries
  • Community and organization histories
  • Kane County Gazeteers and church histories
  • School, bible and funeral home records

The query fee for these records is $15 per hour. This fee will cover a search for a husband and his wife (including her maiden name). An additional fee of $1.50 will be added for postage. Send your request to: KCGS P.O. Box 504 Geneva, IL 60134 Attention: Computer Search

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Illinois Vital Records or order electronically online.

Kane County vital records for genealogical purposes are provided by the County Clerk. They are defined as follows:

  • Birth records over 75 years
  • Marriage records over 50 years
  • Death certificate records of more than 20 years

Fill out the Vital Record Certified Copy Request form and send the application to: Kane County Clerk, Attn: Vital Records, 719 S Batavia Ave, Bldg B, Geneva, Illinois 60134. Remember to include the cost of the record:

  • Birth--$11 and $4 for each additional copy
  • Marriage--$11 and $4 for each additional copy
  • Death--$13 and $6 for each additional copy

Birth

Marriage

Online Resources

Divorce

Death

Online Resources

Aurora
Elgin

Web Sites

References

  1. Geneva, IL Kane County Courthouse Fire, Mar 1890 http://www3.gendisasters.com/illinois/10117/geneva-il-courthouse-fire-mar-1890

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 July 2014, at 16:34.
  • This page has been accessed 22,196 times.