Kelham, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.pngNottinghamshireGotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

== Parish History ==\

Kelham, Nottinghamshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Thurgarton
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Southwell PLU
Registration District Southwell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538; Separate registers exist for Kelham beginning 1663
Bishop's Transcripts: 1601; Separate records exist for Kelham beginning 1603
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newark
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

Averham with KelhamAverham with Kelham KELHAM (St. Wilfrid), a parish, in the union of Southwell, N. division of the wapentake of Thurgarton, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 2 miles (N. W. by W.) from Newark. The living is a rectory, annexed to that of Averham.[1]

Additional information:

Kelham St Wilfrid is a 14th century church in the village and civil parish of Kelham in the Newark and Sherwood district of Nottinghamshire. Nearby Kelham Hall is nowadays the Newark and Sherwood District headquarters Kelham Wikipedia

The Southwell and Nottingham Church history Project are researching the history of the church and parish Kelham St Wilfrid

The church of St Wilfrid has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

Contents

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Kelham St Wilfrid parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
KELHAM PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1790-1837

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1663-1964 Marriages 1663-1984 Burials 1663-2003 Bishop’s Transcripts 1603-1852
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online


Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection. Kelham

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438909.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Southwell Poor Law Union,Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Jurisdictions, Parishes K-N to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.<br>

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 05:07.
  • This page has been accessed 861 times.