Kano, NigeriaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Nigeria Gotoarrow.png Kano State, Nigeria

Guide to Kano State, Nigeria ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.


Contents

Information

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Kano
Kano is the second largest city in Nigeria after Lagos and is the capital of Kano State. Kano is located in Northern Nigeria and has an estimated population in 2009 of 3,626,068 [2] The principal inhabitants of the city are the Hausa people. Like in most parts of Northern Nigeria the Hausa Language is widely spoken in Kano. The city's traditional ruler is the Emir of Kano, and the current Emir, Ado Bayero, has been on the throne since 1963.

Foundation and Hausa rule

In the 7th century, Dala Hill, a hill in Kano, was the site of a group of a community that engaged in iron-working; it is unknown whether these were Hausa people or speakers of Niger-Congo languages.[1] Kano was originally known as Dala, after the hill, and was referred to as such as late as the end of the 15th century and the beginning of the 16th by Bornoan sources.

Resources

Websites

References


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 December 2014, at 21:44.
  • This page has been accessed 805 times.