Kendal, WestmorlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Westmorland Gotoarrow.pngWestmorland Parishes

Guide to Kendal, Westmorland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Kendal, Westmorland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Kendal; Lonsdale
County Westmorland
Poor Law Union Kendal PLU
Registration District Kendal
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1673
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Kendal
Diocese Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Kendal
Location of Archive
Westmorland Record Office

Kendal is an ancient parish, possessing the following townships with chapelries within its boundaries:


Contents

Parish History

KENDAL (Holy Trinity), a newly-enfranchised borough, a market-town, and parish, and the head of a union, chiefly in Kendal ward, but partly in Lonsdale ward, county of Westmorland. There are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends,Glassites,Independents,Inghamites,Primitive Methodists, Wesleyans, Scottish Seceders, Unitarians, and Roman Catholics. The parish comprises the chapelries of Burneside,Crook, Helsington, Hugil, Old Hutton with Holmescales,Kentmere, Natland, Long Sleddale, Nether and OverStavely, Underbarrow with Bradley-Field, and Winster.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Kendal, Westmorland parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

TGEN = The Genealogist - (£)[2]
Kendal, Westmorland Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
TGEN 1558-1587, 1596-1631 1591-1600, 1606-1631 1591-1599, 1606-1631


Census records

In December 1787 the Westmorland Court of Quarter Sessions commissioned a population survey of the county. Parish constables were ordered to send in returns listing the names and occupations of the members of every household in their constablewick. This census is found in Vital Statistics, The Westmorland "Census' of 1787. This book is available at the Family History Library, Salt Lake City, Utah. The library call number is British Ref. Area 942.88 X2v.


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464191.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Westmorland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 646-652. Date accessed: 27 July 2012.
  2. 'Sussex Parish Record Transcripts,' The Genealogist, accessed 10 March 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:35.
  • This page has been accessed 1,504 times.