Kay County, OklahomaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Oklahoma
Kay County
Kay County, Oklahoma genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W
| Kay County, Oklahoma | |
| Map | |
| Map of Oklahoma highlighting Kay County Location in the state of Oklahoma | |
| Map of the U.S. highlighting Oklahoma Location of Oklahoma in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | 1893 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Newkirk |
| Courthouse | |
| Photo courtesy [[]] | |
| Address | Kay County Courthouse 201 S. Main P.O. Box 450 Newkirk, Oklahoma 74647 Phone: 580.362.2537 |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Kay County Courthouse
201 S. Main
Newkirk, Oklahoma 74647
Clerk Court has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1893; County Clerk has land records from 1983[1]
History
Parent County
1893--Kay County was created in 1893. It was an original county (Cherokee Outlet). Originally known as “K” County, it was part of the Cherokee Outlet and was formed after the famous Cherokee Strip Land Run of 1893.[2]
County seat: Newkirk [3]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Land Records
Deed Index Grantee Record Book (1901-1910).[4]
Marriage Records
No records have been lost.[5]
Probate Records
No records have been lost.[6]
Places/Localities
Kay County sites listed on the National Register of Historic Places
| Big V Ranch House | Blackwell Armory | Blaine Stadium and Fieldhouse |
| Bryson Archeological Site | Chilocco Indian Agricultural School | Darr School of Aeronautics Hangar No. 3 |
| Deer Creek Site | Deer Creek Site |
Donahoe, Daniel J., House |
| Electric Park Pavilion | First Presbyterian Church of Tonkawa | Huston Elementary School |
| Jenkins, Gov. William W., Homestead Site | Kaw City Depot | Kaw Indian Agency |
| Kay County Courthouse | Mahoney House and Garage | Marland, E. W., Mansion |
| Marland, E. W., Mansion | Marland-Paris House | Newkirk Central Business District |
| Newkirk Water Purification Plant | Nez Perce Reservation | Northside Elementary School |
| One-hundred-and-one Ranch | One-hundred-and-one Ranch | Parkside Elementary School |
| Pioneer Woman Statue | Poncan Theatre | Soldani Mansion |
| Tipton, J.P., Farmstead | Tonkawa Armory | Tonkawa Lodge No. 157 A.F. & A.M. |
| Washington Elementary School | White Eagle Park |
Kay County Historical Sites listed on USGS– This list contains mostly historical post offices. Click on feature name in the list then use the GNIS Google Map feature too see map or satellite view of the location.
Populated Places
| Blackwell | Braman | Kaw City |
| Kildare | Newkirk | Ponca City |
| Tonkawa |
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Chilocco Indian School Cemetery
Chilocco Indian School Cemetery Photo
Grant for Chilocco Cemetery Article - This article states that about 70 children were buried here.
Kay County Cemeteries listed on Find-A-Grave
Kay County Cemeteries listed on USGS – Click on feature name in the list then use the GNIS Google Map feature too see map or satellite view of the location.
Pioneer Genealogical Society Kay County Cemetery Index – This is an alphabetical name Index for interments in the Cemeteries which are available on CD from the Pioneer Genealogical Society.
Church
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Blackwell
Census
1890 Oklahoma Territorial Census Search at the Oklahoma Historical Society Website
Dawes Rolls Search at the Oklahoma Historical Society Website
City Directories
Oklahoma State Historical Society has Smith's First Directory of Oklahoma Territory for the Year Commencing August 1, 1890, which provides information about the population of early Oklahoma. This transcribed index contains over 17,000 names. These are arranged alphabetically by surname and divided into three sections.”[7]
Surnames A-K »
Surnames L-Q »
Surnames R-Z »
1941-1942 Kay County Atlas on the Pioneer Genealogical Society Website
Court
Kay County Clerk’s Office
P.O. Box 450
Newkirk, OK 74647
Main Phone Line: 1-580-362-2537
Toll Free Line: 1-888-567-4611
Available Records: Miscellaneous records (such as petitions to incorporate cities/towns, election returns for 1902, etc.) court judgements, mechanic and materialmens liens, physicians and hospital liens, and UCC filings.
Kay County Courthouse
201 S. Main, 2nd floor
Newkirk, Oklahoma
Phone: (580) 362-3350
Federal Post Office Building
4th & Grand, 2nd floor
Ponca City, Oklahoma
Phone (580) 762-2148
City Administration Building
2nd & Blackwell Avenue
Blackwell, Oklahoma
Phone (580) 363-2080
On Demand Court Records – Search for Kay County court records online. Provides basic case information but no digital images are available.
