Kelston, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Kelston, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Kelston, Somerset
Kelston Church Somerset (St Nicholas).jpg
Kelston Church Somerset (St Nicholas)
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bath-Forum
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Keynsham PLU
Registration District Keynsham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1593
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bath
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Bath and Wells (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

KELSTON (St. Nicholas), a parish, in the union of Keynsham, hundred of Bath-Forum, E. division of Somerset, 3¾ miles (W. N. W.) from Bath.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Kelston, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
SOPC = Somerset Online Parish Clerks - free[4]
KELSTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1538-1830, 1856-1871
1538-1836
1538-1830, 1856-1871
PALL
1790-1812

SOPC 1539-1871
1594-1836
1539-1871


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474593.

Poor Law Unions

Keynsham Poor Law Union, Somerset

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/Kelston/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 22 September 2013.
  2. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 February 2014.
  3. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. Somerset Online Parish Clerks Genealogy, accessed 22 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:37.
  • This page has been accessed 1,364 times.