Kempstone, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Kempston, Norfolk)

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes K-Z

Guide to Kempstone, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Kempstone, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Launditch
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Mitford and Launditch PLU
Registration District Mitford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1721
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Brisley
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

History

KEMPSTON (St. Paul), a parish, in the union of Mitford and Launditch, hundred of Launditch, W. division of Norfolk, 6¾ miles (N. E.) from Swaffham. [1]

St Paul Kempstone is an Ancient parish in the Brisley deanery of the Diocese of Norwich.

In 1897 the church closed and fell into ruin; the parishioners become part of Litcham, Norfolk with Kempstone parish.

The  ruins of the church are described by Simon Knott http://www.norfolkchurches.co.uk/kempstone/kempstone.htm

Church Records

Kempstone, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[5]
Kempstone, Norfolk Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1600-1812
1600-1812
1600-1812
FS ATs 1600-1812 1600-1812 1600-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
NBI

1814-1837

This parish's registers do not appear on FamilySearch as no microfilm for the parish is held at the Family History Library.

Census

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438863.


Poor Law Unions

  • Norfolk Poor Law Unions 
  • Mitford &Launditch       http://www.institutions.org.uk/workhouses/england/norf/mitford_and_launditch_workhouse.htm
  • Records of the Mitford and Launditch Poor Law Union1776-1948
    Norfolk Record Office C/GP 14
    Extent 137 pieces
    The following parishes comprised the 1836 union: Bawdeswell, Beeston, Beetley, Billingford, East Bilney, Bintry, Brisley, Bylaugh, Colkirk, Cranworth, East Dereham, Great Dunham, Little Dunham, North Elmham, Elsing, Foxley, Great Fransham, Little Fransham, Garvestone, Gately, Gressenhall, Guist, Hardingham, Hockering, Hoe, Horningtoft, Kempstone, Letton, East Lexham, West Lexham, Litcham, Longham, Lyng, Mattishall, Mattishall Burgh, Mileham, Oxwick with Pattesley, Reymerstone, Rougham, Scarning, Shipdham, Southburgh, Sparham, Stanfield, Swanton Morley, Thuxton, Tittleshall, East Tuddenham, North Tuddenham, Twyford, Weasenham All Saints, Weasenham St Peter, Wellingham, Wendling, Westfield, Whinburgh, Whissonsett, Wood Rising, Worthing, Yaxham.
    All fifty parishes of Mitford and Launditch Hundreds were incorporated in 1775 under the terms of An act for the better relief and employment of the poor within the hundreds of Mitford and Launditch, 15 Geo. III, cap. 59. In 1801 the parish of East Dereham separated from the Incorporation, but in 1836 all fifty original parishes plus ten from Eynesford Hundred joined together in a new union. The House of Industry belonging to the old incorporation, built at Gressenhall in 1776-1777, was repaired and altered in 1836 to become the new Union Workhouse. Mitford and Launditch Union Board of Guardians was replaced by Guardians Committee No. 10 in 1930.

Registration Districts

  • Mitford 1837-1938
  • East Dereham 1939-1974

Probate Jurisdictions

Norfolk Probate Jurisdictions Parishes I through N

Maps

England Jurisdictions 1851

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=51070#s13 A Topographical Dictionary of England](1848), pp. 646-652. Date accessed: 15 April 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 26 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'National Burial Index - Norfolk Coverage,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 16 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:25.
  • This page has been accessed 1,253 times.