Land
Kay County land records began in 1893 with the original patents from the Oklahoma Land Run. Recordings have been kept daily since the Land Run, and are current to date.[8]
Kay County Clerk’s Office
P.O. Box 450
Newkirk, OK 74647
Main Phone Line: 1-580-362-2537
Toll Free Line: 1-888-567-4611
Available Records: Plats, deeds, patents, mortgages, surveys and other documents
Oklahoma Public Land Records Search - The data for Kay County is available from August 1995 to present. This will give you the grantor and grantee’s names, case number, the date of the instrument and the date of filing, the type of document, book and page number where the filing is recorded and often the legal description of the property. Digital images or prints from this system require a fee. A variety of subscription levels are available as well as solutions for one time access.
Bureau of Land Management Land Records Search
Oklahoma Historical Society Land Records Resources
Local Histories
Maps
1910 Kay County Maps at Historic Map Works
1971 Kay County Maps at Historic Map Works
Kay County Map from Oklahoma Tourism Website
Oklahoma Maps at Historic Map Works
Military
Kay County Clerk’s Office
P.O. Box 450
Newkirk, OK 74647
Main Phone Line: 1-580-362-2537
Toll Free Line: 1-888-567-4611
Available Records: Military discharge records beginning in 1917
Oklahoma Historical Society Military Records Resources
Newspapers
Daily Oklahoman
Newkirk Herald
Ponca City News
Arkansas City Traveler (Arkansas City, Kansas) – Sometimes carries stories and articles from Kay County, especially in the early historical editions.
Oklahoma Historical Society Newspaper Article Search
Oklahoma Historical Society Newspaper Catalog Search
Obituaries
Pioneer Genealogical Society Kay County Obituary Index
Probate
Although Oklahoma did not become a state until 1907, some Oklahoma Territorial and Indian Territorial probate records were kept at a county level beginning in 1893. Records are available from 1893 until present day.[9]
Kay County District Court Clerk
201 S. Main, 2nd floor
Newkirk, Oklahoma
Phone: (580) 362-3350
Business hours are Monday thru Friday from 8:00am to 4:30pm.
On Demand Court Records – Search for Kay County court records online. Provides basic case information but no digital images are available.
School Records
Kay County Clerk’s Office
P.O. Box 450
Newkirk, OK 74647
Main Phone Line: 1-580-362-2537
Toll Free Line: 1-888-567-4611
Available Records: School records are available beginning in 1897. In 1897 Kay County had 88 school districts, compared to the present nine.[10]
Taxation
Kay County Clerk’s Office
P.O. Box 450
Newkirk, OK 74647
Main Phone Line: 1-580-362-2537
Toll Free Line: 1-888-567-4611
Available Records: IRS and Oklahoma tax liens
Kay County Assessor
201 S Main
Newkirk, OK 74647
Phone: (580) 362-2565
Fax: (580) 362-3668
Online Property Search – This site may require a paid subscription for records access.
Vital Records
Birth Records
Oklahoma State Department of Health
1000 NE 10th Street
Oklahoma City, OK 73117
Phone: (405) 271.4040
E-mail: AskVR@health.ok.gov
Lobby Hours: 8:30 A.M. to 4:00 P.M. Monday - Friday with the exception of state recognized holidays
Death Records
Oklahoma State Department of Health
1000 NE 10th Street
Oklahoma City, OK 73117
Phone: (405) 271.4040
E-mail: AskVR@health.ok.gov
Lobby Hours: 8:30 A.M. to 4:00 P.M. Monday - Friday with the exception of state recognized holidays
Divorce Records
Kay County District Court Clerk
201 S. Main, 2nd floor
Newkirk, Oklahoma
Phone: (580) 362-3350
Business hours are Monday thru Friday from 8:00am to 4:30pm.
On Demand Court Records – Search for Kay County court records online. Provides basic case information but no digital images are available.
Marriage Records
Although Oklahoma did not become a state until 1907, some Oklahoma Territorial and Indian Territorial records were kept beginning about 1890. The marriage bonds, affidavits, licenses and certificates were kept at a county level, by or when the county was formed. However, one must keep in mind that these territorial marriages were sometimes not registered at all or they were registered at the county courthouses in adjoining states such as Arkansas, Kansas or Texas.[11]
The county began recording marriages at this time. Records are available from 1893 until present day and are in the form of scanned images of the original marriage registers. The county continues to hold all of the recorded marriage documents and none have been lost or destroyed by any manner. No official records are located offsite.[12]
Kay County District Court Clerk
201 S. Main, 2nd floor
Newkirk, Oklahoma
Phone: (580) 362-3350
Business hours are Monday thru Friday from 8:00am to 4:30pm.
