Kea, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Parishes

Guide to Kea, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Kea, Cornwall
Kea Church .jpg
Kea Church .jpg
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Powder
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Truro PLU
Registration District Truro
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559; For more records see Kenwyn
Bishop's Transcripts: 1607
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Powder
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

KEA (St. Kea), a parish, in the union of Truro, W. division of the hundred of Powder and of the county of Cornwall, 3½ miles (S. S. E.) from the town of Truro. There are places of worship for the Society of Friends and Wesleyans.[1]

Kea All Hallows is in Kea village and is the parish church. It was built in 1895 to replace a church of 1802 which was the work of James Wyatt. The church has a steep tiled roof and a lead spire. The font is Norman and of the Altarnun type. This present church was consecrated 4th June 1896. The church of St Kea at Old Kea was a chapelry in Kenwyn, Cornwall  Ancient Parish untill All Hallows was built.Other places in the the parish included Hugus, Come to Good and Penweathers.

St Kea reputedly landed at Old Kea on his first visit to Cornwall and established a church there, which was the parish church until replaced by All Hallows. Today, the parish is mainly agricultural, and is noted for giving its name to the damson-type Kea plum.

Later, the church at Old Kea was pulled down and only the tower remains today. A small chapel now stands beside the ruined medieval tower and services are held there twice a month.

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Kea, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
CPRI = Cornwall Parish Register Index - free[4]
FMP = findmypast - (£)[5][6][7]
FREG = FreeREG - free[8]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[9]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[10]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[11]
Kea, Cornwall Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1607-1812

COPC 1607-1913
1653-1812, 1868-1913
1701-1779, 1800-1938
CPRI 1607-1803, 1841-1902
1656-1812

FMP 1607-1837 1559-1837 1690-1837
FREG
1653-1812, 1859-1908

FS PRs 1559-1902 1559-1908 1559-1902
PALL
1800-1812

TGEN 1730-1840
1653-1812

Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall County Record Office reference P 97

The images for this parish are referred to as St Kea although the village is called Kea.

Content
Film
General register of baptisms, marriages & burials, 1599-1654 (severely damaged and extremely poor legibility); General register containing baptisms, 1653-1698 (1st legible date is 1655), marriages, 1653-1666, 1673-1692 -- burials, 1653-1700 (this vol. also in very poor condition); baptisms, 1701-1799 -- Journal history of the parish, 1858-1862 (includes accounts of gales, comets, earthquakes & tidal waves etc.) -- marriages, 1702-1754 -- Account of almshouses in Kea -- burials, 1701-1779 -- Terrier of 1861 -- Account of gifts.
FHL BRITISH Film
1595810 Items 5-7
Marriages, 1756-1812; banns, 1758-1787; marriages, 1813-1837; marriages, 1837-1858; baptisms, 1800-1841 -- burials, 1800-1812; burials, 1813-1901; banns, 1868-1902.
FHL BRITISH Film
1595810 Items 8-14

Baptisms, 1841-1902
FHL BRITISH Film
1849638 Item 30

Banns, 1868-1946 (another filming to 1902).
FHL BRITISH Film
2276116 Item 15

Baptisms, 1841-1983 (another filming to 1902). Burials, 1873-1987 (another filming to 1901).
VAULT BRITISH Film
2276152 Items 15 - 17

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241269.

Poor Law Unions

Truro Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
  • Vision of Britain

Websites

Kea in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 640-643. Date accessed: 18 March 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  4. 'Database Coverage,' Cornwall Parish Register Index, accessed 1 February 2014.
  5. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 22 November 2013.
  6. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  7. 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  8. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  9. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
  10. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  11. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 22 May 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:22.
  • This page has been accessed 1,738 times.