Kappel am Albis parish, Zürich, SwitzerlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Back to Zürich in Switzerland

Contents

Geography

History

Place Names

Locations within Kappel am Albis

Allenwinden
Härti
Hauptikon
Kappel
Konsum

Leematt
Näfenhäuser
Ober-Weid (bei Uerzlikon)
Rossweid
Schürweid

Uerzlikon
Unter-Weid (bei Uerzlikon)
Weid (bei Hauptikon)
Weid (bei Uerzlikon)
Wolfsacker

Surrounding Parishes

Baar (Zug)
Hausen am Albis
Knonau
Mettmenstetten
Rifferswil
Steinhausen (Zug)

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

The following censuses are available for Kappel am Albis:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1633 1185140 1 689
1634 1185139 1 246d
1637 1185141 2 439
1640 1185143 1 605
1646 1185147 2 391
1649 1185149 1 361
1651 1185150 3 837
1657 1185179 1 23
1663 1185179 2 155
1663 1185179 2 431
1670 1185153 1 583
1683 1185158 3 233
1695 1185168 2 1
1702 1185168 2 21
1708 1185169 2 625
1761 1185176 1 1

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Kappel am Albis families:

Civil Registration

Civil registration began in 1876. Kappel am Albis belongs to the Bezirk Affoltern civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:

Bezirkszivilstandsamt Affoltern
Gemeindezentrum
Zivilstandskreis
Marktplatz 1
CH - 8910 Affoltern am Albis

Tel: +41 44 762 56 65

email: zivilstandsamt@affoltern-am-albis.ch

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Kappel am Albis prior to 1875:

Bär
Deppeler
Frick
Gallmann
Grob
Hägi
Huber
Hurter (1832)

Kleiner
Landis
Lier
Margstahler
Markstahler
Markstaller
Maurer
Müller

Näf
Schärer
Schneebeli
Steinmann
Suter
Vollenweider
Wälti
Welti

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 March 2014, at 20:45.
  • This page has been accessed 315 times.