On Demand Court Records – Search for Kay County court records online. Provides basic case information but no digital images are available.
Oklahoma Historical Society Marriage Records Resources
Pioneer Genealogical Society Kay County Marriage Applications Index – Records date from September 29, 1893 to December 31, 1999.
Museums
Museums Listed on the Kay County Tourism Website
Societies and Libraries
Libraries
| Blackwell Public Library 123 W. Padon Blackwell, OK 74647 Telephone: (580) 363-1809 |
J.A. Walker Memorial Library 900 Morgan Square Kaw City, OK 74641 Telephone: (580) 269-2525 |
| Newkirk Public Library 116 N. Maple Ave. Newkirk, OK 74647 Telephone: (580) 362-3934 |
Ponca City Library 515 E. Grand Ponca City, OK 74601 Telephone: (580) 767-0345 |
| Tonkawa Public Library 216 N. 7th Tonkawa, OK 74653 Telephone: (580) 628-3366 |
|
Historical & Genealogical Societies
Pioneer Genealogical Society
Genealogy Room of the Ponca City Public Library
515 East Grand
Ponca City, Oklahoma
Oklahoma Historical Society
Oklahoma History Center
800 Nazih Zuhdi Drive
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
405-521-2491
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- Kay County on the USGenWeb Project - May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Kay County, Oklahoma on Wikipedia
- LDS Oklahoma Research Outline PDF
- Oklahoma Tourism Genealogical Resources Website
Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kay County, Oklahoma. Page 560 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, editor, FamilySearch Oklahoma Research Outline; PDF download (http://net.lib.byu.edu/fslab/researchoutlines/US/Oklahoma.pdf : downloaded 21 January 2011), np.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Kay County Clerk’s Office, Newkirk, Oklahoma [(E-ADDRESS FOR PRIVATE USE),] to Wiki Editor, e-mail, 31 August 2011, "Records Information"; privately held by Wiki Editor [(E-ADDRESS), STREET ADDRESS FOR PRIVATE USE], Arkansas City, Kansas, 2011.
- ↑ Kay County Clerk's Office, Newkirk, Oklahoma [(E-ADDRESS FOR PRIVATE USE),] to Wiki Editor, e-mail, 12 January 2011, "Marriage Records"; privately held by Wiki Editor [(E-ADDRESS), STREET ADDRESS FOR PRIVATE USE], Arkansas City, Kansas, 2011.
- ↑ Kay County District Court Clerk’s Office, Newkirk, Oklahoma [(E-ADDRESS FOR PRIVATE USE),] to Wiki Editor, e-mail, 1 April 2011, "Probate Records"; privately held by Wiki Editor [(E-ADDRESS), STREET ADDRESS FOR PRIVATE USE], Arkansas City, Kansas, 2011.
- ↑ Oklahoma State Historical Society, Smith's first directory of Oklahoma Territory for the year commencing August 1st, 1890 search, transcription database,Smith's Index(http://www.okhistory.org/research/smiths/index.php : accessed 20 October 2011).
- ↑ Kay County Clerk’s Office to Wiki Editor, e-mail, 31 August 2011.
- ↑ Kay County District Court Clerk’s Office, Newkirk, Oklahoma [(E-ADDRESS FOR PRIVATE USE),] to Wiki Editor, e-mail, 1 April 2011, "Probate Records"; privately held by Wiki Editor[(E-ADDRESS), STREET ADDRESS FOR PRIVATE USE], Arkansas City, Kansas, 2011.
- ↑ Kay County, Oklahoma, Kay County Clerk Homepage, responsibilities and records (http://www.courthouse.kay.ok.us/coclerk.html: accessed 20 October 2011), citing school records entry.
- ↑ Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, editor, FamilySearch Oklahoma Research Outline; PDF download(http://net.lib.byu.edu/fslab/researchoutlines/US/Oklahoma.pdf : downloaded 21 January 2011), 11-12.
- ↑ Kay County Clerk’s Office, Newkirk, Oklahoma [(E-ADDRESS FOR PRIVATE USE),] to Wiki Editor, e-mail, 12 January 2011, "Marriage Records"; privately held by Wiki Editor [(E-ADDRESS), STREET ADDRESS FOR PRIVATE USE], Arkansas City, Kansas, 2011.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 19 March 2013, at 17:10.
- This page has been accessed 2,322 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More