Kansas CensusEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  U.S. Census  Gotoarrow.png  Kansas  Gotoarrow.png  Census

Contents

Tips
  • If at first you don't find a name, try again under another spelling.
  • Photocopy each ancestor's census. Identify where you found it.
  • Look for an ancestor in every census during her or his lifetime.
  • On the family group record show each person's census listings.
  • Study others in the same household, neighbors, and anyone with the similar names nearby on the census in community context.


  • For a list of the exact date of each federal census, click here.

Online Kansas indexes and images

1900-1940

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of Kansas 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
1940 indexes Link - Link
Link
- - Link Link Link Link -
images Link - Link
Link
Link
- - Link Link Link - Link
1930 indexes Link - - Link Link Link Link Link Link
images - Link - Link Link Link Link Link - Link
1925 State indexes - - - - - Link Link Link
images - - - - - Link Link Link
1920 indexes Link - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images - Link - Link - Link Link Link Link
1915 State indexes - - - - - Link Link Link
images - - - - - Link Link Link
1910 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images - Link - Link - Link Link Link Link
1905 State indexes - - - - - Link Link Link - -
images - - - - - Link Link Link
1900 indexes Link Soundex - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link Link

1870-1855

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of Kansas 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
1895 State indexes - - Link  - - Link Link Link - -
images - - - - - Link Link Link
1885 State indexes - - - - - Link Link Link
images - - - - - Link Link Link
1880 indexes Link Soundex - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images - Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1875 State indexes - - - - - Link Link Link - -
images - - - - - Link Link Link - -
1870 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link

1855-1865

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of Kansas 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
1865 State indexes - - - - - Link Link Link - -
images - - - - - Link Link Link - -
1860[8] indexes Link - Link  Link Link  Link  Link  Link Link
images Link Link - Link  Link Link Link Link - Link
1859 Territorial indexes - - - - - Link Link Link - -
images - - - - - Link Link Link - -
1857 Territorial indexes - - - - - Link Link Link - -
images - - - - - Link Link Link - -
1855 Territorial indexes - - - - - Link Link Link - -
images - - - - - Link Link Link - -
  Family Search Internet Archive Misc.  Heritage Quest Fold3 Ancestry FHL  Ancestry Library  Ancestry Home Archives Family Link
Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card) Pay


Federal population schedules

Microfilm images

Federal Census Microfilms Available from the Family History Library
1940 N/A 1910 and Soundex 1870            
1930 1900 and Soundex 1860
1920 and Soundex 1880 and Soundex  
   


Federal Census Microfilms Available from the National Archives
1940 N/A 1910 T624   Soundex T1265 1870 M593        
1930 T626 1900 T623   Soundex T1046 1860 M653
1920 T625   Soundex M1562 1880 T9  Soundex T749
   

Indexes: fiche, film, or book

For a list of microform and book indexes for the population schedules of Kansas, click here

Federal non-population schedules

Online indexes and images

Online Federal Non-Population Schedules for Kansas

Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with library card) Pay
Year Type Record Search Heritage Quest Ancestry FHL Ancestry Library Ancestry Home
1880 Defective - - Link Link Link
1880 Mortality - - Link Link Link
1870 Mortality - - Link Link Link
1860 Mortality - - Link Link Link

Microfilm images

Family History LibraryFederal Census Non-Population Schedule Microfilms for Kansas


National ArchivesFederal Census Non-Population ScheduleMicrofilms for Kansas

  • 1850 - 1880 Nonpopulation census schedules including Mortality, Agriculture, Industry
  • 1935 Census of Business
Schedules of Advertising Agencies
Schedules of Banking and Financial Institutions
Schedules of Miscellaneous Enterprises
Schedules of Motor Trucking for Hire
Schedules of Public Warehousing
Schedules of Radio Broadcasting Stations

Indexes: fiche, film, or book

For a list of microform and book indexes for the non-population schedules of Kansas, click here.

State and territorial censuses

Kansas often took censuses in the years between the federal censuses, the dates are listed below. State census records may have columns that were different or more unusual than those found on federal censuses. The responses and years of coverage may give additional information on the family.

  • 1925 State[9]
  • 1915 State[9]
  • 1905 State[9]
  • 1895 State[9]
  • 1885 State[9]
  • 1875 State[9]
  • 1865 State[9]
  • 1860 Territory.[9] This is Kansas' state copy of the Kansas Territory federal census including parts of Colorado. The state copy and it's index are available at the Kansas State Historical Society.
  • 1855 Territory[9]

Census Substitutes

In an effort to determine who in fact was an eligible voter in the 1854 and 1855 elections, a comparison of poll lists was made to the 1855 Territory of Kansas Census. Information on the State of Kansas in 1855 and lists of individuals will be found on "Troubles in Kansas" site.

Existing and lost censuses

For a list of available and missing Kansas censuses, click here.

Why use a census?

A well-indexed census is one of the easiest ways to locate where an ancestor's family lived and when they lived there. You can also use censuses to follow the changes in a family over time, and identify neighbors. These and other clues provided by censuses are important because they help find additional kinds of records about the family.

More about censuses

Click here for additional details about how to use censuses, such as:





Sources and footnotes

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 FamilySearch, a free online service of the Family History Library, including free images of many federal censuses.
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 Internet Archive, a free online service includes free images of most of the federal censuses.
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 HeritageQuest has arranged with many subscribing public libraries in the United States to allow users free access on home computers by means of their personal library card numbers. HeritageQuest provides images of all surviving 1790 to 1930 federal censuses, and indexes to many but not all of them.
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 Fold3, formerly known as Footnote.com, a subscription site partnering with the National Archives and includes some federal censuses. Free access is available at many public libraries.
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 5.5 5.6 5.7 5.8 Ancestry.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources. They have three online editions: (1) an FHL edition free only at the Family History Library and a few Family History Centers, (2) a slightly smaller Library edition free only at some public libraries, and (3) a Home edition subscription service for individuals.
  6. 6.0 6.1 6.2 Archives.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal census records, among other sources.
  7. 7.0 7.1 7.2 FamilyLink.com, a subscription site that provides online images (and some indexes) to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources.
  8. The 1860 federal census of Kansas Territory also included people living present-day east central Colorado (as Arapahoe County).
  9. 9.0 9.1 9.2 9.3 9.4 9.5 9.6 9.7 9.8 Ann S. Lainhart, State Census Records (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1992)[[FHL book 973 X2Lai]], 45-46.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 24 September 2012, at 20:02.
  • This page has been accessed 17,587 times.