KansasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Kansas

Guide to Kansas ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

News and Events
Kansas Genealogical Society meetings and seminars
Kansas Topics
Moderator
Shelleyaerickson
Find us on
Facebook

Ask a question
Learn what's new
Build the community


National Soldiers' Home Western Branch at Leavenworth, Kansas about 1909.

Welcome to the Kansas page,
the Sunflower State

Most unique genealogical features:
   How to Find Information about Kansas Ancestors
 

1. Birth Information
2. Marriage Information
3. Death Information

Counties

Click on the map below to go to a county page. Hover over a county to see its name. To see a larger version of the map, click here.
Cheyenne CountyRawlins CountyDecatur CountyNorton CountyPhillips CountySmith CountyJewell CountyRepublic CountyWashington CountyMarshall CountyNemaha CountyBrown CountyDoniphan CountyAtchison CountyJackson CountyPottawatomie CountyRiley CountyClay CountyCloud CountyMitchell CountyOsborne CountyRooks CountyGraham CountySheridan CountyThomas CountySherman CountyWallace CountyLogan CountyGove CountyTrego CountyEllis CountyRussell CountyLincoln CountyOttawa CountyEllsworth CountySaline CountyDickinson CountyGeary CountyMorris CountyWabaunsee CountyShawnee CountyJefferson CountyLeavenworth CountyWyandotte CountyJohnson CountyDouglas CountyMiami CountyFranklin CountyOsage CountyLyon CountyCoffey CountyAnderson CountyLinn CountyChase CountyMarion CountyMcPherson CountyRice CountyBarton CountyRush CountyNess CountyLane CountyScott CountyWichita CountyGreeley CountyHamilton CountyKearny CountyFinney CountyHodgeman CountyPawnee CountyStafford CountyReno CountyHarvey CountyButler CountyGreenwood CountyWoodson CountyAllen CountyBourbon CountyCrawford CountyCherokee CountyLabette CountyNeosho CountyWilson CountyMontgomery CountyElk CountyChautauqua CountyCowley CountySumner CountySedgwick CountyKingman CountyHarper CountyBarber CountyPratt CountyEdwards CountyKiowa CountyComanche CountyClark CountyFord CountyGray CountyMeade CountyHaskell CountySeward CountyGrant CountyStevens CountyMorton CountyStanton CountyKansas-county-map.gif


Extinct, Renamed, or Ceded Counties: Arapahoe (1855) | Arapahoe (1883) | Billings | Breckenridge | Broderick | Buffalo | Calhoun | Davis | Dorn | El Paso | Foote | Fremont | Garfield | Godfrey | Howard | Hunter | Kansas | Lykins | Madison | McGee | Montana | Oro | Otoe | Peketon | Richardson | Sequoyah | Seward (old) | Shirley | St. John | Washington (old) | Weller | Wise
Kansas.png

 Major Repositories

Kansas Historical Society · Kansas Genealogical Society · Kansas Department of Health and Environment · Topeka Genealogical Society · Iola Public Library · American Historical Society of Germans from Russia · National Orphan Train Complex · Wichita State University Library · Wichita Public Library Genealogy Center  · University of Kansas Library · National Archives Central Plains Region (Kansas City) · National Archives I · Family History Library

Migration Routes

Abilene Trail · California Trail · Cherokee Trail · Chisholm Trail · Great Western Cattle Trail · Jones and Plummer Trail · Leavenworth Pike's Peak Express · Mormon Trail · Oregon Trail · Santa Fe Trail · Smoky Hill Trail · Texas Road or Shawnee Trail · Atchison, Topeka, and Santa Fe Railway

Featured Content

The Kansas Historical Society holds one of the largest newspaper collections in the United States. They have almost every newspaper that was printed in Kansas (well over 61,000 volumes) and more than 12,000 out-of-state-volumes. These papers are in the Newspaper and Census Division, and many are on microfilm.

 Research Tools


Wiki articles describing online collections are found at:

Did You Know?

  • The Kansas Historical Society at http://www.kshs.org/ has several important facilities for genealogists. The Reference Library houses printed materials and the Department of Archives maintains original records of Kansas government jurisdictions, newspapers, and other historical documents. The Manuscript Department has unpublished papers, maps, and photographs.
  • The Kansas Historical Society announced the launch of Kansas Memory, an ongoing digital project. This online site will feature the largest collection of photographs and manuscripts from Kansas history.
  • Before 1900 the largest religious groups in Kansas were the Methodist-Episcopal, Catholic, Baptist, Presbyterian, and Disciples of Christ. Read more about the availability of church records in the Kansas Church Records article.
    Kansas flag.png

Obtain additional help

Help with the Kansas Wiki pages

Wiki Volunteers Wanted

In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need willing volunteers. You can help:

  • Expand county articles
  • Check links on pages
  • ...and more

Find more opportunities to help with the Kansas pages.


To add your knowledge and help expand the wiki click here:


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 December 2014, at 03:05.
  • This page has been accessed 24,600 times.