Kelsale with Carlton, SuffolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Suffolk Gotoarrow.png Hoxne Hundred Gotoarrow.png Suffolk Parishes

Guide to Kelsale with Carlton, Suffolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Kelsale with Carlton, Suffolk
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hoxne
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Blything PLU
Registration District Blything
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538; Separate registers exist for Carlton beginning 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698; Separate records exist fo Carlton beginning 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dunwich
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Suffolk
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

KELSALE (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Blything, hundred of Hoxne, E. division of Suffolk, 1 mile (N.) from Saxmundham. The living is a rectory, with that of Carlton consolidated in 1679.[1]

Refer to the works listed in Suffolk Gazetteers or England Gazetteers for source material.

Resources

If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries. For those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at LDS Family History Centres. Refer to the parish and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalogue for available records.

Civil Registration

Kelsale with Carlton is in Blything district. It was also a detached part of the Hoxne Hundred. To search an index of Blything district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article tells more about these records.

Church records

Kelsale parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

1813 = Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) (findmypast) - (£)[2]
BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[5][6][7]
FSBOOK = FamilySearch Books - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[8]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[9]
Kelsale Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
1813 1813-1837
BIVRI
1538-1886

BOYD
1538-1837

FSBOOK 1538-1812
1538-1886
1538-1812
IGI 1538-1812 To 1848
NBI

1538-1901

Carlton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Carlton Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
1813 1831-1837
BIVRI 1876-1885
1538-1886

BOYD
1538-1837

FMP 1538-1840 1539-1812 1540-1812
IGI 1538-1875


NBI

1540-1902
Parish Registers began in the 1500's. They can be viewed at the Suffolk Record Office. There are Bishop Transcripts and Parish Registers that have been filmed for most parishes in the County. See the Suffolk Church Records article for further details.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474638.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Suffolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 643-646. Date accessed: 20 February 2013.
  2. 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 9 December 2013.
  3. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 4 December 2013.
  4. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  5. 'Suffolk Baptism Index Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 6 December 2013.
  6. 'Suffolk Marriage Index Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 6 December 2013.
  7. 'Suffolk "Early" Burial Index Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 6 December 2013.
  8. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Suffolk, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 4 December 2013.
  9. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:46.
  • This page has been accessed 1,659 times.